Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ksb43

Log Cabin Syrups Contain Barley?!

Recommended Posts

I was looking through this site about gluten free foods:

http://www.clanthompson.com/res_news_alerts.php3

The November 12, 2004 entry says Log Cabin syrups contain barley and aren't gluten free. I've been using that syrup and on the label it doesn't list barley at all. What's going on here?! Don't they have to list it as an ingredient?! That's messed up. Anyone know anything about that brand? I don't mind switching syrups, but it would have been nice to know that I was eating something that was contaminated.

The site says:

"November 12, 2004: Aunt Jemima's syrup, Mrs. Butterworth's syrups and all Log Cabin syrups except Country Kitchen: Subscribers to our food SmartList and our food pocketguide should note that these syrups now contain barley and are NOT gluten free."

NOTE that it later confirms that Aunt Jemima's syrups ARE gluten free.

Kevin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I contacted this company in January of this year. The company is called Pinnacle foods. Their response is below. Basically, the Log Cabin Country Kitchen is safe, but the others may not be. We use this kind, and we really like it.

Thank you for taking the time to inquire about Pinnacle Foods

Corporation

and the products we produce which might be gluten-free. We appreciate

your interest in our company and our products.

At the present time, Vlasic


ptkds

Mom of 4 beautiful girls (the 2 youngest are only 10 months apart!)
Diagnosed with Celiac disease on November 8, 2006; gluten-free as of 12-1-06.

DD#2 13 years old; diagnosed on November 28, 2006. gluten-free as of 12-7-06.
DD#3 9 years old; diagnosed through blood work in October 2006. Gluten-free as of mid-November and doing GREAT!!
DD#4 8 years old; had a scope done on 6-22-07 (at 14 months old) and the dr saw stomach ulcers, but all test results were negative. GI dr told us to put her on the gluten free diet anyway. She is gluten free as of 6-22-07.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was looking through this site about gluten free foods:

http://www.clanthompson.com/res_news_alerts.php3

The November 12, 2004 entry says Log Cabin syrups contain barley and aren't gluten free. I've been using that syrup and on the label it doesn't list barley at all. What's going on here?! Don't they have to list it as an ingredient?! That's messed up. Anyone know anything about that brand? I don't mind switching syrups, but it would have been nice to know that I was eating something that was contaminated.

The site says:

"November 12, 2004: Aunt Jemima's syrup, Mrs. Butterworth's syrups and all Log Cabin syrups except Country Kitchen: Subscribers to our food SmartList and our food pocketguide should note that these syrups now contain barley and are NOT gluten free."

NOTE that it later confirms that Aunt Jemima's syrups ARE gluten free.

Kevin

Kevin,

Thank you for posting that information. That is what this site is all about, helping each other through Celiacland.

I would use a bit of caution upon relying on 2004 ingredient information. Products change frequently and while it's easy to rely on passed on information, the MUST rule here is to READ ALL LABELS. ;) Barley can be a hidden ingredient. And, when in doubt, call or write the company.

As richard indicated, barley, rye, malt and oats are not reqired to be listed as an allergin. Wheat is required.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Kevin,

Thank you for posting that information. That is what this site is all about, helping each other through Celiacland.

I would use a bit of caution upon relying on 2004 ingredient information. Products change frequently and while it's easy to rely on passed on information, the MUST rule here is to READ ALL LABELS. ;) Barley can be a hidden ingredient. And, when in doubt, call or write the company.

As richard indicated, barley, rye, malt and oats are not reqired to be listed as an allergin. Wheat is required.

That's crazy. They should have to list everything. That's the point of having an ingredients list. Considering that there are enough people with gluten intolerance and celiac disease, they should be forced to list gluten and not just wheat.

I saw a post somewhere on here about certain brands that will always identify sources of gluten...I'll have to find it and try to stick to them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites