Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Megan E

Flour Conversions

I'm new to all this, and I'm wondering if anyone knows of a conversion table that will tell me how to substitute alternative flours in my favorite recipes. For example, 1 cup all purpose flour = x amount rice flour/soy flour/etc. Also, do I have to use different amounts of any of the other ingredients? Thanks to anyone who can help!

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I'm new to all this, and I'm wondering if anyone knows of a conversion table that will tell me how to substitute alternative flours in my favorite recipes. For example, 1 cup all purpose flour = x amount rice flour/soy flour/etc. Also, do I have to use different amounts of any of the other ingredients? Thanks to anyone who can help!

I use this mix of flour: 3 C brown rice flour, 1 C potato starch, 1/2 C tapioca starch and 2 tsp. xanthan gum. Sift together three times. Then I use it just as I would all-purpose flour in quick breads, cookies, cakes, etc. Sometimes I have to adjust the liquid a tiny bit, but usually it works just fine. When you start getting into trickier things like pizza dough, you need to add some bean flour and more tapioca flour (at least, in my recipe), but this basic recipe will get you started. I much prefer to bake out of my Betty Crocker cookbook using "regular" recipes than trying to follow 27 steps in a "special" gluten-free recipe.

Liz

Started Specific Carbohydrate Diet on 8-16-09 because son was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis and want to give him moral support.

Diagnosed with Minimal Change Nephrotic Syndrome in 2003. Discovered that going completely gluten-free put me in remission.

I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Psalms 27:13

Join eNewsletter