Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

hartwell

Am I Gluten Intolerant?

Hi,

I have never done this before, but I figured asking folks who know about this stuff would be helpful.

I have a suspicion that I gluten intolerant, but I am just not sure. About three years ago when I was 26 I lost about 20 pounds without much effort. Shortly after that I moved from the west coast back to Maine. I then developed a rash on my back that my doctor at the time said was contact dermatitis, but 3 years later I still have it. I have not really gained any weight back, and I have lost my sense of smell which could be due to nose polyps. Also since around 19 I have had what I though was acne, but it was (and is) more like little bumps on my face, but I also get them on my chest, neck, back and the back of my arms. They itch a lot and are more like blisters and hives than pimples. I often get upset stomach, but thought everyone did and didn't think much of it.

Due to my suspicion I attempted to cut gluten from my diet but it is extremely difficult. I know some gluten has slipped here and there. My boyfriend is convinced my skin is getting better and it seems my rash is going away. I have only been doing it for about two weeks. I have gotten light headed, been moody, and had a couple real skin "freak-outs" which i wonder is just my body ridding the toxins from my system.

I have no insurance so I can't be sure, Please help!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):