Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Donna F

Help! Kraft Jello And Salad Dressing

Recommended Posts

I am really confused about Kraft. I see a product lising for Canada, but nothing for the US. I've read here that Kraft CLEARLY LABELS allergens after each ingredient, but now I've read that "natural flavors" may have gluten in it? And I also bought Viva Italian salad dressing b/c there was nothing in the ingredients to worry about, but I don't even see it on the Canadian site as being gluten-free. So what's going on here? Do they truly list allergen sources or not? I've just eaten the Jello before finding that information, and I'm worried I'll have a problem now (which I can't afford to have, since I am in an already high-risk pregnancy!). I haven't had the dressing (thankfully), but it doesn't say anything after 'vinegar' in the ingredients. Does that mean it's a gluten-free vinegar?

Confused and worried,

-donna

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Do you want to know if it's gluten-free in the US or Canada? Jello is gluten-free in the US and all gluten must be listed. If there are flavors that contain gluten, Kraft would write them like this: natural flavors (wheat). So in the US, just read the label.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not sure about Canada because I do not live there but I know in the US that Kraft will not hide wheat,rye,barley, or oats under anything.For example:if there is modified food starch on the label of a Kraft product but doesn't say wheat,rye, barley, or oats after it then it is safe...Kraft will list the allergen after the ingredient if it is in the product. Hope this clears some things up :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is - apparently - a difference in how Kraft handles their items in Canada versus the US. There is a list for Canada, the general policy for labeling in the US. So, if you're in Canada, go by the list. If you're in the US, go by the label. (Even if they're different - sometimes the product formulations ARE different.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok, I am in the US and couldn't find a gluten-free US listing. But as far as ingredients go, do you think they would label wheat after vinegar? I've never seen that before. I would love to try this dressing (Viva Italian) but I want to make sure.

Really relieved about the Jello!

-donna

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sounds hopeful!

Have either of you (or anyone else) ever tried the Viva Italian? I just can't believe it could be gluten-free. That would be so awesome! It was my favorite dressing and marinade!

-donna

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't think of how else to say this except to repeat -- Kraft will clearly list wheat, rye, barley or oats if it's in there. They are one of the best big companies about this. If those are not in the ingredients, IT IS gluten-free. No need to question it any further.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Can't think of how else to say this except to repeat -- Kraft will clearly list wheat, rye, barley or oats if it's in there. They are one of the best big companies about this. If those are not in the ingredients, IT IS gluten-free. No need to question it any further.

richard

Aye captain! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest gfinnebraska

I, personally, LOVE Richard's frank comments. If I need an answer, I know Richard will give it to me straight. No flowery terms or doubts. He is a blessing to this site!!! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites