Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
kkkkaty

Natural And Artificial Flavors

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I read somewhere that natural and artificial flavors can contain gluten. I read that natural flavors are more likely to contain gluten. Do they always contain gluten? Or, have I got it wrong?

And, does anyone know just what sort of gluten would be in flavorings?

Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Natural and artificial flavors can, but do not always contain gluten. Modified food starch is another one to watch out for, though it is usually made from corn. Some companies, such as Kraft and ConAgra will disclose any gluten (wheat, rye or barley) if it is in the flavorings in their products, but most manufacturers won't. They are required to disclose wheat, but rye and barley did not make the labeling laws.

I am nowhere near an expert on this so I hope others weigh in. My policy is ALWAYS call before using a product, because you never know. I admit I didn't start out doing this and regretted it (painfully) later. Also, if I know a company has a policy that discloses more than what they're required to, I try to support that by buying their products.

:-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, natural and artificial flavors CAN contain gluten, but they could not as well.

Your best bet, is if the product does not say Gluten-Free, to find a number and call.

I will call there in the groocery store, just so I know if I can or cannot leave with the product.

What RESO said was true as well, watch out for Modified Food Starch. It can or cannot contain gluten. It all depends. Always call or check for gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do not concern myself with artificial flavors or ingredients, because it would not be wheat, barley, malt or rye. It would be chemically derived.

Natural flavors IF it contained wheat, it would be by law required to be listed. It would be listed in the ingredient listing or in the allergen statement. Barley, malt or rye would be a minimum concern.

Modified Food Starch, in the US, is generally derived from corn. If otherwise, it would be required to be listed as "Modified Food Starch (wheat)". Barley, malt or rye would not be a consideration as a starch.

As, always, if you have any doubt about a product, call the manufacturer. But do remember also, that your information is only as good as your customer service representative. Sometimes, it may take several calles before you can feel comfortable. Trust your instincts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks momma goose, that is what I've read in my gluten free book about those items.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Lisa. Artificial flavors will not have gluten. Natural flavors CAN, but it's really a very, very minor concern. In fact, now that wheat has to be listed in the U.S., hidden gluten is VERY rare as long as you know that malt and malt flavoring are probably barley.

It seems to me that CC and finding restaurants that can get it right are much bigger concerns than is hidden gluten.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×