Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
RelentlessX

Question About 'cheese Puffs'

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I recently bought some not so common brand of cheese puffs and I am unsure of if it's safe for me to eat. I cant find any website about this. So any help would be greatly appreciated!

The actual name of the brand is "Cheese Puffs" distributed by DeDinas/Franzak Ent Grand Rapids MI. The ingredients say corn meal, soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated soybean oil, maltodextrin, whey, corn starch, cheddar and blue cheese (pasteurized milk, salt, annatto extract, cheese culture, enzymes), salt, butter (cream, water, salt), natual and artificial flavor, buttermilk, monosodium glutamate, Yellow 6, yellow 5 and yellow 5 lake.

Contains milk and soy ingredients.

That whey in it wont effect me will it? I know it's wheat, barley, oats and rye but could whey cause the same pains?

Thanks for any help! I'm still fairly new to label reading and any advice about this will help immensely!

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks free of gluten. Enjoy!

Whey is diary related. It might be better to eat simply for a few weeks. Meats, seafood, veggies, fruit, rice or potatoes. Stay away from processed foods for a while. ( but that does not mean that they will hurt you - it just give your body a break).

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whey is dairy not gluten. They "read" safe however that does not mean they are gluten-free. I would try searching the internet to see if anyone else has contacted the manufactuar.

Hez

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think maltodextrin can be wheat derived (although not entirely sure!).

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have learned the hard way to call a maker whenever I see the words 'natural flavors'. Most times the item is safe but at times barley malt can be hidden in the flavoring. Other than that I would want to know if the company makes gluten containing items on the same lines since I am very sensitive to CC.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maltodextrin is considered gluten free. In the US it is derived from corn; in the Europe, they get it from wheat, but even then they claim it is gluten free after all the processing (gotta love the McD's argument). I've never had any problem with it.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I recently found a great cheese/type of snack. They are called Chester's Snacks - right beside Cheetos. The butter flavored corn puffs are gluten free, Casein and Lactose free, onion free and Parve meaning they have no dairy. Be forewarned though, you may need to purchase more than one bag because they literally melt in your mouth the way cheese puffs do and you can go through a bag in one episode of Fringe.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×