Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Simona19

Rice?

Recommended Posts

Is rice save for celiacs? What about the rice milk? I can't eat any milk or milk products (casein)also. Rice milk is my replacement for the real thing. I'm more terrified from not being able to eat milk products than from not being able to eat gluten. I grew up on milk. I always drank it. I miss my slice of bread with butter. Ach... :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Is rice save for celiacs? What about the rice milk? I can't eat any milk or milk products (casein)also. Rice milk is my replacement for the real thing. I'm more terrified from not being able to eat milk products than from not being able to eat gluten. I grew up on milk. I always drank it. I miss my slice of bread with butter. Ach... :(

Rice is naturally gluten free and lots of people drink rice milk when dairy becomes a problem. That said... my daughter can tolerate white rice while brown rice makes her ill! There's also almond milk out there.

I'm totally with you on the difficulty in giving up dairy as opposed to gluten. Being gluten free is way easier, I think... because we can make/buy yummy breads, etc... but there is NO substitute for a glass of delicious milk or good cheese and butter.


luvs2eat

Living in the beautiful Ozark mountains in Arkansas

positive blood tests and later, positive biopsy

diagnosed 8/5/02, gluten-free (after lots of mistakes!) since that day

Dairy free since July 2010 and NOT happy about it!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice is naturally gluten free and lots of people drink rice milk when dairy becomes a problem. That said... my daughter can tolerate white rice while brown rice makes her ill! There's also almond milk out there.

I'm totally with you on the difficulty in giving up dairy as opposed to gluten. Being gluten free is way easier, I think... because we can make/buy yummy breads, etc... but there is NO substitute for a glass of delicious milk or good cheese and butter.

Very interesting! Because I can't seem to do white rice but can do brown rice...to some degree! It's SO interesting how we all differ so much while being so much alike at the same time! And my rice issue showed up at the same time my gluten issue did, along with nuts, beans, dairy and eggs. Very weird.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Milk is safe, except for Rice Dream which uses barley in the processing. I like and use the Wegmans brand daily. Hemp milk is also good as are almond milk. I used Ghee for a lot of stuff which is clarified butter and is casien and lactose free. I also use rice a lot but I make sure to rinse it throughly before I cook it. There is also wild rice, which is not really rice but grasses. Lundberg makes some good ones. Do read the label though as if I am not mistaken some of the mixes may have barley, could be wrong about that so check.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Milk is safe, except for Rice Dream which uses barley in the processing. I like and use the Wegmans brand daily. Hemp milk is also good as are almond milk. I used Ghee for a lot of stuff which is clarified butter and is casien and lactose free. I also use rice a lot but I make sure to rinse it throughly before I cook it. There is also wild rice, which is not really rice but grasses. Lundberg makes some good ones. Do read the label though as if I am not mistaken some of the mixes may have barley, could be wrong about that so check.

You are telling me that the Rice dream milk isn't safe? You should see my kitchen kabinet. It's full of it. I read somewhere that celiacs should avoid vanila flavor because its made with barley. I have only original. I read the label, and I didn't see anything what would look like gluten.

Ingredients: filtered water, organic brown rice (partially milled), expeller pressed high oleic safflower oil, sea salt.

In the vanila flavor is this:

Ingredients: filtered water, brown rice (partially milled), expeller pressed high oleic safflower oil, tricalcium phosphate, natural vanilla flavor with other natural flavors, sea salt, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Natural vanilla flavor with other natural flavors is the sign that something isn't safe. Don't take the only thing (something similar to milk) that I can drink because I have allergy to nuts and soy milk makes me sick.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are telling me that the Rice dream milk isn't safe? You should see my kitchen kabinet. It's full of it. I read somewhere that celiacs should avoid vanila flavor because its made with barley. I have only original. I read the label, and I didn't see anything what would look like gluten.

Ingredients: filtered water, organic brown rice (partially milled), expeller pressed high oleic safflower oil, sea salt.

In the vanila flavor is this:

Ingredients: filtered water, brown rice (partially milled), expeller pressed high oleic safflower oil, tricalcium phosphate, natural vanilla flavor with other natural flavors, sea salt, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin D2, vitamin B12.

Natural vanilla flavor with other natural flavors is the sign that something isn't safe. Don't take the only thing (something similar to milk) that I can drink because I have allergy to nuts and soy milk makes me sick.

Rice Dream is still processed using barley but the company has removed barley from the label and states that the amount is so small it doesn't matter. It does.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Dream is still processed using barley but the company has removed barley from the label and states that the amount is so small it doesn't matter. It does.

Thank you so much for the information. I will find some other options. Ach... :(:(:(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites