Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

OHgal

Questions About Millet And Oat Flours

Hi, I'm a newbie here. DD hasn't been diagnosed with celiac, but she definitely has a wheat and soy allergy, so I'm 99% gluten-free by default.

I had some success baking with rice and millet flours, but there is room for improvement.

Can I use millet flour cup for cup for wheat (and add some xanthan)?

What about a blend of millet and oat flours, can I use that cup for cup?

I"m not crazy about working with tapioca or cornstarch (yep, I'm a whiner, LOL). Can I do without?

Any advice will be appreciated!!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Hi, I'm a newbie here. DD hasn't been diagnosed with celiac, but she definitely has a wheat and soy allergy, so I'm 99% gluten-free by default.

I had some success baking with rice and millet flours, but there is room for improvement.

I"m not crazy about working with tapioca or cornstarch (yep, I'm a whiner, LOL). Can I do without?

Most of the recipes I've come across call for a combination of flours/starches for them to turn out. Even then I've had some failures. Baking with gluten free flours is tricky and I'm not at the point (yet at least) that I would try creating my own gluten free recipes from regular wheat-based recipes although I have occasionally subbed one flour for another. Sometimes starches can be substituted like using either cornstarch, potato starch or tapioa starch for whatever starch the recipe calls for. Or subbing a bean flour for another high protein flour or vice versa.

I'm six months gluten free and have not yet challenged myself with any form of gluten free oats. Some celiacs cannot tolerate oats at all. One of these days I'm going to try gluten free oats to see if it bothers me. I don't know if your daughter would fall into this category.