No popular authors found.

Categories

No categories found.


Join Celiac.com's forum / message board and get your questions answered! Our forum has nearly 1 MILLION POSTS, and over 62,000 MEMBERS just waiting to help you with any questions about celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. We'll see you there!






Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

Celiac.com 02/20/2015 - Here is Celiac.com's most up-to-date list of gluten-free beers and alcoholic beverages.

Photo: CC--fklv (Obsolete hipster)The gluten status of the products listed below is accurate at the present time. However, as product formulations can change without notice, it is best to verify gluten-free product status by checking the ingredients yourself, or by contacting the manufacturer.

Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are gluten-free. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'

Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid distilled beverages that use cereal grains in the manufacturing process, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

Gluten-Free Beer

A number of premium and craft brewers now produce specialty grain gluten-free beers using non-gluten ingredients such as buckwheat, sorghum, rice, corn, etc.

Beers brewed from Gluten-free Grains include:

  • Against the Grain by World Top Brewery
  • Birra 76 Bi-Aglut by Heineken Italy
  • Dragon's Gold by Bard's Tale 
  • Element Plasma
  • Epic Glutenator
  • G-Free, St. Peter's Brewery 
  • Green's—Discovery, Endeavour, Endeavour Dubble, Herald, Mission, Pathfinder, Pioneer, Quest, Trailblazer, and Tripel Blonde
  • Joseph James Fox Tail
  • New Grist by Lakefront Brewery 
  • Passover Honey Beer by Ramapo Valley 
  • RedBridge by Anheuser-Busch 
  • Sorghum Molasses Brown by Outer Banks 
  • Sprecher's Gluten Free Beer
  • St. Peter's
  • Toleration by Hambleton 
  • Tread Lightly Ale and 3R Raspberry Ale by New Planet

Beers Brewed from Traditional Grains and Treated to Reduce Gluten Below 20ppm include:

  • Daura, Estrella Damm (Spain)
  • Omission (USA)

Gluten-Free Hard Cider

Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!

Gluten-free hard cider brands include:

  • Ace Pear Cider
  • Angry Orchard
  • Blue Mountain Cider Company
  • Blackthorn Cider
  • Bulmer's Hard Cider
  • Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
  • Gaymer Cider Company
  • Harpoon Craft Cider
  • J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
  • Lazy Jack's Cider
  • Magner's Cider
  • Newton's Folly Hard Cider
  • Original Sin Hard Cider
  • Spire Mountain Draft Cider
  • Strongbow Cider
  • Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
  • Woodchuck
  • Woodpecker Cider

Gluten-Free Wine

All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.

Gluten-Free Wine Coolers

The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products. 

Gluten-free versions include: 

  • Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages
  • Boones - all EXCEPT their malt beverages

Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits Include

  • Brandy
  • Campari
  • Champagne
  • Cognac—made from grapes
  • Cointreau
  • Grappa
  • Midori
  • Prosecco
  • Khalua Coffee Liquer
  • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
  • Old Deadly Cider
  • Sambuca
  • Vermouth

Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols

Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'

So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

Gluten-Free Gin

Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

Gluten-free gin brands include:

  • Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes

Brands of standard gin include:

  • Aviation American Gin
  • Beefeater
  • Bombay
  • Bombay Sapphire
  • Boodles British Gin
  • Booth's Gin 
  • Gordon's
  • Leopolds Gin
  • New Amsterdam Gin
  • Seagram's
  • Tanqueray

Gluten-Free Rum

Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.

Gluten-free rum brands include:

  • Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
  • Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored
  • Bayou Rum
  • Bundaberg Rum
  • Captain Morgan Rum
  • Cruzan Rum
  • Malibu Rum
  • Mount Gay Rum
  • Meyer's Rum

Gluten-Free Sake

Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

Gluten-Free Tequila

Made from the agave cactus, all tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.

Gluten-free tequila brands include:

  • 1519 Tequila
  • 1800 Tequila
  • Cabo Wabo
  • Cazadores
  • Chimayo
  • Don Julio
  • El Jimador
  • Herradura
  • Hornitos
  • Jose Cuervo
  • Patron
  • Sauza

Gluten-Free Vodka

Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.

Gluten-free vodka brands include:

  • Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV
  • Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong
  • Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
  • Rice Vodka—Kissui
  • Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU

Vodkas distilled from cereal grains include:
Many vodkas made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

  • Barley Vodka—Finlandia
  • Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya, 
  • Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
  • Rye Vodka—Belvedere, Biała Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Żubrówka

Gluten-Free Whiskey

Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.

Gluten-free whiskey brands include:

  • Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum

Whiskeys distilled from cereal grains include:

  • Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
  • Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
  • Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel.
  • Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
  • Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka, 
  • Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
  • Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt
  • Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse
  • Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker 
  • Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic

Gluten-Free Drink Mixes

  • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
  • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
  • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
  • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
  • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
  • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
  • TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri.
  • TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix.

Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol

  • Club Tom Collins—made with corn
  • Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
  • Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
  • Mead—made from honey
  • Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane
  • Ouzo - made from grapes and anise
  • Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White
  • Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice.

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).



Related Articles

  • Common Misunderstandings of Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages This article originally appeared in the Winter 2013 issue of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.... [READ MORE]
  • Distilled Spirits (Grain Alcohols) and Vinegar: Are they Gluten-Free? What is Gluten? Gluten is a huge molecule held together by smaller molecules linked together called amino acids.... [READ MORE]
  • Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients) Acacia Gum Acesulfame K Acesulfame Potassium Acetanisole Acetophenone Acorn Quercus Adipic Acid Adzuki Bean Acacia Gum Agar Agave Albumen Alcohol (Distilled Spirits - Specific Types) Alfalfa Algae Algin Alginic Acid Alginate Alkalized Cocoa Allicin Almond Nut Alpha-amylase Alpha-lactalbumin Aluminum Amaranth Ambergris Ammonium Hydroxide Ammonium Phosphate Ammonium Sulphate Amylose Amylopectin Annatto Annatto Color Apple Cider Vinegar Arabic Gum Arrowroot Artichokes Artificial Butter Flavor  Artificial Flavoring Ascorbic Acid Aspartame (can cause IBS symptoms) Aspartic Acid Aspic Astragalus Gummifer Autolyzed Yeast Extract Avena Sativia (Oats3) Avena Sativia Extract (from Oats3) Avidin Azodicarbonamide Baking Soda Balsamic Vinegar Beeswax Beans Bean, Adzuki Bean, Hyacinth Bean, Lentil Bean, Mung Bean Romano (Chickpea) Bean Tepary Benzoic acid Besan (Chickpea) Beta Glucan (from Oats3) Betaine Beta Carotene BHA BHT Bicarbonate of Soda Biotin Blue Cheese Brown Sugar Buckwheat Butter (check additives) Butylated Hydroxyanisole Butyl Compounds Calcium Acetate Calcium Carbonate Calcium Caseinate Calcium Chloride Calcium Disodium Calcium Hydroxide Calcium Lactate Calcium Pantothenate Calcium Phosphate Calcium Propionate Calcium Silicate Calcium Sorbate Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate Calcium Stearate Calcium Sulfate Calrose Camphor Cane Sugar Cane Vinegar Canola (Rapeseed) Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil) Caprylic Acid Carageenan Chondrus Crispus Carbonated Water Carboxymethyl CelluloseCaramel ColorCaramel Flavoring Carmine Carnauba Wax Carob Bean Carob Bean Gum Carob Flour Carrageenan Casein Cassava Manihot Esculenta Castor Oil Catalase Cellulose1 Cellulose Ether Cellulose Gum Cetyl Alcohol Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol Champagne Vinegar Channa (Chickpea) Chana Flour (Chickpea Flour) Cheeses - (most, but check ingredients) Chestnuts Chickpea Chlorella Chocolate Liquor Choline Chloride Chromium Citrate Chymosin Citric Acid Citrus Red No.... [READ MORE]
  • Additional Things to Beware of to Maintain a 100% Gluten-Free Diet Rice and soy beverages because their production process may utilize barley enzymes.... [READ MORE]



Spread The Word





64 Responses:

 
Courtney
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
24 Oct 2007 3:56:16 AM PST
LOVE IT!! Thanks I needed this information for my upcoming wedding.....
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
chelsea
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
24 Oct 2007 1:35:17 PM PST
Q: Even though most vodkas are in fact distilled from grain rather than the much thought potato, are they still all gluten-free?

A: (Scott Adams): Yes, distillation removes all prolamines so distilled spirits are considered safe.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Kano
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 Nov 2007 3:16:05 AM PST
You agree with the American Dietetic Association which put us in sync with Canada and the EU.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
kim
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
01 Nov 2007 9:55:13 AM PST
I'm finding this very hard to swallow.
From personal experience, I know that not all grain alcohol based spirits cannot possibly be completely gluten-free. I became deathly ill after consuming a gin martini (zero vermouth) after being completely gluten-free for 3 months. The first thing my co-worker asked me as she was babysitting me in the restaurant's bathroom where I threw up for a solid hour, was if I was on a gluten-free diet. I asked her how she was aware and she said she observed the same thing happen many times before in Hong Kong where our factories were located. Since then, I have avoided gin, any vodka not made from potatoes or grapes, tequila that is not 100% agave, blended scotches and bourbons (I'm sure corn mash bourbon is safe, ie. Maker's Mark, but I have yet to experiment) and pretty much anything that I don't know all the ingredients and how it is made. If it's source is anything but grapes (or other fermented fruits), potatoes, rice, corn, agave, sugar cane..... I wouldn't take the chance personally.
Same goes for beer: unless it's made from rice or labeled gluten-free, no way Jose. Not worth it.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Mindy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 Nov 2007 1:56:20 PM PST
Very helpful. Due to celiac I avoided all spirits except tequila. It is good to be informed.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Natasha
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
02 Nov 2007 6:09:08 AM PST
Thank you, this was very helpful. I'm going to my first party since being diagnosed.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Barbara Coots
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
05 Nov 2007 6:13:44 PM PST
I agree with #4 since I get sick on any vodka that is not potato. I will remain cautious.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
an unknown user
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
08 Nov 2007 3:06:02 PM PST
I agree with 4 and 7. I stick with my wine and potato vodka with no problems at all. Not even a hint of a hangover. Like anything else when new to the diet grain derived alcohols distilled or not should be consumed with caution until one know how they react.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Debbie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 Nov 2007 10:10:48 AM PST
Only drink tequila that is 100% Agave, anything less has other unknown ingredients added. It's more expensive but the good news is you most likely won't have a hangover. As far as Vodka goes, Smirnoff Red Label isn't expensive and is gluten-free. It is made from corn rather than wheat. Ketel One Vodka is 100% wheat but claims to be gluten-free. Go figure. I've tried many of the other brand name Vodkas and I also ended up in the bathroom. The list above is a great place to start but do your own homework.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Donna
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
12 Nov 2007 9:03:47 AM PST
I also agree with #4. I stick with wine and potato vodka. I have had problems when I have used other vodkas.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Chris
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
19 Nov 2007 5:43:46 AM PST
For #4, 7, and 8. It seems many vodkas are only single distilled and poorly at that (thus the burning sensation and smell). If you get a higher end or at least a triple distilled vodka, you should be fine. I would think the same would apply for gin.

I know Smirnoff Triple Distilled is fine. Although, after having Chopin (potato) I have no care to consider any other vodka.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
bronwhn
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Nov 2007 2:42:45 PM PST
I have had problems with grain vodkas. I do not think they are gluten free. Perhaps Scott is correct that the gluten is removed in distillation but perhaps there is grain present at the distillery and that contaminates the final product. Whatever the reason, I have trouble with it.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
andrea
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Nov 2007 4:47:56 PM PST
I've just been diagnosed with coeliac disease pending my biopsy scheduled for midday today. I am also going to a birthday party with BIG drinkers this Saturday night. Think I'll be drinking Smirnoff Vodka. The comments above were great. Nice to know I'm not alone.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Bobbi
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
25 Nov 2007 5:47:26 PM PST
This list is awesome. The other day I though that this is the season for Kahlua and coffee and I was really wondering if it would be safe. Thank you very much!!!
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Lisa
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
28 Nov 2007 8:20:23 AM PST
This is an excellent resource. I love Chicken Marsala. Is Marsala Wine in the gluten free list?
I found a recipe and said (gluten free Marsala wine)
So, is there a Gluten free one?
Thanks
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Jill
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
08 Dec 2007 11:57:58 AM PST
We're also new to celiac disease, my husband has had 2 doctors tell him that's probably what he has, his biopsy is next Wednesday. So we're starting to look into what his diet will likely be. Unfortunately I'm finding a lot of discrepancies from resource to resource. e.g. No ketchup, HEINZ ketchup, ok. Gin bad, gin okay. Grain based vodkas and whiskeys okay as long as they're distilled, only potato vodkas okay, no whiskeys but bourbon and scotch. It's all very confusing. And 'unfortunately' he had no symptoms but anemia, so he can't even go by how he feels from eating or drinking something 'bad' like some of you who get deathly ill from drinking cheap vodka!! What to do, what to do.....
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Sharon
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
17 Dec 2007 3:39:55 PM PST
Wow! Thank God for you people who forged ahead and 'experimented' for people like us who are still clueless as to what to drink this holiday season. Here I was thinking I shouldn't even socialize in fear of drinking the wrong stuff, but you all saved me and now I don't have to be so bah humbug! I know I can still have wine and anything potato vodka or triple distilled stuff or Kahlua. Let's hope I don't screw up by adding the wrong thing to the alcohol. I guess just juice to keep it safe! Thank you all so much and happy holidays! Here is to a healthier 2008 for all of us!
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
dan
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Dec 2007 1:47:30 AM PST
Awesome I have lost a lot of weight and got very sick before they figured I had celiac. I have searched high and low for info and people to talk to. This site is great.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Thjomas
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Dec 2007 5:58:45 PM PST
I have known that I've had Celiac Disease pretty much all of my life. I have stayed away from all whiskey drinks, malted beverages, and non-gluten free beers and have never been sick (besides drinking too much). To date, I have NOT had a problem with any varieties of vodka, rum, tequila, wine, or gin. I have even consumed a couple of shots worth of Ketel One Vodka one night and still didn't feel sick afterwards. However, Ketel One Vodka sucks and don’t waste your time, money, or taste buds.

Usually, if you want to play it safe, stick to rum or gluten-free beer. Here are some examples of gluten-free beer: Bard's Tale Beer, New Grist, and Woodchuck Draft Cider.

For verification, I do get intestinally sick from eating any sort of gluten (wheat, barley, oat, or rye) products, and therefore maintain a strict, gluten free diet. I still feel bitter sometimes about the foods that I cannot eat, but my special diet forces me to eat healthy, and in response, it makes me a healthy person. Celiac Disease in no way means the end of a happy life. I hope that this information helps people.

DISCLAIMER: Everybody has a different reaction to gluten products. Some people’s reactions might be more sensitive than other people’s response. What I have posted is only my experiences with different kinds of alcohol. Know your own body and how it reacts.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Julie Higgins
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
23 Dec 2007 7:44:02 PM PST
Very informative.....expanded information on liquors would be helpful.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Kathryn
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
26 Dec 2007 3:27:52 PM PST
I am not a celiac but I think this web site is fantastic. What a way to help people.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Bob
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
02 Jan 2008 11:05:53 AM PST
This site is very helpful. My doctor discovered that I had Celiac Disease about 3 months ago. So I'm still getting use to it. Thanks
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Lauren svorc
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
05 Jan 2008 4:59:19 PM PST
I am 18 and had it most of my life and about ten others in my family also have it so I am pretty good at knowing what I can and can't have--until my friend said that I may not be able to drink scotch whiskey so I thought I would check out a web site--thanks mate!
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Linda
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
06 Jan 2008 7:24:22 AM PST
I'm sure the paid-for version of the list has more details on distillation and etc. Folks need to realize that the reaction they are having after eating or drinking something may not be to that specific food. Reactions can 'brew' inside us for a long time, and something can set off the reaction that was already brewing. I have had celiac disease for 20 years and most my family are celiacs.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
adrienne weber
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Jan 2008 9:51:03 PM PST
Very confusing info, I thought Ketel One was Potato vodka, I found a vodka called Iceberg Vodka. Their website claims to be gluten free.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Lauren
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
13 Jan 2008 8:20:08 AM PST
Not all vodkas are okay. My old favorite, Belvedere, is made from rye.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Sally
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
13 Jan 2008 9:04:37 AM PST
I have Celiac, but the dermatitis herpetaformis variety. It's on my skin...horribly itchy. But I can tell within an hour if I eat any gluten. I itch all over severely. The ONLY alcohol celiacs should drink are: Sorghum based beer, potato vodka, most wines, Rum, Tequila, and pure gin (made from Juniper berries ONLY). Many alcohols are made from cheap wheat and barley grains, and are added to other products to add alcohol content, while keeping the flavor. I can tell immediately when the drink is 'adulterated' in this way. Be safe. Don't drink anything you can't verify. I found that Kahlua has grain based alcohol added. I'm still trying to find out about Tia Maria.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
chris reynolds
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
15 Jan 2008 2:54:55 AM PST
I live in the home of scotch whisky and have been celiac for 12 years...I've still not tasted them all but I'm happy to tell you that so far so good with the 'research'
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
shay
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
04 Feb 2008 11:51:26 PM PST
I love this site!!!!
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Pixie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
05 Feb 2008 12:34:51 AM PST
Thanks a lot that's very helpful!

(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Marilyn
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
06 Feb 2008 10:38:20 AM PST
Thank you so much for the valuable info. I have just been diagnosed with H-pylori and need to go on a gluten free and dairy free diet for 6 mos to a year. This is very helpful.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Rachel
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
10 Feb 2008 9:47:53 AM PST
I recently discovered I'm allergic to wheat/gluten ~ this is VERY helpful... just the site I was looking for.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Adam
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 Feb 2008 3:01:50 PM PST
I am new to Celiac Disease and love me a glass of Bourbon. I can drink any hard liquor that is distilled more than once without a problem. Maker's Mark is nice at the bar but not when you want to drown your sorrows on your living room floor--unless you have the coin, and I don't.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Jason
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
18 Feb 2008 2:39:36 PM PST
I am a current college student at Marquette University and have been diagnosed for over a year. I understand that there is a lot of discrepancy between what alcohols are safe and those which are not. From personal experience, I have tried numerous vodkas such as Sky, Burnett's, Absolute, Grey Goose, Smirnoff's, UV, all of which I have not had any reaction to. As far as rum goes, I mainly stick to Captain Morgan and Admiral Nelson, both of which I have never had a reaction to. Also I used to drink a lot of whiskey and for the whiskey lovers, I have tried Seagram's 7 as well as Maker's Mark and once again, no reaction. I would advise to try just a little before consuming Maker's Mark and Seagram's 7 just because I have heard people could not tolerate it as well. But as I said before, I had no reaction. As a college student, I understand the pressure of drinking at parties or bars, but hopefully I have given a few people some new options.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Chrissy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Feb 2008 9:25:31 AM PST
I think this was an informative piece. I found out in June 2007 that I had Celiac. I had such a terrible pregnancy, sick all nine months and gained only 10 pounds in 2006. (Thankfully I got a healthy baby). For the months after I delivered, I was still sick.

It was due to my pregnancy that the Celiac finally came out. I lived most of my life doing just fine. As a child, I never really liked bread or pasta, eating it occasionally. Now I am on a gluten-free diet and feeling much better. This is a great site, as I am the only one in my family who has this disease.

I have to get my son tested when he gets older.

(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
sea
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
20 Feb 2008 7:13:01 PM PST
I'm not quite sure what the point is of this particular list. Of course no one should consume anything that makes them feel badly. However, all speakers at a recent Celiac conference at Stanford University, including chemists, researchers, doctors (including Gail Pyle, herself a Celiac), and dietitians, were unanimous in their agreement that distilled alcohol, like vinegar, does NOT contain gluten unless the gluten is added POST processing.

I've been a Celiac for 28 years and the information I was initially given upon diagnosis did suggest restriction of vinegar and grain distilled vinegar at that time. However, informed doctors and Celiac specialists have now retracted this restriction.

See the following article from this very site based on revisions made by the American Dietetic Association:

http://www.celiac.com/articles/184/1/American-Dietetic-Association-Revises-Its-Gluten-Free-Guidelines---Distilled-Vinegar-is-Safe-for-a-Gluten-Free-Diet/Page1.html
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
bergy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
22 Feb 2008 9:33:28 AM PST
Lots of good info but it's clear that individual tolerance can play a big part in the consumption of some ingredients. Regarding vodka, the producer of triple distilled Taaka brand confirms that it's gluten free.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Mary
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
27 Feb 2008 9:55:43 AM PST
I'm new at this. I've just found out I have celiac. This site is wonderful. Thanks.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
darren lancaster
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
27 Feb 2008 11:41:18 PM PST
Great site my wife loves bourbon so any advice for her as she is allergic to gluten.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Kathryn
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
29 Feb 2008 6:33:08 PM PST
Thank you for putting together this site. After a year of extreme illness, I have been diagnosed with Celiac Sprue. over this past year I couldn't understand why I could have a Bailey's Irish Cream, but couldn't have a Sam Adams. This really helps me figure out. Thanks!
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Elsbeth Coleman
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
29 Feb 2008 11:43:37 PM PST
Very very helpful - will make life easier
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Angie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
08 Mar 2008 9:32:36 AM PST
Thank God for Wine--but I will sure miss beer!
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
katie
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
17 Mar 2008 7:37:28 AM PST
WARNING!!! Do your own homework!!! Not everyone can drink distilled liquors made from gluten grains----in fact, every single Celiac I know of, including us, gets VERY ill from liquor made from gluten grains!!! I think the "gluten-free" status of distilled liquors is highly questionable and will soon change....
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Kris
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
27 Mar 2008 2:44:58 PM PST
I found out I was Celiac a few years ago after chemo treatments. I got hives that kept coming for a year after chemo was done and went gluten free immediately, as my mom and many others in my family have it as well, so I knew what it was. I am so sure that I have it, I have not even bothered to get tested. It has taken some time to feel 'normal', and not like I had a disability like I had felt in the beginning, but I feel great now, and my life is actually simpler and I feed my family healthier, all the processed food out there is so bad for humans. I am very thrilled about this site and the info on it, and all the feedback from other Celiacs is uplifting. One thing I really miss and can't seem to find a suitable replacement is beer. I don't like the rice beer. Wine and mixed drinks are so sweet.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
BOB
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 Apr 2008 3:46:36 AM PST
Very informative, I occasionally go to BarsGrills where I can't get a Safe Beer. However, I did find a Beer that is pretty good....it is Redbridge...Thanks.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Susan

said this on
01 Apr 2008 11:16:19 AM PST
Distillation isn't the issue, it's what happens to the product afterwards. Vodka and Gin start off the same way, they are made from some sort of grain and transformed into a neutral spirit. Then flavors are added to them by vaporizing them through containers of berries, bark, fruit and other items. Then the vapor is cooled and the new spirit retains the flavor of the berries, bark and fruit. I think this is where the contamination occurs. I've been 'gluten free' for 5 years but drinking Gin. I gave myself a test where I only drank Chopin for 2 months. Now, not only does any gin make me seriously ill, but I realize what I can be like when truly Gluten free. I agree this is varies by the individual so each person should test themselves. Here another bit of information. Vodka's are generally supposed to be without taste and there for did not have all these other additives until recent market pressures. Gin on the other hand has always been considered a 'flavored vodka.' So you might try checking 'non flavored' vodkas. There is also a Gin called Cap Rock which is made from apples.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Joanne Carter
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
10 Apr 2008 4:18:55 AM PST
Very helpful. I like my Canadian Club and this is good to know. Also found a potato vodka made in Poland that is very good, very smooth, Lukskaya? that has never bothered me. From the time I was 19 till 44 I was always told by doctors (and I saw quite a few of them, with numerous GI tests) and not one ever even suggested celiac. Even though I am now gluten-free and feeling great, I wish I hadn't been misdiagnosed for so many years.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Krissie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
20 Apr 2008 12:07:35 PM PST
Great site. I check it frequently. As a lot of people, I diagnosed myself. First big clue came when I went on a Sugar Buster Diet (pure whole wheat) and thought I was dying, I felt so badly. I was about 37 at the time. During all of my pregnancies, I felt ill and depressed. I was ill for years after each birth I was so depleted. Now, I feel so much better and after about 5 years of eating gluten free diet, I have 'pink cheeks.' Never had pink cheeks in my life, till now. Also, I wish people would name specific beers/alcohols to drink. I stick with Redbridge beer, Chopin (potato vodka), Ouzo, rum and Tequila. But I would like to add to my list. To the people that suggest you can drink these drinks if no symptoms...I would say be careful as my symptoms were subtle. I ended up mostly feeling tired, depressed with weak bones.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Donnie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
01 May 2008 6:00:07 PM PST
I just tried the Redbridge beer last night. My favorite beer is Killian's Irish Red..... But, um, I guess it has to be Redbridge now. Fortunately for me, it IS a really great beer, made from sorghum.

At least I can still have Tanquerey!

~D
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Kelly
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
12 May 2008 5:41:27 AM PST
I've tried Redbridge and didn't really care for it. I have, however, found an excellent gluten-free beer made from sorghum. It's called Bard's Tale Dragon's Gold. It's reminiscent of Honey Brown which I used to enjoy pre-diagnosis. It's difficult to find but it you can do it, cheers!
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Al
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
12 May 2008 6:39:13 AM PST
For those who enjoy beer and are Celiacs...I recently discovered 3 wonderful Gluten Free Ales made from Millet, Rice, Buckwheat & sorghum. Green's is the in Belgian company that makes them. These beers are real beers unlike Red Bridge, Bard's and New Grist. Green's alcohol content ranges from 6.5% to 8.5% which makes them pricier than the others mentioned above but you certainly get more flavor and bang for your buck! My favorite is: Quest Gluten-Free Tripel Ale! I got my local liquor store to order a case for me every 2-3 weeks... BTW since I have discovered Green's I don't drink Red Bridge or Bard's Tale anymore. Hope this info helps others...
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Nora Dimen
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
24 May 2008 4:31:28 PM PST
I have been gluten-free for 8 years now, and am very careful about consuming items that are considered 'safe', but are derived from a gluten containing source. I drink only wine and Smirnoff vodka. I have tried other drinks such as whiskey and other vodkas just recently. I ended up being seriously ill for hours afterwards, repeatedly vomiting like I had food poisoning. Never again. I will stick to Smirnoff and wine.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Toni

said this on
24 May 2008 8:06:39 PM PST
I agree with Al all you get from Redbridge, Bard's and New Grist is flavor and calories no bang for your buck. Give me the real beer from Belgium Green's , I like all three, come on America make a real beer.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Hunter
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
25 May 2008 10:41:03 AM PST
Very happy to have found this page. I have MS and have had favorable results after going gluten-free. It seems like MS and Celiac Disease have one thing in common, it's different for everyone! #36, #37 & #43 say it all.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
C
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
28 May 2008 11:28:38 AM PST
I was recently diagnosed with celiac. I live in Texas and Tito's Vodka (a local Texas distillery) is 100% corn, distilled 6 times. It is great quality and doesn't make me sick. On their website they specify that it is wheat and gluten free.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
JB
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
05 Jun 2008 9:41:13 PM PST
How can spirits be gluten-free, distilled or not, when most of them are made with neutral grain spirits which most often contain glutenous grains? Sounds a little fishy to me.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Tom savino
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
08 Jun 2008 9:32:36 AM PST
I am 75 years old and just been diagnosed with celiac disease. I have used Absolute, Gran Marnier and tequila and have had no problems. I will try some of the gluten free beers which are hard to find and more expensive
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
lyons

said this on
10 Jun 2008 1:27:27 PM PST
I have been coeliac for about 10 years now and I drink Pernod with no trouble at all. Hope this helps.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Nick

said this on
11 Jun 2008 6:39:11 AM PST
Tequila that is not 100% agave is a waste of time. Smirnoff vodka red label is the best if you need some hard liquor, but if your looking for a good beer that contains no gluten Dragon’s Gold is the best I have found.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Mark from London
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
24 Jun 2008 9:42:40 AM PST
Number 4 is absolutely right. If it comes from wheat, barley or rye in any way don't touch it, even if it’s been distilled. We all have to agree it's just not worth it. My wife is Polish and I'm English, so Vodka was a big thing at or wedding. The only thing I can say is Potato vodka all the way. Especially a brand called Chopin ironically which is considered the highest quality in Poland. It's the best vodka you'll ever drink and is fantastic with juice or with ice straight.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Elle
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
28 Jun 2008 8:22:39 AM PST
This information is really good to know.. Although I find that some vodkas make me incredibly ill. As well as some rums. I diagnosed myself- my doctor doesn't think I have celiacs... but no joke 20 minutes after eating anything with gluten I'm horribly ill in the bathroom and then 10 minutes later I start a migraine.. he thinks I'm too young for it-- he doesn't even know anything about celiacs, he checks the Internet while I was in his office....
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Mary Jane
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
28 Jun 2008 9:01:05 AM PST
I agree with #56...no mater what I drink it seems to bother me. Everyone is different... I guess it's all trial and error...

I have not been tested for celiac, one doctor I saw for a year and a half had no clue and had done test after test after test...but then I moved and the next doctor told me to go on a gluten free diet and I have been a little better but I also have lots of other allergies or intolerances such as...
oil,dairy,corn,asparagus,tapioca, and I also don't eat animals or eggs or gelatin. So my diet has been VERY limited... Sometimes I fell as though I am losing my mind...
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
angelia
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
30 Jun 2008 2:42:22 PM PST
I agree with watching things because even some wine I have drank made me horribly sick. Drinking beer was how I figured out what I had after many years of experimenting I noticed beer no matter how much I drank made me sick (run fever, puke etc..) and have a horrible hangover. I could drink whiskey all night so I knew there was something in beer that I was allergic to.
(Comment Replies Disabled)

 
Kristin
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
01 Jul 2008 10:52:40 PM PST
I agree with #4 and 7. I know from experience that alcohol distilled from grain makes me very ill. The last time I had my formerly favorite gin, Bombay, I was horribly sick. Since then I will only drink alcohol that has never come in contact with gluten.
(Comment Replies Disabled)


Comment posting has been disabled on this article