3 replies to this topic

#1 grannynanny

grannynanny

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 12 February 2005 - 06:54 AM

I'm fairly new to this. Having read many posts around the board, I'm pretty sure that the outbreaks I get in my scalp (and have for years and years) are DH. But reading others' experiences, I am now remembering a huge outbreak I had on my midriff a few years ago (before I knew about Celiac). It was red, itchy and painful. I thought it was shingles, but it did subside fairly quickly and I took no medication (other than Advil). Does that sound like DH?

Also, now that I am gluten-free (7 months -- occasional slippage, particularly with restaurant food), I sometimes get huge red boils around my hairline. They are sometimes pus-filled, and go away after a few days. These bright red eruptions are fairly new to me. Do they sound like DH?

Thanks for any thoughts.

Sue
Self-diagnosed and gluten free since August 2004 (having suffered debilitating bouts of nausea, vomiting, bloating, diarrhea and stomach pain for 6 years).

Met with Dr. A. Fasano in Baltimore (Dec 2006), who felt I didn't need to be tested based on my history and positive response to the gluten-free diet.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gf4life

gf4life

Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 12 February 2005 - 11:34 AM

It could be DH. My scalp is the first place I started getting them, many years ago. It is also the first place I break out when I have gotten a large amount of gluten. What I mean by a large amount is more than just the tiny bit of cross-contamination, where the food actually contained an unknown source of gluten. This doesn't happen to me often, but when it does I know by the sores on my scalp, along the hairline.