This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Indigestion, Mood Swings, Newly Gluten-Free--Is This "normal"?

IrishHeart

IrishHeart Veteran

Hello!

I am a newbie here but I have been reading posts on here for months. You guys know so much more than any medical professional and I have learned so much!

I am only gluten-free for a month. I have been very sick for 3 years,but I had GI problems for over 25 years. I have dozens of crippling symptoms, and I won't bore you with them all here, but my life has been a nightmare for 3 years and I know it will take awhile to feel better. I am realistic about that part. I had one accidental CC at my sister's house, and it made me good and sick for several days, but I am doing all right mostly.

Sweet Hubby even went gluten-free with me! He makes us gluten-free bread and the house is "clean" as can be.

Here are my questions:

I keep having bouts with horrible gastritis, mood swings, cravings, feeling weak. I have some stomach burning and sometimes, my throat. I take digestive enzymes and I avoid dairy and soy. I only drink H2O and plain tea. Plain plain plain...so BORING :>)

What am I doing wrong? Or is it just too early and I am still going to have symptoms for awhile? (My Vitamin levels are fine,no candida )

If you tell me that's all it is, I can relax and be patient :>) It is so frustrating to still feel so sick and I just want relief. I am tired of crying every day out of sheer exhaustion and chronic pain.

I have to say, at least the constant D/constipation roller coaster has stopped. The scary "brain fog" has lifted a bit too...whoohoo! So, I am encouraged!