Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Wrigley's Gum- Gluten-Free?
0

6 posts in this topic

Have looked into Wrigleys' and am feeling kind of confused about their gluten-free status. There's info, but nothing especially recent.

Their AUNZ site lists gluten-free products, but the US site kind of passes the buck:

Do Wrigley’s products contain gluten?

While some Wrigley products may contain gluten, the majority of our products are gluten-free. In general, we avoid using ingredients that contain gluten where they serve no functional purpose or can be replaced by gluten-free alternatives; however, ingredients and formulas may vary between regions. When the use of ingredients containing gluten is critical to the product taste experience, we follow all labeling requirements to allow our consumers to make an informed choice. We always advise consumers who are concerned about food sensitivities to read the label and check with their doctor if they have questions.

My big question is on the ingredient "HYDROGENATED STARCH HYDROLYSATE," which sometimes means gluten and sometimes does not.

I know folks have reported having "symptoms" after, but I also knw the articial sweeteners can cause similar symptoms.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I have emailed the company and will post when they get back to me.

Some additional info, which kind of conflicts:

On the side of "Wrigley's gum is generally safe:"

about.com's list of gluten-free candies: http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreefoodshopping/a/GFcandies.htm

and list of gluten-free gums: http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/GlutenFreeSnacks/a/Gluten-Free-Gum.htm

A rather alarming seeming-contradiction, from their own web site:

From http://www.wrigley.com/aunz/brands/juicy-fruit.aspx#panel-3 which is the AU/NZ's site, and the page specifically for nutrition information in Juicy Fruit gum:

Gluten free : yes

MADE OF: SUGAR, GUM BASE, WHEAT GLUCOSE SYRUP, THICKNER (1404), EMULSIFIER (322, FROM SOY), FLAVOUR, HUMECTANT (422), SWEETNERS (955, 961), GLAZING AGENT (903), ANTIOXIDANT (321). CONTAINS INGREDIENTS FROM SOY.

...WHAT???

Perhaps it's just a typo? EXCEPT, from their aunz web site, their comment on what is gluten free http://www.wrigley.com/aunz/brands/gluten_list.pdf:

We can confirm our sugar free products do not contain ingredients derived from wheat sources and therefore are gluten free. Our sugar free products are listed below:

- EXTRA® - Peppermint, Spearmint, Sweetmint, Strawberry

- EXTRA® Professional - Strongmint, Spearmint, White and Lemon Lime

- Extra® Active™- Berry, Peppermint, Spearmint, Watermelon

- ECLIPSE® Ice - Peppermint, Spearmint

- ECLIPSE® Mints - Peppermint, Spearmint, Cool Breeze, Intense, Berry

- 5® - Cobalt (peppermint), Electro (spearmint), Tempest (watermelon), Vortex (green apple) and Cirrus (blueberry)

- P.K® - Peppermint, Blue

- Juicyfruit®

- Hubba Bubba® - Grape, Strawberry, Cola

We trust this information is useful, but strongly recommend you consult your local medical practitioner to ensure our ingredients in no way conflict with your particular medical circumstances.

For further information, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 721 831 (within Australia) or 0800 408 364 (within New Zealand).

Updated 18 September 2012

Is there something I'm missing, or is this actually alarming? Or are most brands this difficult to figure out?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is the most important part, with regards to international manufacturers:

"...ingredients and formulas may vary between regions..."

I doubt that chewing gum made in Australia would be exported ..

Modern technology currently can test gluten levels of more than 3 ppm (mg/kg). To qualify as "gluten-free" in Australia & New Zealand, the product in question must contain ‘no detectable gluten’ [be less than 3pmm], or be naturally-gluten free.

Some wheat products - glucose syrup, Caramel colour (150) and Dextrose - are so highly processed, that they are gluten free. They are tested.

By Australian & New Zealand Law, as they originate from wheat, this must be indicated on the label in bold, but as they are "gluten free", they are not listed as as allergen.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I understand that, auzzi. What alarmed me was that the Wrigley corporation seemed to be listing a product with a wheat ingredient (as a primary ingredient, no less!) as gluten-free, which made me feel a bit uneasy about the *company* overall. The ingredients are clearly either different in the US, or have different names.

I by the way *suspect* a lot of the info that I was finding about gluten in Wrigley's was based on the PDF of gluten-free aunz gum (a lot of it looked like copy/paste of that exact list), which is an additional worry.

Am curious exactly how much processing would be needed for the *third* ingredient being made form wheat would have to happen to actually render it gluten-free. Is this a common thing? Do you remember where you got that info (link, or source)? (I am OK with a lot of processing; I'm just wondering about this for future reference as it seems likely to come up again in some way shape or form.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Response:

Dear Em314,

Thanks for asking about the gluten in Wrigley products. We understand it’s important to you to know the ingredients that are in the food you eat, and we’d be happy to share the information with you.

All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled within strict compliance of applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Any materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient line.

The FDA has issued a proposed rule on gluten-free labeling, allowing food products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten (sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids), to be considered gluten-free. [Federal Register: January 23, 2007 (Volume 72, Number 14)]

The hydrogenated starch hydrolysate in our gums is from potato.

All U.S. Wrigley chewing gum ( including the one's you mentioned) and confection products have been assessed to be gluten-free with the exception of the products listed below, which contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and may contain trace amounts of gluten.

Accordingly, these products are labeled as containing wheat-derived ingredients:

• Altoids® Chocolate Dipped Mints (made on equipment that also processes wheat which is stated in the “Allergy Information” line)

• Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is stated in the ingredient line)

• Hubba Bubba® Gummi Tape Candy (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)

• Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)

If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.

We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

Have a sweet day,

Sincerely,

Sandy Barnes

Consumer Care Representative

8000342630

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




2/12/15 - Here is the response I received from Wrigley's when asking about LifeSavers mints:

 

Yes, all Life Savers are gluten free.

 

All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled in accordance with applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004.  Any food materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient statement, when present in our products.

 

The FDA allows voluntary labeling of “gluten-free” for foods that inherently do not contain gluten or contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, and crossbreeds of these grains.

Our products listed below have been tested to comply with the FDA’s definition of gluten-free and are labeled as “gluten-free” on the package:
• Skittles® Bite Size Candies
• Starburst® Fruit Chews
• Starburst® GummiBursts® Original and Sour Flavors

 

Our products listed below contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and thus may contain gluten.  These products are labeled accordingly as containing wheat within the ingredient statement:
• Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is listed in the ingredient statement)
• Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which are listed in the ingredient statements)

 

The rest of our products have not been tested to be labeled as “gluten-free”.  If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley or crossbreeds of these grains, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,652
    • Total Posts
      921,612
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • So, LST my celiac sibling thinks I should see a naturopath to get additional food sensitivity tests. I think this is swell, but expensive for me. He had a panel done and was reacting to some foods he ate the most of. I have reached out to a local allergist and they do food testing but do not accept my insurance. I was going to make some more calls tomorrow. I actually do have mild reactive airway disease too which seems to go hand-in-hand with the allergists. I honestly had no idea, but makes since. What type of tests have folks had? I know I am not allergic to most foods as of November. My former GI doc ran a basic panel then but it seemed short. Has anyone had any luck with these? I read there is a difference between IGE and IGG tests. Anyone get a doc to order them and insurance to cover? I may end up having to save up for awhile to have this done with a naturopath. But I was off of payroll recently with all of this and the idea of waiting for a couple of more months to find out what other foods may be trigging me really sucks. I am off of dairy and soy, suspicious of lettuce and shrimp.
    • How about reaching out to your local celiac disease support group? http://www.houstonceliacs.org
    • Yes, I am in Houston, TX. Can anyone recommend a good GI in Houston, lots of experience with celiac?  
    • I am sorry to hear about your mother.   It is not so hard to get a medical doctor to order a celiac panel -- especially if your father was diagnosed with celiac disease.  Our family GP did not blink an eye when I first asked my daughter to be tested.    If you think your doctor will disregard your legitimate request, you can either fire him or put the request in writing and send it certified (attorneys love documentation!)  I agree that our doctors should support us.  I have a great GI, but my GP  is pretty clueless when it comes to celiac disease, but she admits it.    She does always order all the lab tests I request.  Perhaps it is because I come in with supporting medical documentation and evidence.  If she was not supportive to my satisfaction, I would find a new doctor.   Again, you can go gluten free in your own.   Chance are you have celiac disease.    But it is hard.  Really hard if you do not have the support of your family.  That is my concern.   Are you in the US?  
    • I've just read SO MUCH about the long, arduous process of getting a positive diagnosis through traditional medicine - I'm not sure I want to put myself through all that. Since my father WAS positively diagnosed - I carry the celiac gene and another gene that predisposes me to gluten sensitivity - and my fecal tests for gliadin were SO elevated - there are enough reasons for me to go to a gluten free diet. The true medical diagnosis would just make it easier for my family/friends to believe the necessity of it. My children are adults and not particularly health care nuts. I doubt they would take their own risk seriously without a medical diagnosis. I'm afraid my husband, while he is trying to be supportive at this point, will grow weary of all the things I no longer serve at meals and all the places we will no longer go to because there are not gluten free alternatives on the menu. A medical diagnosis would make it easier for him, long term, I think.  I don't have much faith in general in our western health care system. My mother died 6 months ago at age 82 after 4-5 years of many different health issues. She had given up the keys to her car in her late 70's after getting lost several times. I became her designated driver to all doctor appointments, procedures, hospital stays, etc. The incompetence and disregard I saw blew me away. I'm surprised any elderly people survive our health care system once they get on that revolving door. The reason I started seeing a naturopath is that I am looking for an alternative to medical doctors for most of my health issues as I age. I know there are some things I still have to see them for - and of course, they are essential in trauma and emergency situations. But I am on a quest to follow a more holistic approach to my health care. If this is the path I am choosing, then I have to follow my gut (no pun intended) in situations like this. I think the only reason I would go through the medical testing would be for other people - not me. It seems to me, that with so many people being gluten intolerant these days, a decent M.D. would listen to a patient that was adamant about their intent to live gluten free - positive celiac diagnosis or not (and especially with the gene and stool test results). I mean, they don't tell vegetarians they have to eat meat ... and vegetarianism is a personal choice. Sorry if I seem to be rambling ... this is all so new, and I'm trying to find my way.    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,653
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    KerryO
    Joined