Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Jefferson Adams
    Jefferson Adams

    15 Foods People Wrongly Think Are Gluten-Free

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Here are 15 foods or food ingredients that some people wrongly assume are gluten-free.

    15 Foods People Wrongly Think Are Gluten-Free - Image: CC--Signe Karin
    Caption: Image: CC--Signe Karin

    Celiac.com 11/15/2018 - Gluten-free products, marketed as such, were largely unknown 20 years ago, but the gluten-free industry is set to reach an estimated $2.34 billion in sales by 2019. That’s more than double figures for 2014. The growth has been exponential.

    What sets gluten-free foods apart from other culinary trends or diet fads is that they address a legitimate health concern that affects millions of people around the world.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    With the massive influx of gluten-free products, and the expansion of “gluten-free” restaurant options, it’s easy to forget that gluten exists in some obvious and not so obvious places that people with celiac disease need to avoid.

    Here are 15 foods or food ingredients that many people wrongly assume are gluten-free:

    Beer
    Light or dark, lager, IPA or Stout, traditional beer is brewed with barley, and is not gluten-free. However, a number of major and micro breweries create tasty gluten-free alternatives. There are a number of tasty, award winning beers that are brewed from gluten-free ingredients and are fully gluten-free. There are also gluten-reduced beers. These beers are brewed like traditional beers and EU regulations allow for gluten-removed beer to be labeled as gluten-free. Plenty of people with celiac disease do fine drinking these beers, but many do not. Know your beer, know your body, and drink accordingly. Read more at Celiac.com's Oktoberfest Beer Guide! Gluten-free vs. Gluten-removed Beers.

    Barbecue Sauce
    Many barbecue sauces use artificial colors, flavorings or thickeners that may contain gluten, so it’s important to check labels, and even contact a manufacturer if you're not sure about something.

    Couscous, Tabbouleh and Falafel
    Couscous and bulgar are wheat and are used in many different Middle-eastern foods, and some people do not realize that they contain gluten. Bulgar or couscous are also used to make another popular Middle-eastern dish called tabbouleh (salad). Couscous or wheat flour are sometimes used to make falafel, so be sure to ask about the ingredients before eating. 

    Candy
    Always be careful about candy. Many candies are safe and gluten-free, but many candies are not. Sometimes trusted products can change. Read labels, check websites, contact manufacturers as needed, and be careful! If you’re not sure, Celiac.com’s Annual Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List is a good place to start.

    Cookie Dough
    This might seem obvious, but cookie dough, unless specifically gluten-free, almost always contains standard wheat flour and is not gluten-free.

    Dried Spices
    Some manufacturers actually use flour to keep their spices from clumping. Pay special attention to spice blends and mixes, including curry powders, which may contain wheat.

    Gravies, Soups, Sauces and Mixes—Packaged, Canned, or Jarred
    If you’ve ever made gravy from scratch, you might recall that it involves making a roux, a paste of butter and flour which thickens the gravy and gives it a nice sheen. Well, roux is also used as a thickening agent in many packaged, canned or jarred gravies, soups, sauces and mixes.  Even some fresh soups may contain wheat or flour. Gazpacho, for example, can be made gluten-free, but most recipes call for a piece of bread soaked in sherry vinegar and blended into the soup. When it comes to gluten in soup, eater beware!

    Hot Dogs & Sausages
    The bun is an obvious source of gluten, but the dog itself can contain traces of wheat as well in the form of both filler and binder. So check labels, know the ingredients, and double-check when it comes to hot dogs and sausages.

    Ice Cream
    Although many ice creams are gluten-free, some may contain wheat in the form of added ingredients, like cookie dough, toppings or candy pieces. Double-check the ingredients to be safe. 

    Packaged Deli Meats, Marinated or Pre-Seasoned Meats & Vegetable Proteins
    Packaged, marinated meat, fish, chicken, or other meats may contain gluten as a binder or hidden ingredient. Some vegetable-based proteins like Seitan contain gluten. Also, many deli meats claim to be gluten-free, but the same companies have released specific lines of gluten-free meats, raising the question of why they needed a separate product in the first place. Deli meats are controlled by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, not the Food and Drug Administration, which currently uses a different gluten-free standard.

    Prescription Drugs, Vitamins and Supplements
    Even though they are not technically foods, and they are meant to keep you healthy, prescription drugs, vitamins and supplements may contain gluten as binders, typically in the form of wheat starch. Ask you pharmacist for guidance, read labels closely, and make phone calls to companies or visit their Web sites to be sure.

    Salad Dressings
    Many salad dressings have updated their recipes to exclude any wheat or barley-derived additives, but some still contain gluten, especially the powdered mix kind.

    Soy Sauce
    Most soy sauces contain wheat and should be avoided. Be sure to find a gluten-free soy sauce.

    Sushi
    Although raw fish by itself is gluten-free, there are many ingredients in sushi rolls and other items that contain soy sauce and other sources of gluten. The seaweed wrappers in sushi may contain soy sauce, and the wasabi or fake crab may contain gluten. Teriyaki sauce is another source of gluten because it is made with soy sauce. See our How to Safely Order Sushi article for more info.

    Teriyaki Sauce
    Teriyaki is nearly always made with made with soy sauce, and most commercial brands contain wheat, so be careful. 

    Read more on:
    Celiac.com UNSAFE Food List
    Celiac.com SAFE Food List
    Celiac.com's SAFE and UNSAFE Halloween Candy List


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Also beware of icing sugar and brown sugar. This sounds unlikely, but they may contain gluten.

    English mustard powder is made with wheat flour.

    Do think process, when judging gluten contamination. Your sushi may be designed to be gluten-free, but was the knife or board used for fake crab?

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Most items I was aware of, but the seaweed wrappers themselves...that's an eye-opener.

    I used to like canned fish e.g. tuna, but continued to have bad gluten-type reactions.  I learned that the juice contains yeast, a gluten cross-over.  What's worse is that yeast was not on the label. 

    The FDA should require better labeling requirements. I am glad to see many manufactures now have an allergy warning on the label stating whether or not the food is processed in a plant containing wheat. 

    Celiac disease is horrible because gluten & yeast are present where you least suspect it.  By time you find out...it's too late & the hours of "suffering" begins.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Laura-

     You may be mistaken on that. Tinned tuna is usually available packed in water or oil--and there's no yeast in the oil, for sure. On the other hand, if you buy commercially prepared tuna salad, that is sometimes "thickened" with flour or bread crumbs as an extender, and that will cause a definite problem.

     Tuna in a retort pouch is safer, there's hardly any liquid in it. And it is not as expensive as it seems, since the package contains no water weight. (A 6 oz. can of tuna can contain ~4 oz. of tuna plus 2 oz. of expensive packing liquid. A 4 oz. pouch of tuna, contains 4 oz. of tuna.)

     Tinned chicken and roast beef similarly may be packed in a "broth" and you need to read labels closely, because many broths have a little gluten added to fake the feeling of fat, which they've removed and sold separately.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    ditto on yeast. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Yeast is only a problem if it is "Brewers Yeast" the left over yeast from beer brewing sometimes used for a flavor enhancer, or nutrional supplment.
    Active Raw yeast in Gluten Free breads is normally Gluten Free, but can cause fermentation and gas issues, those with compromized guts can even have it setting in their intestines and cause all kinds of havoc.
    Nutional Yeast depends on Brand, Braggs, KAL, Star Foods, and Sala are Gluten free and not fed gluten prior to being killed and used for a nutritional booster.

     

    17 hours ago, Guest Lindey said:

    Many carbonated drinks contain barley such as coke, ginger beer, dandelion and burdock. Do check the labels

    Most Carbonated beverages in the US are safe, exception being some flavored blends, and non mainstream ones. I use Zevia Ginger Beer Fine and it is Gluten Free labeled, Dandelion tea from Republic of Tea is Gluten free certified and good for digestion.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Actually, you can't "check the label" on CocaCola or Pepsi. Both use "secret recipes" that are indeed trade secrets and zealously guarded. In the unlikely (but possible) event that barley or malt was a trace ingredient, it could remain unlisted as part of that trade secret.

    If you contacted the company to enquire about allergens, you might get an answer. Or, you might simply be told it is a trade secret.

    You'd have to ask the FDA if their disclosure laws trump the laws of trade secrets, and if the courts have actually affirmed that.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 11/14/2017 - One reason conventional beers remain unsafe for people with celiac disease is that they contain gluten fragments that push the finished product over the 20ppm standard for gluten-free products. Such gluten fragments in conventional beers render them unsuitable for people with celiac disease.
    There's been some confusion about the best ways to measure gluten levels in fermented foods and beverages. That confusion has prompted more confusion over the methods used to remove gluten from beers brewed with traditional barley. Are such beers gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    Many barley-based beers crafted to remove gluten use proprietary precipitation and/or enzymes, such as prolyl endopeptidases (PEP), that break down the gluten molecules. When these beers are tested for gluten using using competitive ELISA, the industry standard, they often test under 20 mg/kg, which is deemed safe for people with celiac disease. But are those tests accurate? Do the products the 20 ppm standard for gluten-free?
    A team of researchers recently set out to assess such results using liquid chromatography–mass spectrometry analysis. The research team included Michelle L. Colgrave, Keren Byrne, and Crispin A. Howitt. They are affiliated with CSIRO Agriculture and Food in Australia.
    The team's analyses showed gluten peptides derived from hydrolyzed fragments, many >30 kDa in size. This may render gluten levels above 20 ppm in the final product. As expected, the team found various types of barley gluten in all conventional beers they analyzed. However, they also found gluten fragments in some gluten-removed beers.
    This indicates that gluten breakdown was incomplete in some commercial gluten-removed beers. Furthermore, the research team was able to spot the peptides that made up the unbroken gluten fragments. They suggest that these results may warrant further optimization of PEP gluten reduction methods in commercial settings. Since most manufacturers place a heavy premium on product quality, I would look for brewers to use this kind of information to improve their gluten-reduction processes going forward.
    We clearly need to learn more about the scope of the potential issue. These analyses were made using liquid chromatography and mass spectrometry. Because they make precise measurements of small amounts of things, they are not practical for analyzing commercial products. 
    So, we definitely need a better way to measure gluten levels in fermented products, since current methods can provide inaccurate results.
    What does this all mean for people with celiac disease?
    Obviously traditional beers beers with gluten levels over 20 ppm are best avoided. Gluten-free beers are likely fine. For celiacs who tolerate gluten-removed beers, there's little reason to change. If you have a favorite brand that works for you, that's likely okay.
    However, based on these findings, there is reason to be vigilant when trying a new gluten-removed beer.
    We advise people to follow their gut when consuming any product labeled gluten-free or gluten-reduced. As always, choose your products carefully. Even trusted products can change, or have something wrong with them from time to time. It's good practice to avoid any product seems to upset your stomach or trigger symptoms.
    Also, if you think a food labeled gluten-free is contaminated, by all means, report it to the FDA, and consider reporting it to the manufacturer.
    Lastly, it seems that manufacturers may want to take a closer look at their brewing process and their final product to be sure that gluten levels are under 20ppm.
    In the meantime, stay tuned for more developments on this and related stories.
    Source:
    J. Agric. Food Chem., Article ASAP. DOI: 10.1021/acs.jafc.7b03742


    Dr. Vikki Petersen D.C, C.C.N
    Celiac.com 02/22/2018 - I am writing this article hoping to help those who have been diagnosed with gluten intolerance but who are still not feeling well, as well as for those who need to be diagnosed or will be in the future.
    Just to clarify our terms, I use 'gluten intolerance' as an umbrella term to encompass both celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.
    I have the privilege of speaking with many individuals, on a weekly basis, who not only live in the locality of my clinic but also those who live across the United States and internationally. Just a few days ago I had phone consultations with individuals living in Shanghai, Philadelphia and Los Angeles.
    My clinic, HealthNOW Medical Center, is a destination clinic where we treat individuals who live at a distance as well as those who live nearby, hence these particular calls. As a result of doing such consultations and receiving responses to my lectures, books, blogs and videos, I have an opportunity to speak with many people and hear their stories.
    Frankly I often wish I had the ability to 'beam them up' utilizing the fictional technology from Star Trek—it would make travel logistics a piece of cake and I'd be able to help more people faster.
    Getting back to reality, I want to review the most common mistakes and misconceptions that I run into with people who are gluten intolerant. These miscues are resulting in ill health both currently and in the individual's future.
    Here's a list of 10:
    1. People who are pretty convinced of their sensitivity based on their own experimentation but who later abandon their own knowledge when a celiac test is negative.
    Discussion: Firstly, they should know that celiac testing is not highly sensitive. If it were, we would be diagnosing more than 5% of the celiacs in this country.
    Secondly, a negative celiac test is NOT an absolute indicator that one doesn't have the disease, it in no way tests for gluten sensitivity, a serious condition affecting likely fifteen times the number of people who have celiac disease.
    Finally, the gold standard test that we utilize here at HealthNow is one that has been established by other researchers to be quite reliable. It is the very test that this person is now ignoring. Namely, eliminating gluten for 30 days to see how you feel. A noticeable improvement in symptoms is a valid test.
    Too often I speak with people who are quite seriously ill. They have ignored, sometimes for years, something they knew to be the truth simply because an insensitive lab test didn't corroborate their own identification of gluten intolerance.
    Don't ignore the knowledge you possess about your body. If you need a lab test to affirm that knowledge, there's always genetic testing for both celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. Entero Labs has a good test for both.
    2. Some people discover they are gluten intolerant by self experimentation or by actually receiving a gluten sensitivity or celiac blood test that has positive results. Unfortunately some doctors have antiquated data regarding these diseases and believe that an intestinal biopsy is needed to confirm a diagnosis.
    Such doctors insist that their patients reintroduce gluten into their diet for a minimum of six weeks and then schedule an intestinal endoscopy and biopsy.
    Discussion: It was once thought that a biopsy was the 'gold standard' for celiac diagnosis. We now know that to be untrue. When I say 'we' I am referring to those in the field who research or who stay on the cutting edge of research. Unfortunately there are many doctors who are not in this category and their lack of current knowledge puts their patients at great risk.
    I cannot tell you how many times I have spoken with individuals who have reintroduced gluten into their diets, despite their knowledge of how sick it would make them, only to get extremely ill, sometimes for months. Worse still, some patients initiated an autoimmune disease due to the reintroduction that we couldn't completely reverse.
    I call reintroducing gluten 'Russian roulette'. Perhaps you can now appreciate why.
    One should NEVER EVER reintroduce gluten once they know they are sensitive to it, regardless of any test result. There is no test that is 'worth' risking your health over, especially not for a biopsy that is very poor at identifying the presence of non-classical celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.
    That brings up some new terminology:
    Classic celiac disease describes the disease as it was originally described as primarily digestive in nature, and associated with destruction of the lining of the small intestine. We now know, through research, that classical celiac forms a minority of celiac cases. Once again, these data are not well known in the medical community, which explains why we miss 95% of those who suffer from the disease.
    Gluten sensitivity is an intolerance to gluten that is not associated with the destruction of the lining of the small intestine but it creates inflammation through the immune system and creates many of the same diseases and symptoms associated with celiac disease. Conservative estimates of the incidence of gluten sensitivity put it at 15% of the population, making it much more prevalent than celiac disease. Assuming other factors, an intestinal biopsy would not be positive in an individual with gluten sensitivity.
    3. Individuals who try the gluten-free diet and find it difficult and decide to limit gluten instead of eliminating it, thinking that less gluten is bound to help.
    Discussion: Unfortunately, whether you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, gluten consumption requires a zero tolerance policy. I like to tell patients that consuming gluten is a qualitative factor not a quantitative one. In other words, ANY gluten is problematic.
    It does make intuitive sense that more of a toxic substance is bound to create greater harm than less, but with gluten intolerance that doesn't happen to be the case. It doesn't require much gluten to begin the cascade of inflammation that can create one of the more than 300 diseases and conditions associated with it.
    4. A person does not exemplify the classic symptoms of celiac disease (see point #2 above for a definition) and therefore gets no cooperation from their doctor for appropriate testing.
    Discussion: This scenario can result in many different repercussions. An individual can strongly suspect gluten intolerance based on observing their body's reactions to it, but due to the absence of classic digestive symptoms, their doctor refuses to test them and, worse yet, persuades them that gluten could not possibly be a problem!
    This one frustrates me because the person knows, without question, that gluten is the culprit but they allow a clinician who is operating from a dated knowledge base, to cause them to doubt themselves, and, as a result, the patient damages their health even further.
    I truly cannot tell you how often I hear such stories. These individuals feel completely adrift and helpless because they literally don't know where to turn for help. I'm glad when they find our clinic and we can validate what they know to be true and really get down to work to improve their health.
    5. There are some individuals who cannot 'feel' the effects of cheating and due to this they continue to cheat and eat gluten.
    Discussion: This is a tough one because it is human nature to avoid things that make us feel badly but it's more difficult if there are no obvious effects.
    Someone who has been diagnosed as gluten intolerant is having a reaction to gluten and it is shortening their lifespan and moving them closer to disease, each and every time they cheat.
    In the past, here at HealthNOW, we have used laboratory testing to 'show' patients that their immune system was registering their cheating and thereby (hopefully) convince them that damage is being caused.
    Fortunately a new lab test by Cyrex Labs is due to be released this summer (2012) that will go a step further. This test will reveal if an autoimmune disease is being created as a result of consuming gluten and what part of the body is being targeted.
    We may not 'feel' diseases in the making, so this test will be a wonderful asset to educating patients about what consequences they may be bringing on themselves as a result of their lax diet.
    6. Some people 'cheat' expecting something dramatic to occur within a few hours and when it doesn't they think they are okay to cheat occasionally.
    Discussion: This really is a point of poor education on the part of the doctor, their patient or both. We put in a lot of time with our patients to ensure that they understand that a reaction to gluten can occur within hours or days of ingesting it. We do our very best to ensure that patients understand that a headache or rash (as an example) that appears two days after a gluten 'cheat' is a reaction to that dietary indiscretion.
    We also strive to ensure that they understand that the damage goes way beyond the symptom that they feel. It goes deeper to the degree that they are likely creating a degenerative or autoimmune disease with their lax diet.
    7. I hear too many stories from people who actually received a positive blood test for celiac disease but who were then told by their doctor that the test was not 'for sure' and instead the doctor decided to concentrate on a different disease the patient had rather than prescribe a strict gluten-free diet.
    Discussion: The above may strike you as a little unbelievable. I only wish it was. I don't know if certain clinicians just don't feel comfortable asking their patients to follow a diet that they might not want to follow, or what exactly the issue is. But the above scenario has come up often.
    To add insult to injury the disease process that the doctor has decided to focus on rather than the celiac disease is often a disease CAUSED by gluten!
    I distinctly remember a young adult woman who was told by her endocrinologist that they were going to focus on her diabetes rather than her celiac disease because it would be 'too much' to address both. There is strong research evidence of the correlation between celiac disease and diabetes, not to mention the fact that untreated celiac disease is known to increase the risk of death from all causes.
    8. Individuals with known gluten intolerance let 'peer pressure' cause them to cheat.
    Discussion: You might think that I'm only talking about children here but I'm not. As a matter a fact I often find my younger patients to be quite disciplined. Adults, however, do at times suffer from 'not wanting to be different' or 'not wanting to be rude' and they solve their dilemma by cheating.
    My advice here is to explain to the person urging you to cheat that gluten is like rat poison to you. This works well for those people who say, "Come on, a little won't kill you…". Ask the person how they would feel if you offered them 'just a little' rat poison. Would they take it? After all, it's just a little.
    You get my point. I've been doing this for more than twenty years and patients report that this example does seem to communicate well to others. Feel free to utilize whatever talking points work best for you, but PLEASE, don't let peer pressure damage your good health.
    9. Some people have close relatives they know to have celiac disease or other autoimmune diseases and they don't get tested for gluten intolerance because they're 'afraid to find out' or they don't feel too badly or they just don't know about the strong correlation between gluten intolerance and autoimmune disease.
    Discussion: There's a saying that goes, "What you don't know can't hurt you." Unfortunately that's not true for people with gluten intolerance. Deciding not to get tested doesn't diminish or slow down gluten's degenerative effects.
    Gluten isn't something you can hide from. If gluten intolerance or autoimmune diseases are a part of your family tree I would strongly suggest that you get tested for both celiac disease and gluten sensitivity and if negative, confirm the accuracy or inaccuracy of that test result with a thirty day gluten elimination diet.
    It is that important that you know for sure that you are not part of the genetic predisposition that is present in your family tree.
    10. Patients eliminate gluten due to a diagnosis of gluten intolerance but after initially feeling much better, they begin to feel poorly again and don't know what to do to correct the problem.
    Discussion: This may be the last point on our list but it certainly is not the least important. In fact, when I'm talking with individuals who know they have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, this is one of the most common complaints I hear.
    Unfortunately the medical profession's sole treatment strategy for celiac disease is gluten avoidance, period. I wish that was enough, but for the vast majority of people it isn't.
    The secondary effects created by gluten intolerance do not remedy themselves when gluten is removed from the diet. Gluten has a devastating effect on the body's immune system and in order to normalize that immune system there are several factors that must be addressed, the most common of which follow:
    a. The presence of pathogenic (disease-causing) organisms. These can be bacteria, parasites, amoeba, etc., but they must be discovered and treated in order to remove excess stress from the immune system and to allow vital healing of the small intestine.
    b. An imbalance of the good bacteria or probiotic population in the small intestine. These probiotics (or microbiome) account for the strength of the immune system and supporting their restoration to a healthy, robust level is critical for the immune system as well as the prevention of disease.
    c. Cross-reactive foods can be part of the patient's diet and these foods can mimic the effects of gluten thereby preventing healing and causing gluten-related symptoms despite a gluten-free diet. These foods are often temporary irritants while the body is healing but we have found some patients who require permanent elimination of some of these foods.
    d. Hormonal imbalance created by the stress on the body that gluten creates is something that must be normalized through natural means in order to regain mental balance, increased energy levels and normalized weight, just to name a few.
    e. Toxic elements including heavy metals and poor detoxification abilities of the body are also a potential hurdle that needs to be overcome when restoring health to someone who is gluten intolerant.
    f. Enzyme and vitamin deficiencies should be evaluated and treated as they are discovered.
    Basically, the stress on the system that gluten has created must be diagnosed and remedied in order for the individual to regain optimal health.
    Addressing these secondary effects is not complicated. It takes the knowledge of what they are, how to correctly test for them and how to effectively treat them, but this is not difficult. The lack of widespread awareness of these factors results in many individuals continuing to suffer despite maintaining their gluten-free lifestyle.
    This just isn't fair and it's something I am passionate about remedying. I hope you found this helpful for yourself, a family member or a close friend. Feel free to contact me if you need assistance. I'm here to help and welcome you to give me a call for a free health analysis. Call 408-733-0400.


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/19/2018 - Maintaining a gluten-free diet can be an on-going challenge, especially when you factor in all the hidden or obscure gluten that can trip you up. In many cases, foods that are naturally gluten-free end up contain added gluten. Sometimes this can slip by us, and that when the suffering begins. To avoid suffering needlessly, be sure to keep a sharp eye on labels, and beware of added or hidden gluten, even in food labeled gluten-free.  Use Celiac.com's SAFE Gluten-Free Food List and UNSAFE Gluten-free Food List as a guide.
    Also, beware of these common mistakes that can ruin your gluten-free diet. Watch out for:
    Watch out for naturally gluten-free foods like rice and soy, that use gluten-based ingredients in processing. For example, many rice and soy beverages are made using barley enzymes, which can cause immune reactions in people with celiac disease. Be careful of bad advice from food store employees, who may be misinformed themselves. For example, many folks mistakenly believe that wheat-based grains like spelt or kamut are safe for celiacs. Be careful when taking advice. Beware of cross-contamination between food store bins selling raw flours and grains, often via the food scoops. Be careful to avoid wheat-bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter surface, etc. Watch out for hidden gluten in prescription drugs. Ask your pharmacist for help about anything you’re not sure about, or suspect might contain unwanted gluten. Watch out for hidden gluten in lotions, conditioners, shampoos, deodorants, creams and cosmetics, (primarily for those with dermatitis herpetaformis). If your child has celiac disease be sure to avoid Play-Doh because it contains wheat flour. Be careful about hidden gluten in toothpaste, lipstick and mouthwash. Be careful about common cereal ingredients, such as malt flavoring, or other non-gluten-free ingredient. Be extra careful when considering packaged mixes and sauces, including soy sauce, fish sauce, catsup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc., as many of these can contain wheat or wheat by-product in their manufacture. Be especially careful about gravy mixes, packets & canned soups. Even some brands of rice paper can contain gluten, so be careful. Lastly, watch out for foods like ice cream and yogurt, which are often gluten-free, but can also often contain added ingredients that can make them unsuitable for anyone on a gluten-free diet. Eating Out? If you eat out, consider that many restaurants use a shared grill or shared cooking oil for regular and gluten-free foods, so be careful. Also, watch for flour in otherwise gluten-free spices, as per above. Ask questions, and stay vigilant.


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/11/2018 - Halloween is upon us once again, and that means it’s time for Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list for 2018. This year, we’ve added candies to both the SAFE Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, and to our UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list. We’ve also added more manufacturer contact information to make getting answers to gluten-free questions easier.
    Taken together, we think it’s the best, most comprehensive and most up-to-date list of safe, gluten-free Halloween candies, and other candies to watch out for. 
    Below our SAFE, GLUTEN-FREE Halloween candy list, you will find a list of UNSAFE, NON–GLUTEN–FREE candies, along with a partial list of major candy makers, links to their company websites, and other resources.
    As always, Celiac.com strives to make the Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List as comprehensive as possible, please keep in mind that the list is by no means complete, or definitive, and should only be used as a guideline. 
    Before eating any candy on the list, always read labels, check manufacturer information, and choose according to your own sensitivity levels, or those of your children. Feel free to comment below if you see any issues, or if you'd like us to take note of any information you may have about a product.
    Lastly, manufacturer information can change. That means that a product this is safely gluten-free at one point may suddenly be made with gluten ingredients. The opposite is also true, as many manufacturers are doing what they can to make products gluten-free when possible. That means it’s important to read labels, and check manufacturer websites for information on changes to any specific products.
    As always, Celiac.com wishes you and your loved ones a safe and happy gluten-free Halloween 2018!
    Gluten-Free Halloween Candy 2018:
    3 Musketeers fun size 3 Musketeers Mint with dark chocolate A
    Act II Popcorn Balls Adams & Brooks Fun Pops Scooby Doo Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy Albert's Gummy Eyeballs Albert's Iced Halloween pops (lollipops) Alien Pop, Baseball Pop, Basketball Pop, Boo Pop, Carousel Pop, ColorBlaster Pop, Football Pop, Happy Heart Pop, Hoppin' Pop, Lickin' Lips Pop, Lolliday Pop, Lollinotes, Pop—A—Bear, Soccer Pop, Alien Glow Pop, Buggin' Glow Pop, Burstin Bits, and Ghostly Glow Pop Almond Joy — All Except ALMOND JOY PIECES Candy Almond Joy fun size bars Altoids (except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint) Amanda's Own Confections Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops Annie's Organic Bunny Fruit snacks Andes mints and candies Alter Eco Dark Twist Chocolate Bar Alter Eco Dark Truffle with Mint Filling Alter Eco Organic Salted Caramel Chocolate Truffle Alter Eco Organic Sea Salt Chocolate Truffle Alter Eco Salted Burnt Caramel Chocolate Bar Amella Agave Caramels Amella Carmel Bar with Roasted Almonds Amella Chocolate Fudge Caramels Amella Gingerbread Caramels Amella Gray Sea Salt, Milk Caramel Amella Gray Sea Salt, Dark Caramel Amella Naked Honey Gray Sea Salt Caramels Amella Naked Honey Salted Chocolate Caramels Amella Naked Honey Lavender Caramels Amella Naked Honey Vanilla Caramels Amella Naked Candy Cane Amella Peppermint Caramels Amella Roasted Almond Caramels Amella Siracha Original Spicy Caramels Amella Vegan Sea Salt Caramels Amella  Walnut Fudge Caramels Angell Crisp Candy Bar Dark Angell Candy Bar Snow Angell Candy Bar Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead B
    Baby Ruth original and fun size Barrels of Candy Bazooka Big Mix (includes bubble gum, bubble gum filled candy, candy chews, and bubble gum filled lollipops) Bazooka Ring Pops Bazooka Push Pops Bazooka Baby Bottle Pops Betty Crocker Fruit by the Foot Wicked Webs Berry Wave mini feet Betty Crocker Halloween fruit flavored snacks, including Fruit Gushers, Fruit Roll–ups, and Mini Rolls Bit•O•Honey Big Blow bubblegum Black Forest Gummy Tarantulas Black Forest Gummy Fun Bugs Juicy Oozers Black Forest Organic Berry Medley Organic Fruit Snacks Black Forest Organic Caramel Hard Candy Black Forest Organic Fruit Chews Black Forest Organic Gummy Bears Black Forest Organic Gummy Cherries Black Forest Organic Gummy Cola Black Forest Organic Gummy Exotic Fruits Black Forest Organic Gummy Soda Black Forest Organic Gummy Tea Black Forest Organic Gummy Worms Black Forest Organic Halloween Mix Black Forest Organic Lollipops Black Forest Organic Mixed Fruit Hard Candy Black Forest Organic Sour Heads Little Monsters Black Forest Organic Sour Watermelon Black Forest Organic Sour Heads Brookside Dark Chocolate Acai and Blueberry Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Blood Orange and Peach Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Chardonnay Grape and Peach Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Covered Almonds Brookside Dark Chocolate Covered Blueberries Brookside Dark Chocolate Covered Cranberries Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Blueberry with Açai Flavor and Other Natural Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cherry with Pomegranate Flavor and Other Natural Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cranberry with Blackberry Flavor and Other Natural Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Goji and Raspberry Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Mango and Mangosteen Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Merlot Grape and Black Current Flavors Brookside Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Flavor Brookside Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds Bubbly lollipop and gum Buckleberry Foods Chocolate Almond Butter Cups Buckleberry Foods Chocolate Mint Truffles Butterfinger bar, original and fun size C
    Cadbury Adams Swedish Fish Cadbury Adams Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme Candy Checkers (made for Target) Caramel Apple Pops (made by Tootsie Roll) Carmit Caramel clusters Carmit Gold Coins Carmit Raisin Clusters Cary's Of Oregon Coconut Toffee Bites Cary's Of Oregon Dark Chocolate Almond Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Dark Chocolate Coconut Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Dark Chocolate Espresso Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Milk Chocolate Coconut Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Milk Chocolate Vanilla Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Milk Chocolate Almond Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Milk Chocolate Chai Toffee Cary's Of Oregon Toffee Bites Cella's Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries Cella's Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries Charleston Chew original and fun size Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis—may contain milk or soy Charms Pops Charms Squares Charms Sour Balls Charms Super Blow Pops Charms Candy Carnival Package—Blow Pops, Sugar Babies, Zip a Dee mini pops, Sugar Daddy, Pops, Sugar Mama Caramel, Tear Jerkers sour bubble gum, Blow Pop Bubble Gum—may contain milk or soy Charms Fluffy Stuff Spider Web cotton candy Cherryhead Chewy Atomic Fireballs Chewy Lemonheads and Friends Child's Play Chocxo 37% Milk Chocolate Coconut and Almond Snaps Chocxo 37% Milk Chocolate Hazelnut Butter Cups Chocxo 37% Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Chocxo 37% Milk Chocolate Salted Peanut Snaps Chocxo 70% Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Butter Cups Chocxo 70% Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Chocxo Double Dark Hazelnut Quinoa Cup Chupa Chups Fruit Lollipops Circus Peanuts by Spangler Cliff—Fruit Rope, all flavors "gluten-free" Coastal Bay Confections Candy Corn, Mellocreme Pumpkins, Autumn Mix Colombina Scary Eyeballs bubblegum Colombina Fizzy Pops Comix Mix Candy Sticks—Tom and Jerry, Flintstones, Scooby Doo, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Popeye Cracker Jack caramel coated popcorn and peanuts Crispy Cat Mint Coconut Candy Bar Crispy Cat Toasted Almond Candy Bar Crispy Cat Chocolate Marshmallow Candy Bar Crows CVS Brand Candy Bracelet with Pendant D
    Dagoba Products—All Daggoba Chocolate products are gluten-free Disney Halloween Candy Mix—jelly beans, gummies, candy bracelets and characters from Cars, Tinkerbell and Toy Story Dots Gumdrops—including Candy Corn Dots, Ghost Dots, and Bat Dots Dove pieces—Dark Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate, Caramel Milk Chocolate Dream Almond Dark Chocolate Bar Dream Creamysweet Chocolate Bar Dream Pure Dark Dark Chocolate Bar Dream Raspberry Dark Chocolate Bar Dream Rice Crunch Chocolate Bar Dubble Bubble bubblegum Dum Dum Chewy Pops Dum Dum Lollipops (including Shrek Pops) E
    Enstrom Cappucino-Tiremisu Truffle Enstrom Cinnamon Truffle Enstrom Dark Chocolate Almond Belle Enstrom Dark Chocolate Almond Toffee Enstrom Dark Chocolate Almond Toffee Petites Enstrom Dark Chocolate Butter Toffee Enstrom Dark Chocolate Denver Mint Enstrom Dark Chocolate Espresso Belle Enstrom Dark Chocolate Espresso Toffee Enstrom Dark Chocolate Peanut Toffee Enstrom Dark Chocolate Peppermint Belle Enstrom Dark Chocolate Toffee Crumbs Enstrom Limoncello Truffle Enstrom Milk Chocolate Almond Toffee Enstrom Milk Chocolate Almond Toffee Petites Enstrom Milk Chocolate Butter Toffee Enstrom Milk Chocolate Denver Mint Enstrom Milk Chocolate Espresso Toffee Enstrom Milk Chocolate Mint Melt away Enstrom Milk Chocolate Peanut Toffee Enstrom Milk Chocolate Toffee Belle Enstrom Milk Chocolate Toffee Crumbs Enstrom Mint Melt away Truffle Enstrom Mixed Almond Toffee Petites Enstrom Peppermint Cookie Belle Enstrom Peppermint Truffle Enstrom Pumpkin Pie Spice Truffle Enstrom Sugar Free Milk Chocolate Almond Toffee F
    Farley's Kiddie Mix — Smarties, SweetTarts, Now and Later, Jaw Breakers, Super Bubble and Lolli—pops Ferrara Pan Caramels Ferrara Pan Lemonhead & Friends candy mix—including Applehead, Cherryhead, Grapehead, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireball, and Red Hots FLIX Spooky Lip Pops Lollipops, Angry Birds Lollipops, Gummy Boo Bands, Monsters, Inc. Character Candies, Lollipops and Marshmallow Eyeballs Florida's Natural Healthy Treats Nuggets, Sour String, Fruit Stiks Fright Fingers Popcorn Kit Frankford's Bugs Gummy Candy Frankford's Gummy Body Parts Frankford's Marshmallow Pals Frooties Fun Dip Fun Dip Sour G
    Game Night boxes of candy game pieces (includes Operation, Sorry!, Monopoly, Life, and Clue) Gimbal's Fine Candies Jelly Beans, Sour Lovers, Cherry Lovers, Cinnamon Lovers, Licorice Scotties Goldenberg's peanut chews Go Max Go Buccaneer Candy Bar Go Max Go Cleo's Candy Bar Go Max Go Mahalo Candy Bar Go Max Go Snap! Candy Bar Go Max Go Thumbs Up Candy Bar Go Max Go Twilight Candy Bar Goobers Go Picnic Sea Salt Caramel Lollipops Go Picnic Orbites Dark Chocolate and Tangerine Grave Gummies (Yummy Gummies) Greenbriar Skull and Bones Fruit Hard Candy, Spooky Lollipop Rings, Grave Gummies Gummy Brush Paint Shop Gummy Pirate Choppers H
    Harrison's Original Fruit Slices Harrison's Original Fruit Smiles Heath milk chocolate English toffee bar and snack size — contains almonds Hershey's Air Delight Hershey’s - Baking Bars Hershey’s Semi Sweet Baking Bar  Hershey’s Unsweetened Baking Bar Hershey’s and Reese's - Baking Chips Hershey’s Butterscotch Chips Hershey’s Cinnamon Baking Chips Mini Kisses Milk Chocolates Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Chips Hershey’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips Hershey’s Mint Chocolate Chips Hershey’s Premier White Chips Hershey’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Baking Chips Hershey’s Special Dark Mildly Sweet Dark Chocolate Chips Hershey’s Sugar Free Semi-Sweet Baking Chips Reese’s Peanut Butter Baking Chips Hershey’s - Cocoa Hershey’s Cocoa Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa Hershey’s Kisses Hershey’s Hugs Candy Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème Hershey’s Kisses Filled with Vanilla Crème Hershey’s Kisses Dark Chocolate Filled with Mint Truffle Hershey’s Kisses Pumpkin Spice Flavored Candies Hershey’s Kisses Carrot Cake Flavores Candies Hershey’s Kisses Meltaway Milk Chocolates Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Hershey’s Kisses Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate Hershey’s Kisses Deluxe Chocolates Hershey’s Nuggets Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolates Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55oz only) Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds (1.45oz only) Hershey’s Milk Duds – All Hershey’s Spreads – All Except Hershey’s Chocolate Spread with Snacksters Graham Dippers Hershey’s and Reese's Toppings Hot Tamales Hot Tamales Spray Hubba Bubba Gum Humphrey Popcorn Balls I
    Ice Cream Dipper (Blue Raspberry, Strawberry) J
    Jelly Belly beans—gluten–free, dairy–free Jolly Rancher hard candy and Doubles Candy Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Stix, Lollipops and Fruit Chews Jujy’s Junior Caramels Junior Mints Just Born Jelly Beans Just Born marshmallow treats Justin's Nut Butters dark chocolate peanut butter cups Justin's Nut Butters milk chocolate peanut butter cups Justin's Nut Butters white chocolate peanut butter cups Justin's Nut Butters mini dark chocolate peanut butter cups Justin's Nut Butters mini milk chocolate peanut butter cups K
    KatySweet Chocolate Dipped Strawberries KatySweet Pecan Fudge KatySweet Plain Fudge KatySweet Raspberry Lemon Almond Bark KatySweet Walnut Fudge Kellogg's Spongebob Squarepants fruit flavored snacks Kenny's Green Apple Rings Kenny's Gummi Bears Kenny's Peach Rings Kenny's Sour Gummi Bears Kenny's Sour Gummi Worms Kenny's Sour Neon Gummi Worms Kenny's Watermelon Rings Kinder Surprise Eggs Kraft Caramels Kraft Jet–Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows Kraft Swedish Fish Kraft Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme L
    Laffy Taffy Plain, Stretchy & Tangy and Rope Lemonheads Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts Tropical Chewy Lemonhead Chewy Lemonhead & Friends Berry Chewy Lemonhead Lifesavers LifeSavers Gummies including Big Ring Gummies, Sweet 'n' Sour, and Scary Assortment Lily's Sweets 40% Original Creamy Milk Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 40% Salted Almond Creamy Milk Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 55% Almond Dark Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 55% Coconut Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 55% Crispy Rice Dark Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 55% Dark Chocolate Bar with Cinnamon Lily's Sweets 55% Original Dark Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 70% Original Dark Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 70% Blood Orange Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 70% Candy Cane Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 70% Chipotle Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets 70% Sea Salt Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets Creamy Milk and Hazelnut Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets Milk and Gingerbread Chocolate Bar Lily's Sweets Original Double Chocolate Crunch Bar Lily's Sweets Sour Cherry Double Chocolate Crunch Bar Lollipop Paint Shop Lovely Bananas Foster Lovely Black Licorice Lovely Caramel Apple Lovely Cashmels Lovely Chocolate Peppermint Lovely Chocolate Cherry Lovely Chewy Original Caramels Lovely Chocolate Swirl Caramels Lovely Fudgee Roll Lovely Fudgee Roll Raspberry Lovely Fruit Chews Lovely Halloween Cherry Licorice Lovely Halloween Juicy Chew Lovely Hula Chew Lovely Juicy Chew Original Lovely Juicy Chew Tropical Lovely Pumpkin Spice Lovely Salted Caramel Lovely Super fruit Chews M
    M&M's—original, peanut, peanut butter Manischewitz Fruit Slices Mars M&M's—except pretzel M&M's Mars Dove chocolate products (all flavors EXCEPT for milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream, and some holiday varieties, such as milk chocolate truffles) Mars Munch Nut bar Mars Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, fun size and mini's—may contain almonds Mary Janes Mallo Cup Marvel Heroes Candy Sticks (Hulk, Spiderman, Wolverine) Mega Warheads Melster Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Melster Peanut Butter Kisses Melster Compound-Coated Marshmallow  Melster Chocolate-Covered Creme Drops  Melster Compound Coated Creme Drops  Melster Salt Water Taffy  Melster Peanut Butter Kisses   Melster Circus Peanuts  Melster Sanded Marshmallow   Melster Coconut Toasties  Milk Duds Milky Way Midnight Bar (not the original Milky Way Bar)
    Milky Way Caramel Bar Mike and Ike Mike and Ike Spray Mini Mentos Mini Sour Dudes Straws Monstaz Pops (jack–o–lantern lollipops) Monster Hunt plastic monster eggs filled with candy bones, skulls and pumpkins (made for Target) Mounds Bars – All Mounds dark chocolate fun size bars  N
    Necco's Sky Bar 4 in 1 chocolate bar Necco Wafers Necco Mary Janes Necco Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses—does contain peanuts Necco Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine's Day only) Necco Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges Necco Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix Necco Clark Bars Necco Skybars Necco Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties Necco Candy Eggs Necco Talking Pumpkins (available at Halloween only) Necco Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers Necco Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews Necco Ultramints Nestle Milk Chocolate fun size bars Nestle Baby Ruth Nestle Bit–O–Honey Nestle Butterfinger (NOT Butterfinger Crisp or Butterfinger Stixx) Nestle Goobers—does contain peanuts Nestle Nips (both regular and sugar–free) Nestle Oh Henry! Nestle Raisinets—made on equipment that processes peanuts Nestle Sno–Caps Nestle Toll House morsels and chunks (only if labeled gluten-free) Nestle Wonka Pixy Stix Nestle Wonka Laffy Taffy Nestle Wonka Lik–M–Aid Fun Dip Nestle Wonka Spree Nik—L—Nip wax bottles with juice Now and Later O
    Oh Henry! Operation Gummy Candy P
    Palmer Peanut Butter Cups—does contain peanuts Payday Candy – All Peanut M&M's Pearson's Bun candy—maple and roasted peanuts Pearson's Mint Patties, Pearson's Nut Goodies Pearson's Salted Nut Rolls Peeps Jack–O–Lanterns, Marshmallow Pumpkins, Marshmallow Ghosts, Marshmallow Tombstones, Chocolate Mousse Cats, Milk Chocolate Covered Pumpkins, Dark Chocolate Covered Pumpkins, and Milk Chocolate Dipped Orange Chicks—"Gluten Free" Pez candy—All PEZ products are "Gluten Free" Pop Rocks Popcorn Expressions Kettle Corn Snack Bags Pixie Stix Pure Fun Halloween Pure Pops R
    Rain Blo Bubble Gum Eyes of Terror Raisinets Razzles candy gum Red Bird Assorted Puffs Red Bird Dark Chocolate Peppermint Mini Red Bird Cinnamon Puffs Red Bird Cinnamon Sticks Red Bird Citrus Puffs Red Bird Cream Penny Sticks Red Bird Lemon minis Red Bird Lemon Sticks Red Bird Peppermint Puffs Red Bird Peppermint Sticks Red Hots Reese's Fast Break candy bars and snack size Reese’s Nutrageous Bar Reese's Peanut Butter Cups snack size and miniatures—Except Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped Items Reese's Pieces Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped Items Reese’s Pieces Candy - All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs Reese’s Spreads – All Except Reese’s Spreads with Snacksters Graham Dippers Reese's Select Peanut Butter Cremes Reese's Select Clusters Reese's Whipps Riviera Spooky Candy Rings Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – All Except Rolo Minis Rolo chocolate covered caramels—Except ROLO Minis Russell Stover Salt Water Taffy Russell Stover Candy Corn Taffy Russell Stover Caramel Apple Taffy S
    Scharffen Berger Products – All Except Scharffen Berger Cocoa Powder Sidewalk Chalk Sixlets Skeleton Pops (lollipops) Skittles includes Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Fizzl'd Fruits, and Crazy Core, including fun—size Smarties—(the small pastel–colored candies sold in rolls and made by Ce De). Also Candy Money, Candy Necklace, Easter Smarties, Giant Smarties, Giant Smarties Pops, Love Hearts, Mega Smarties, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Parties, Smarties Pops, and X—TREME Sour Smarties. Manufacturer states: These products contains NO: gluten, milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soy. (US only, NOT gluten-free in Canada). Skor Toffee Bars - All Snickers Bars (all flavors) Snickers Fudge bar Sno—Caps Sno—Cone Soda Pop So Delicious Dairy Free Coconut Milk Candy Corn So Delicious Dairy Free Coconut Milk Peppermint Star Sour Patch Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings) Starburst Fruit Chews and fun—size Starburst Gummibursts and Sour Gummibursts Stonyfield Organic Mixed Berry Fruit Snacks Stonyfield Organic Strawberry Fruit Snacks Sugar Babies Sugar Daddy Caramel Pops Sugar Mama Caramels Super Bubble bubble gum Surf Sweets Gummy Worms Surf Sweets Gummy Swirls Surf Sweets Gummy Bears Surf SweetsFruity Bears Surf Sweets Jelly Beans Surf Sweets Sour Worms Surf Sweets Sour Berry Bears Swedish Fish Sweet's All American Mint Taffy Sweet's Apple Fruit Sours Sweet's Banana Taffy Sweet's Black Licorice Taffy Sweet's Blue Raspberry Taffy Sweet's Bubble Gum Taffy Sweet's Buttered Popcorn Taffy Sweet's Candy Cane Taffy Sweet's Candy Corn Sweet's Candy Corn Taffy Sweet's Caramel Apple Taffy Sweet's Caramel Taffy Sweet's Cherry Cola Taffy Sweet's Cherry Fruit Sours Sweet's Cherry Hearts Sweet's Cherry Taffy Sweet's Chocolate Bridge Mix Sweet's Chocolate Cinnamon Bears Sweet's Chocolate Hazelnut taffy Sweet's Chocolate Peanut Clusters Sweet's Chocolate Peanuts Sweet's Chocolate Raisins Sweet's Chocolate Taffy Sweet's Chocolate Wonder Mints Sweet's Cinnamon Bears Sweet's Cinnamon Bunnies Sweet's Cinnamon Hearts Sweet's Cinnamon Lips Sweet's Cinnamon Santa's Sweet's Cinnamon Squares Sweet's Cinnamon Taffy Sweet's Cookie Dough Taffy Sweet's Cotton Candy Taffy Sweet's Egg Nog Taffy Sweet's Fish Sweet's Fruit Slices Sweet's Fruit Sours Sweet's Grape Fruit Sours Sweet's Guava Taffy Sweet's Gum Drops Sweet's Holiday Trees Sweet's Honey Taffy Sweet's Hot Shots Sweet's Huckleberry Taffy Sweet's Jelly Beans Sweet's Jelly Beans Sweet's Key Lime Taffy Sweet's Key lime Taffy Sweet's Lemon Fruit Sours Sweet's Marshmallow Bears Sweet's Natural Fish Sweet's Natural Lemonade rings Sweet's Natural Nummy Bears Sweet's Natural Sour Worms Sweet's Neapolitan Taffy Sweet's Orange Dark chocolate Jewels Sweet's Orange Milk chocolate Jewels Sweet's Orange Slices Sweet's Orange Slices Sweet's Orange Sticks Sweet's Orange/Vanilla Taffy Sweet's Peach Taffy Sweet's Peanut Clusters (available in both milk and dark chocolate) Sweet's Peppermint Taffy Sweet's Pink Grapefruit Sours Sweet's Raspberry Dark Chocolate Jewels Sweet's Raspberry Milk Chocolate Jewels Sweet's Raspberry Sticks Sweet's Raspberry Taffy Sweet's Red and Green fruit Sours Sweet's Red Licorice Taffy Sweet's Root Beer Taffy Sweet's Rum Taffy Sweet's S'more's Taffy Sweet's Scandinavian Swimmers Sweet's Sour Bunnies Sweet's Sour Stars Sweet's Sour Stars Sweet's Strawberry and Banana Taffy Sweet's Strawberry and Crème Taffy Sweet's Strawberry Taffy Sweet's Sugar free Cinnamon Bear cubbies Sweet's Sweet's Candy Pebbles Sweet's Vanilla Taffy Sweet's Watermelon Taffy Sweet's Wild berry Taffy Sweet's Wonder mints Sweethearts conversation hearts Forbidden Fruits (candy packaging of The Twilight Saga, New Moon the movie) Sweet's Candy Corn Taffy T
    Tasty Brand Fruit Gummies- Citrus Splash Tasty Brand Fruit Gummies- Smoothie Tasty Brand Fruit Gummies- Super fruit Tasty Brand Organic Fruit Snacks- Citrus Splash Tasty Brand Organic Fruit Snacks- Mixed Fruit Tasty Brand Organic Fruit Snacks- Scary Berry Tasty Brand Organic Fruit Snacks- Smoothie Tasty Brand Organic Fruit Snacks- Spooky Tasty Brand Organic Fruit Snacks- Super fruit Tasty Brand Organic Fruit Snacks- Wild Berry Tic Tacs Tootsie Caramel Apple Pops Tootsie Pops—original and mini Tootsie Fruit Rolls Tootsie Peppermint Pops Tootsie Rolls Tropical Dots Tootsie Rolls Midgies and snack bars Topps — Baby Bottle Pop, Ring Pops, Push Pops, Ring Pop Gummies, Bazooka Gum, Bazooka Gum Nuggets Trader Joe's Citrus Gum Drops Trader Joe's Mango Taffy Trader Joe's Sour Gummies Transformers Candy Mix—gummy shields, fruit chews, candy shields, gum rocks Tropical Stormz Pops TruJoy Fruit Chews TruJoy Organic Choco Chews TruSweet Jelly Beans TruSweet Gummy Bears TruSweet Fruity Hearts TruSweet Fruity Bears TruSweet Gummy Worms TruSweet Sour Worms TruSweet Sour Berry Bears TruSweet Watermelon Rings TruSweet Peach Rings TruSweet Spring Mix Jelly Beans TruSweet Spooky Spiders TruSweet Organic Fruity Bears TruSweet Organic Fruity Hearts TruSweet Organic Jelly Beans TruSweet Organic Peach Rings TruSweet Organic Watermelon Rings Twist and Glow, Twist and Glow Heart, Twist and Glow Pumpkin Two Moms in the Raw Gluten Free Almond Butter Cacao Truffles Two Moms in the Raw Almond Butter Cayenne Truffles Two Moms in the Raw Almond Butter Green Tea Vanilla Truffles U
    Unreal Halloween Treats Unreal Dark Chocolate Almond Butter Cups Unreal Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Unreal Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups with Coconut Unreal Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups with Crispy Quinoa Unreal Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups Unreal Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups with Crispy Quinoa V
    Vosges Haut Chocolate Bacon Dark Chocolate Bar Vosges Haut Chocolate Coconut & Cherry Caramel Bar Vosges Haut Chocolate Crispy Carrot Bar W
    Warheads Extreme Sour hard candy and Sour QBZ chewy cubes Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes Warheads Super Sour Spray, Sour Dippers, Double Drops Welches Fruit Snacks—All flavors Wild Ophelia Peanut Butter Banana Cup Wild Ophelia Peanut Butter and Cherry Cup Wild Ophelia Peanut Butter and Toasted Coconut Cup Wild Ophelia Peanut Butter and Smoked Salt Cup Wonka Bottlecaps Wonka Chocolate Laffy Taffy Wonka Giant Chewy Nerds Jelly Beans Wonka Giant Pixy Stix Wonka Gobstopper Everlasting Wonka Gobstopper Chewy Wonka Fruit Tart Chews Wonka Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour Wonka Laffy Taffy Ropes Wonka Mix–Ups Wonka Monster Mix–Ups—SweetTarts Skulls and Bones, Spooky Nerds, Howlin' Laffy Taffy Wonka Nerds—carry a cross contamination warning on the Spooky Nerds orange and fruit punch flavors Wonka Pixy Stix Wrigley's Gum Wrigley’s Creme Savers X
    X–scream Mouth Morphers Fruit Gushers Y
    York Peppermint Patties - All Except York Pieces Candy, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)s YumEarth Organic Fruit Snacks YumEarth Gummy Fruits Z
    Zed Candy Skulls and Bones Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
    With all these selections, finding some good, gluten–free candy should be a snap. As always, be sure to read labels, as some ingredients can vary.
    **WARNING! THESE UNSAFE CANDIES CONTAIN OR MAY CONTAIN GLUTEN:
    AIRHEADS Packaging states that Airheads are: "Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour." Airheads.com FAQs state that: "Airheads do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour, so the company does not guarantee that Airheads are gluten-free. Airheads Xtremes Rolls contains wheat flour ALTOIDS Contain gluten as wheat maltodextrin ANNABELLE'S Abba Zabba—contains: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin, wheat/gluten Big Hunk—Package statement: "made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts" Look—Contains: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs, wheat/gluten Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark—Contain wheat/gluten Uno—Contains: milk, almonds, soy lecithin, wheat/gluten AMERICAN LICORICE CO. Sour Punch Sticks, Twists, Bits, Bites, Straws—contains wheat/gluten Red Vines—all varieties and flavors contain wheat/gluten BEE INTERNATIONAL Zombee Bloody Bites (glow in the dark plastic fangs with oozing candy blood bags) Zombee Candy Corn (in a tall tube with plastic pumpkin lid) Package statement: "Made in a facility that also processes milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts." BRACH'S All Brach's candy should be considered NOT gluten–free! Please be careful, as I have seen Brach's candies included on gluten-free safe lists! Brach's Candy Corn, Brach's Jelly Bean Nougats, and Brach's Halloween Mellowcremes ARE all processed in a facility that processes wheat. CADBURY ADAMS Sour Patch Xploderz CHUCKLES Chuckles Ju Jubes CVS Candy Corn, Autumn Mix, Candy Pumpkins Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts Package statement: "This product was packaged in a facility where other products containing peanuts, tree nuts, milk, wheat, soy and egg are also packaged." DOVE CHOCOLATE  Milk chocolate cinnamon graham/cookies and cream, and some holiday varieties, such as milk chocolate truffles FARLEY'S AND SATHERS Harvest Mix and Candy Corn—This product is made by Brach's. All Brach's candies are considered to contain gluten. See Brach's listings. Heide candies—Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Red Raspberry Dollars, Red Hot Dollars Wild Cherry, Heide Gummi Bears Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers "Packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein." FERRERO Ferrero Rocher Chocolates FLIX Bag of Boogers Gummies — "Manufactured in a facility that processes gluten (wheat), milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and soy." FRANKFORD Frankford Fun Size Mix (Peanut Butter, Caramel and Crispy Chocolate Covered Candies) Crispy Candies SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties GOETZE Goetze's Caramel Creams, Cow Tales—Contain wheat flour, milk, and soy HARIBO Bears (the package now says: Dextrose - wheat or corn) Black Licorice Wheels Brixx Clark Bars Fruity Pasta Konfekt and Pontefract Cakes Red Licorice Wheels Sour S'ghetti HERSHEY Hershey Snack Sized Bars — ALL Kit Kat—contains wheat Mr. Goodbar Reese's Minis Reese's Peanut Butter Pumpkins Reese's Seasonal Rolo Minis Twizzlers—contains wheat Whoppers—contains barley malt and wheat flour Hershey's Bliss (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Meltaway Center, White Chocolate with Meltaway Center, Milk Chocolate with Raspberry Meltaway Center, Dark Chocolate)—No gluten ingredients, but not on Hershey's official gluten-free list. Hershey's Special Dark Bar (note that this is confusing, since several other Special Dark products are considered gluten-free, so make sure you know what you're buying) Hershey's Cookies 'N' Creme Bar Hershey's Milk Chocolate Drops Hershey's Miniatures (any flavor, including flavors that are considered gluten-free in larger sizes) Mr. Goodbar Symphony Bar Hershey's Extra Dark Chocolate Hershey's Kisses that do not appear on the gluten-free list above Hershey's Good & Plenty Hershey's Mr. Goodbar fun size Hershey's Twizzlers, Flavored Twists IMPACT CONFECTIONS Warheads Sour Twists—contain wheat/gluten, milk Warheads Sour Jelly Beans—made in facility shared with wheat, peanuts, milk, egg and soy Warheads Sour Candy Canes—contain soy; made in facility shared with wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, milk, egg, and soy Warheads Sour Coolers—contains oat fiber MARS and WRIGLEY Mars Bar Mars Combos (a snack mix) M&M White Chocolate, Mint and M&M Coconut flavors—Check individual packages to be sure M&M Pretzel flavor and some M&M seasonal flavors Milky Way—contains barley malt Twix—contains wheat NESTLE Butterfinger Crisp or Butterfinger Stixx—contains wheat flour Butterfinger Giant Bar Butterfinger Hearts Butterfinger Jingles Butterfinger Medallions Butterfinger Pumpkins Butterfinger Snackerz Butterfinger Stixx Chewy Spree Crunch—contains barley malt Everlasting Gobstopper Hundred Grand Bar—contains barley malt Kit Kat Bar 100 Grand Bar—contains barley malt Sweetarts—Contain both maltodextrin and dextrin, which can be made from wheat and barley, and are not listed on Nestle’s gluten-free candy list) Wonka Bar (all flavors) Wonka Gummies Wonka Kazoozles Wonka Nerds Wonka Oompas and the Wonka Bar are NOT gluten–free. Wonka Oompas and the Wonka Bar are NOT gluten–free. NEWMAN'S OWN Organic Dark Chocolate & Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups (Made on equipment that processes products containing peanuts, tree nuts, milk, wheat, soybean and egg products.) PALMER Palmer Bag of Boo's fudge bars Palmer Tricky Treats (mix of Googley Eyes, Boneheads, and Pumpkin Patch chocolate candies) Palmer Trick or Treat Mix Palmer Peppermint Patties RUSSELL STOVER'S—Russell Stover's products are produced on equipment that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat gluten. YORK York Pieces, York Minis and York Shapes WONKA Wonka Bar Wonka Chewy Runts Wonka Chewy Spree Wonka Giant and Mini Chewy SweeTarts Wonka Nerds Wonka Oompas Wonka Runts Wonka Runts Chewy Wonka SweetTarts Wonka Sweetarts (regular) Wonka Sweetarts Chew Wonka Sweetarts Chewy Twists Wonka Sweetarts Giant Chewy Wonka Sweetarts Mini Chewy Wonka Shockers Wonka Sweetarts Gummy Bugs—contains wheat/gluten Wonka Sweetarts Rope—contains wheat/gluten Wonka Sweetarts Shockers Wonka Tart N Tinys Wonka Tart N Tinys Chew Wonka SweetTarts Boo Bag Mix Additional information and lists of gluten-free safe and unsafe Halloween candies can be found at:
    About.com Celiac.com Celiaccentral.com CeliacSupportAssociation.org Celiacfamily.com DivineCaroline.com Foodallergyfeast Glutenawayblog.com Glutenfreefacts Gluten Intolerance Group Medpedia Surefoodliving.com Urbantastebud.com Verywellfit.com Here is a partial list of major candy manufacturers and how to contact them:
    Adams & Brooks American Licorice Co. BEE International  Ferrara Candy Company  Ferrero Rocher  FLIX  Gimbal's Fine Candies  Goetze's Candy Company  Hershey's. Here's a link to Hershey's official gluten-free list. Impact Confections  Jelly Belly Just Born. Here's a link to Just Born Gluten-free FAQs Justin’s Nut Butters products are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, which requires products to have less than 10 parts per million of gluten in them. Kraft Foods Mars Chocolate Necco  Nestle USA Palmer Pearson's PEZ  Pop Rocks  Tootsie Roll —Tootsie Roll Industries, which also makes Charms products, says that, as of fall 2018, all of the company's confections are considered gluten-free except Andes cookies. "Tootsie does not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components, either as ingredients or as part of the manufacturing process. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process," the company says.


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...