Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

vampella

Modified Corn Starch

Recommended Posts

I made rice crispy squares (gluten-free rice cereal) for my 3 1/2 year old Emmah and I used marshmellow that said modified corn starch...IS THAT BAD? Did I give her gluten by accident. OMG.

I wouldn't have ever relised it until I was reading a tread and the one lady said to watch out for mashmellows.


Char

Emmah 4 years- Celiac , gluten-free October 2006

Leigh-Ann 7 Years- Gluten lite

Gary- possible celiac

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


vampella,

make sure you check out the lists of safe and forbidden ingredients on celiac.com. it should help you out!

but yes, modified corn starch is safe for celiacs!

laura

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

modified corn starch is made from corn. the one you have to worry about is modified food starch (unlabled 'food starch') but that, these days, should have a "contains wheat" statement in some fashion or another on the label due to the labeling laws.


Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"

Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy

G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004

Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me

Bellevue, WA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites