Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mally-bug

Maltodextrim

Recommended Posts

Maltodextrin --- I thought it was ok, but I just read an article that it contains hidden gluten? Anybody know?


gluten free since 7-07 with positive dietary response

Enterolab results positive for gluten sensitivity

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Maltodextrin --- I thought it was ok, but I just read an article that it contains hidden gluten? Anybody know?

Maltodextrin is the US is generally derived from corn. Any wheat would, by law, be required to be disclosed as "Maltdextrin (wheat)." It would be highly unusual to contain any other form of gluten.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Maltodextrin --- I thought it was ok, but I just read an article that it contains hidden gluten? Anybody know?

According to my research, if the product is made in the US, then there is no gluten. From other countries there may be gluten.


~~Lisa~~

"The greater the obstacle, the more glory in overcoming it."--Moliere

"I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be."--Douglas Adams

Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!--Amanda

_________________

gluten-free since 1/08

happy%20dance%20penguin.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The relevant US regulation is:

USA Code of Federal Regulations

Sec. 184.1444 Maltodextrin

CAS Reg. No. 9050-36-6. It is a nonsweet nutritive saccharide polymer that consists of D-

glucose units linked primarily by [alpha]-1-4 bonds and has a dextrose equivalent (DE) of less

than 20. It is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of

cornstarch, potato starch or rice starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes.

Note: FDA also permits the use of other starches including wheat. For example, if wheat is used

it must be labeled "wheat maltodextrin".

In Canada, it can also be taken as a given that maltodextrin, when appearing as that single word, is safe.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi, So just hypothetically, if a major food producer bought a ton of maltodextrin from China and used it to process foods in Texas which were then sold in the US with only maltodextrin listed and no wheat or other allergens listed, would it be legal by current laws?

I know it is supposed to be listed but is that limited to maltodextrin produced and used in the US?

I've always been paranoid about it since I ate something once and that was the only questionable ingredient. Have never eaten anything with maltodextrin again since, although it was from the US and not marked with allergens other than soy, It made me really ill.

My feeling is that this is a gray area when it comes to buying things from overseas.

Ken

Maltodextrin is the US is generally derived from corn. Any wheat would, by law, be required to be disclosed as "Maltdextrin (wheat)." It would be highly unusual to contain any other form of gluten.

"Ryo tatereba mi ga tatanu"

If we try to serve both sides, we cannot stand our own ground.

Japanese proverb

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In both the US and Canada, the country of origin of any or all of the ingredients makes no difference to the labeling laws. The label must conform to the rules of the country where the product is sold at retail. So your hypothetical case would be illegal.

Here in Canada, I have seen a number of imported products with a Canadian label attached over top of the original one for the ingredients and nutritional facts.

Of course, if a foreign supplier represented to the manufacturer that it was maltodextrin from corn when in fact it was not, that would be fraud.

In nearly eight years on the diet, I have never worried about maltodextrin, and have not had a problem.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Pete,

I'll have to give it a try again one of these days. Since much of my work revolves around the fresh produce industry the regulations are much different. We keep pushing for laws in the US that would require labeling of country of origin, GMO and irradiation. None of it is required now.

Thanks again

Ken

In both the US and Canada, the country of origin of any or all of the ingredients makes no difference to the labeling laws. The label must conform to the rules of the country where the product is sold at retail. So your hypothetical case would be illegal.

Here in Canada, I have seen a number of imported products with a Canadian label attached over top of the original one for the ingredients and nutritional facts.

Of course, if a foreign supplier represented to the manufacturer that it was maltodextrin from corn when in fact it was not, that would be fraud.

In nearly eight years on the diet, I have never worried about maltodextrin, and have not had a problem.


"Ryo tatereba mi ga tatanu"

If we try to serve both sides, we cannot stand our own ground.

Japanese proverb

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

B)

I won't eat anything with Maltodextrin in it... just my choice.


Collette

Positive Bloodwork Oct 1st 2007. Gluten-free 3 YEARS Oct 1st!

Dairy & Soy free since Dec 1st 2007.

Potato free since January 3rd 2008.

Remaining Nightshades since April 1st 2008. Back on September 2010. :)

Developed Rice & Tapioca & Corn Intolerances...

NO Carageenan.

In a constant state of evolution... sending love! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I cant figure out why they put so much junk into things.. Its scary to read an ice cream label! Maltodextrin and carrengen are in everything!

take care

B)

I won't eat anything with Maltodextrin in it... just my choice.


"Ryo tatereba mi ga tatanu"

If we try to serve both sides, we cannot stand our own ground.

Japanese proverb

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ken I found a few Haagen-Dazs without... (before I went back off dairy ;) one is the light version- Pineapple-Coconut all natural ingredients, and it's really delicious. I stick with their Sorbets now :)

Momma Goose I am not sure, I don't eat MSG either! LOL! :lol:

Be well everyone! :)


Collette

Positive Bloodwork Oct 1st 2007. Gluten-free 3 YEARS Oct 1st!

Dairy & Soy free since Dec 1st 2007.

Potato free since January 3rd 2008.

Remaining Nightshades since April 1st 2008. Back on September 2010. :)

Developed Rice & Tapioca & Corn Intolerances...

NO Carageenan.

In a constant state of evolution... sending love! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, good to know -- I need to stay away from ice cream for awhile l-- not because dairy as much as weight.

It will be 2 years of being gluten-free next week. My waist is smaller than it was but my stomach bigger than ever. With the last test I had no problem with dairy, soy or others but guess I should get tested again -- after I get back from Italy!

take care!

Ken I found a few Haagen-Dazs without... (before I went back off dairy ;) one is the light version- Pineapple-Coconut all natural ingredients, and it's really delicious. I stick with their Sorbets now :)

Momma Goose I am not sure, I don't eat MSG either! LOL! :lol:

Be well everyone! :)


"Ryo tatereba mi ga tatanu"

If we try to serve both sides, we cannot stand our own ground.

Japanese proverb

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks, good to know -- I need to stay away from ice cream for awhile l-- not because dairy as much as weight.

It will be 2 years of being gluten-free next week. My waist is smaller than it was but my stomach bigger than ever. With the last test I had no problem with dairy, soy or others but guess I should get tested again -- after I get back from Italy!

take care!

AWESOME you don't have to avoid Soy or Dairy... that is a blessing B)

Have fun in Italy :)


Collette

Positive Bloodwork Oct 1st 2007. Gluten-free 3 YEARS Oct 1st!

Dairy & Soy free since Dec 1st 2007.

Potato free since January 3rd 2008.

Remaining Nightshades since April 1st 2008. Back on September 2010. :)

Developed Rice & Tapioca & Corn Intolerances...

NO Carageenan.

In a constant state of evolution... sending love! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wondered about that too. Thanks

donna


Fecal Antigliadin IgA 21 (Normal Range <10 Units)

Fecal Antitissue Transglutaminase IgA 13 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

Quantitative Microscopic Fecal Fat Score <300 Units (Normal Range <300 Units)

Fecal anti-casein (cow's milk) IgA antibody 12 Units (Normal Range <10 Units)

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0501

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0501

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 1,1 (Subtype 5,5)

You can teach an old dog new tricks!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites