Jump to content
  • Sign Up
1 1
azagave

Gatorade- The Final Verdict!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Below is the question I sent Gatorade. I was hoping they are gluten-free but alas its a "use at your own risk" category.

Q: My question refers to ALL Gatorade. I noticed some of the flavors/varieties have ''modified food starch''. Can you tell me the source of that? Also if you use any Vitamin E- can you tell me the source. Do you use any oats, barley, rye, spelt, etc? I am a celiac and need to know as I can not have any gluten. Yes- saw the statement on gluten but you only referred to wheat...it's also in oats, barley, malt, spelt, rye, etc. as well as wheat. Please let me know ASAP! Thanks!!

A: Thanks for reaching out to us for more information. There's no gluten used to make any of our Gatorade Thirst Quenchers. However, until the FDA comes out with a final definition of "Gluten Free", we're not claiming any flavors or varieties to be gluten free.

The modified food starch used in some flavors is derived solely from corn; which, as you may know, could have been grown, harvested, or stored in bulk with other gluten-containing grains (like wheat, rye, barley, etc.) and thus may contain trace amounts of gluten from those other grains. We understand that many individuals that are sensitive to gluten can't tolerate even small amounts.

We no longer include Vitamin E in any of our Gatorade Thirst Quenchers; however, two previous varieties, Be Tough and Focus, did include alpha tocopherol acetate (Vitamin E). In these beverages, it was synthetically sourced and did not contain any gluten.

I've also shared your comments about the gluten statement on our website with our web design teams to let them know it is not clear. We understand that there are additional sources of gluten other than wheat, and we regret any confusion this may have caused.

If you'd like more information about gluten, Celiac Sprue, or the forthcoming FDA gluten free labeling guidelines, I invite you to visit the links below:

~Celiac Disease, National Institutes of Health: www.celiac.nih.gov

~Celiac Sprue Association: www.csaceliacs.org

~Celiac Disease Foundation: www.celiac.org

~U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA): www.fda.gov

We appreciate your interest in our products, Angela. I hope this information will be helpful for you.

Jessica

Gatorade Consumer Relations

Ref# 027179699A

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I drink Gatorade whenever I'm on a run, and I have never had a problem. That being said, I don't classify myself as uber-sensitive. So it may depend on where you fall...but I think you'll find that same answer with any corn-sourced modified food starch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am pretty sensitive, and I have never had a problem with gatorade.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow! What a great response! Sounds like they really "get it"! Sounds like they don't test their products, but short of that they seem safe to drink.

Thanks for posting!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this is a bit of a necro comment, but I found this article and thought others may do the same.  I'm glad others haven't had issues with Gatorade, but I haven't had much luck.  As I am generally not all that sensitive, I suspect it could be something other than gluten causing it, but I don't know what else it could be.  I've had some and been ok, but 3 times in the last 2 weeks I've had some Gatorade and shortly thereafter had some rather strong reactions.  Maybe it's gluten, maybe not, maybe just be a coincidence.  But that's my experience lately, and I think I'll be cutting it out of my diet from here on out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Clay Harris said:

I know this is a bit of a necro comment, but I found this article and thought others may do the same.  I'm glad others haven't had issues with Gatorade, but I haven't had much luck.  As I am generally not all that sensitive, I suspect it could be something other than gluten causing it, but I don't know what else it could be.  I've had some and been ok, but 3 times in the last 2 weeks I've had some Gatorade and shortly thereafter had some rather strong reactions.  Maybe it's gluten, maybe not, maybe just be a coincidence.  But that's my experience lately, and I think I'll be cutting it out of my diet from here on out.

I drink Gatorade occasionally and I am fine with it.  Some of them contain artificial sweeteners that may cause people, Celiac or not, issues.  Its not like you need Gatorade.  So if you think it bothers you, don't drink it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
1 1

×