Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have been eating the peanut and chocolate Zone bars. I don't have celiac. I am wondering if my celiac daughter can eat them. There isn't gluten listed but it says made in a facility that processes wheat. I avoid "same equipment" but is the same facility ok? Anyone eat zone bars?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been eating the peanut and chocolate Zone bars. I don't have celiac. I am wondering if my celiac daughter can eat them. There isn't gluten listed but it says made in a facility that processes wheat. I avoid "same equipment" but is the same facility ok? Anyone eat zone bars?

The same facility doesn't bother me, but it's a personal choice based on your (or your daughter's) sensitivity level.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She is a silent celiac so it wouldn't bother her. I just wonder if it would do damage. I guess we really don't know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The same facility doesn't bother me, but it's a personals choice based on your (or your daughter's) sensitivity level.

I have to agree that I guess that would be a personal choice, me myself, I wouldn't eat it. I'm pretty sensitive and avoid any possibility of contamination if possible. It's all in how sensitive she is. I'm not sure how you would gauge if it's hurting her or not, if she's silent. Hopefully someone else can chime in that has some experience in that area. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

She is a silent celiac so it wouldn't bother her. I just wonder if it would do damage. I guess we really don't know.

If that's the case, I would suggest you stick to companies who are Certified Gluten Free, since there is no way of knowing, due to lack of symptoms.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did she have a positive blood test when she was diagnosed? If so, you might want to look at a yearly recheck to make sure the antibodies are staying where they should.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My son eats the ones that don't list gluten ingredients - his favorite being Double Dark Chocolate and Fudge Graham (does not actually contain graham). He probably eats one a day on average, and his bloodwork remains negative and he is thriving. I consider Zone bars a lifesaver for him, especially while travelling and during sports seasons.

It's been awhile back (maybe 3-4 years since the last time) but I have called the company three separate times to inquire about the bars being gluten-free or not. They were extremely knowledgable but had a prepared response, saying they could not guarantee there was no cross-contamination, but they had very specific procedures to clean their lines thoroughly between ever flavor changes, etc. They also gave me the list of which flavors did not contain gluten ingredients. I was quite satisfied by their response, but like the other poster said, it is a personal choice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh thanks! That helps. There are sometimes when they would be a lifesaver for us too. I have never looked at the graham one due to the name. I get her newest bloodwork back on Tuesday and if we have been doing good so far I will let her try one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×