Jump to content
  • Sign Up
1974girl

Campbell's Skillet Sauces

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have a 12 year old silent celiac. (Only found due to her Hashimotos and a great pediatrician) She has been gluten-free a year this month! I made chicken marsala tonight with gluten free rice pasta and the Campbell's skillet sauce. It was actually a new brand of gluten-free pasta...rice plus flax. I couldn't see anything on the skillet sauce that wasn't gluten-free. She had a tummy ache and diarreah after it. Because she usually doesn't react, I find myself OVERREACTING wondering if it was something I gave her. Has anyone had this and did ok? Could it be flax? She only had D once and is fine now...acting perfectly normal. If it really is gluten-free, I recommend that to everyone...it was yummy! I guess it could have been lunch. We went to Hardees and got her a burger wrapped in lettuce. I go in to make the people change gloves and put it on a new paper. I have never had issues with it before. But that was 6 hours before her D. Who knows?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

according to the campbell's people, the skillet sauces are *not* gluten-free. this may be the source of your daughter's problem.

@booksquare We’re sorry you had trouble. Our Skillet Sauces aren’t gluten free. Visit http://t.co/XjepSbtZ for gluten free options.

@booksquare We’re sorry you had trouble. Our Skillet Sauces aren’t gluten free. Visit http://t.co/XjepSbtZ for gluten free options.

— Campbell Soup Co (@CampbellSoupCo)

January 15, 2013

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh thanks! I called them today and they confirmed it was NOT gluten free. I asked her to look and tell me what it could have been since all I can do is read labels. She pulled it up and said it could have been the modified food starch. Thankfully, I have read from Peter enough to know that is NOT true in America. So I told her that would not be true since labeling would require them to say wheat. She put me on hold and then came back and said I was right. (Thanks Peter) She said it doesn't have wheat but that they are not required to put every ingredient. They have 2% they do not release due to "secret recipes". Apparently, it is barely, rye, or oats. Who knows. She didn't even know. All she knew was it was NOT gluten free. I told her about my dd reaction and she is reporting it. Just label it NOT GLUTEN free under the ingredients! You don't have to tell me any secrets!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

secret ingredient or not if it contains wheat, I think they should report it -- isn't that why we now have the new labeling laws???? I wish these companies would get their heads out of --------------- & just report the ingredients...

On another note flax can cause to much roughage for many so at another time that may also cause the Big D & belly aches....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi. I just see this post. My nephew has type 4 of celiac and if there is cross contamination he gets diarrhea and throws up. My sister don’t usually let him eat take out food , if I was to use butter in regular bread and any crumbs got in the butter and then it was put on his bread he gets extremely sick. Unless it says gluten free u probably shouldn’t use it. It wasn’t until I moved in here with her that I realized how many things contain gluten. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...