This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Is It Worth Seeing A Dietician?

Lexi1989

Lexi1989 Newbie

Hi guys,

I was diagnosed with Celiacs about 2 years ago  and thought I had been doing really well on the diet.

However, I haven't been feeling great the last few months - actually feeling sh*thouse* would be a more appropriate term!

I am over tired, despite sleeping 9-10 hours a night. Have a foggy brain (I am studying law at uni and simply cannot keep up because I am forgetful, tired and mostly confused), a host of digestive issues (pale coloured stool everyday, constipation and diarrhoea, abdominal pain, and a recurring stomach bug every 3-4 weeks where I get a lot of reflux and vomiting) and weight-loss. I have also been suffering recurring thrush. 

But my most obvious symptom on the outside is the VERY dark circles I now constantly have under my eyes that are purply black in colour and don't disappear no matter how much sleep I have - I have even been told I look like a racoon!

Anyway - I finally got so sick of it I went to see the doc - was tested for diabetes, nutrient absorption (iron, b12 etc) - all came back clear. She has now referred me to a dietician.

I am a very healthy 23 yo female - have cut gluten out of my diet in all foods except for the following:

- I dont know how to read food labels for the additives/preservatives/flavourings I am supposed to avoid

- I dont 100% avoid cross contamination (like other people in my house using the toaster with their wheat bread or eating out at restaurants that could have cross contamination)