Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten Free=malt Free? How Do I Find Malt In Ingredients? Frustrated And Confused!
0

13 posts in this topic

So I was experiencing symptoms that I suspected to be related to celiacs (never been tested for it), just had an allergy test done today and tested positive for MALT allergy but negative for WHEAT allergy... I cant find anything on malt allergies, food lists, ingredient names and hidden ingredients. My question is do I just go on a gluten free diet to go malt free, are there foods that are malt free that arent gluten free? I have no idea what I should/shouldnt eat unless it clearly lists malt on the ingredients.....ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Barley malt is the problem for Celiacs.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Were you actually tested for celiac disease or just wheat allergy?

Although a person with celiac can be allergic to wheat/barley, etc, celiac disease is NOT an allergy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i was given 26 injections for different food allergens, one of which was wheat which was negative, and malt which was positive. I have been eating a strict gluten free diet for the past 3-4 months just as my own experiment. I was having constant constipation, bloating, belching, hearthburn, abdominal pains/discomfort. Even after eating gluten free i am still experiencing some but not all of these problems. My confusion is that some gluten-free foods contain corn malt, so I am assuming that some gluten-free foods are not malt free? I have searched endlessly for some info on this and have come up empty handed. I just need to know what to look for that indicates malt in an ingredient, and also if something contains wheat does that automatically indicate it contains malt. The doctors office provided me with a VERY vague description of malt, i will type it word-for-word so you will see where my confusion comes from:

FOODS THAT CONTAIN MALT:

All baked goods, bread, pancake and waffle mixes, biscuit mixes, soda crackers, confections, wheat flour, ice cream, candy, cake, baby cereals, malted milk, infant formulas, cooked breakfast cereal, dry breakfast cereal, potato chips, powdered milk, table syrup, malt extract, malt syrup, malt vinegar, soda fountain drinks, coffee substitutes, coffee and tea.

That was the information they provided me with and my instructions were to eliminate malt from my diet. So I went to my cupboard and pulled out some dry breakfast cereal expecting to see some sort of "malt" listed in ingredients, only to find nothing that came close to that. Pulled out my potato chips, same thing. Maybe someone can help me decipher these ingredients or give me some sort of a lead to someone or somewhere I can find out. Thanks for your replies and any help you can give me, it is VERY appreciated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Forgot to add, I was not and have not been tested for celiacs.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




First, your list of foods that "contain malt" should be foods that might possibly contain malt, which might be from barley. When we talk about malt here, we are usually referring to malted barley.

Barley malt is commonly used as a sweetener, but it is almost always declared in the ingredient list as malt flavor. Look for malt extract as well. But certainly not all of the foods on your list contain malt.

Most of us here are sensitive to wheat. There are many foods that contain wheat, but do not contain barley. Are you sure that malt is your problem and not gluten in general?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi confused,

I think Peter has it right, the list of doc's foods may contain barley malt, not that all of those foods absolutely do contain barley malt.

It sounds like they did the skin testing for your allergies? That's where they put just a small amount of the allergen right under the skin to test for reactions. I don't think the skin tests will tell you about food intolerances. For celiac they would draw blood samples and send them to a lab to check for antibodies. Some people do have both a food allergy and a food intolerance though.

For celiacs wheat, rye and barley are the main food intolerances. You could ask your doctor for a celiac panel test. There are 4 or so different antibodie types they check. You need to stay on a regular gluten diet until the blood is drawn though. Quest labs and Prometheus Labs do blood tests, and Enterolab does a stool test. There are other labs that do testing these are just some I remember.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with malt, whole grain and egg allergies about 5 months ago. I have no wheat allergy. I have suffered from most of the same "tummy" troubles as you for several years.  I have found that gluten free does Not mean malt free. Malt is hidden in foods under several names. my experience has been that the more processed a food is, the more ingredients it has and usually malt. i stick to fresh made foods, lots of fruit and veggies. I understand your frustration, it seems like malt shows up in places where it doesn't  need to be.

below is a list of names for malt. I hope it helps you

 

 

 

Malt

Malted barley (or corn, etc)

Malt Flavoring

Malt Extract

Malt Vinegar

Maltodextrin

Maltose

Malt Syrup

Ethyl Maltitol

Isomalt

Hydrogenated isomaltitol

Isomaltitol Maltitol

Maltol

Malt Sugar

 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

oh i also forgot that many snack foods that are flavored usually have malt i.e. bbq potatochips and the like. 

i have found a couple of organic soups and breakfast cereals that are malt-free, so look for foods in that direction. bread is troublesome

good luck. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with malt, whole grain and egg allergies about 5 months ago. I have no wheat allergy. I have suffered from most of the same "tummy" troubles as you for several years. I have found that gluten free does Not mean malt free. Malt is hidden in foods under several names. my experience has been that the more processed a food is, the more ingredients it has and usually malt. i stick to fresh made foods, lots of fruit and veggies. I understand your frustration, it seems like malt shows up in places where it doesn't need to be.

below is a list of names for malt. I hope it helps you

Malt

Malted barley (or corn, etc)

Malt Flavoring

Malt Extract

Malt Vinegar

Maltodextrin

Maltose

Malt Syrup

Ethyl Maltitol

Isomalt

Hydrogenated isomaltitol

Isomaltitol Maltitol

Maltol

Malt Sugar

Actually, many of these do not contain barley malt. Just because it has the four letters MALT in it does not mean it has barley in it.

These do not have barley malt in them:

Maltitol in all the ways you listed it

Maltodextrin

Maltol

Isomalt

Just to add - "Gluten Free" should and does mean barley malt free. "Wheat free" does not mean barley malt free. But a "wheat free" product might not have malt or any other gluten in it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with malt, whole grain and egg allergies about 5 months ago. I have no wheat allergy. I have suffered from most of the same "tummy" troubles as you for several years.  I have found that gluten free does Not mean malt free. Malt is hidden in foods under several names. my experience has been that the more processed a food is, the more ingredients it has and usually malt. i stick to fresh made foods, lots of fruit and veggies. I understand your frustration, it seems like malt shows up in places where it doesn't  need to be.

below is a list of names for malt. I hope it helps you

 

 

 

Malt

Malted barley (or corn, etc)

Malt Flavoring

Malt Extract

Malt Vinegar

Maltodextrin

Maltose

Malt Syrup

Ethyl Maltitol

Isomalt

Hydrogenated isomaltitol

Isomaltitol Maltitol

Maltol

Malt Sugar

Well, that list is not accurate. Some, but not all, of those ingredients are an issue. Some of them are safe. I'm guessing somebody who did not really understand the question listed everything they could imagine that contained the letters m-a-l-t and assumed that they were malt. That just isn't so. I'll respond to each thing on your list:

Malt - Unsafe (assume barley unless stated otherwise)

Malted barley (or corn, etc) - Unsafe if barley, Safe if corn or rice

Malt Flavoring - Unsafe (assume barley unless stated otherwise)

Malt Extract - Unsafe (assume barley unless stated otherwise)

Malt Vinegar - Unsafe

Maltodextrin - Safe, regardless of source

Maltose - A sugar - Safe

Malt Syrup - Unsafe (assume barley unless stated otherwise)

Ethyl Maltitol - A synthetic, gluten-free flavoring agent, also known as Maltitol

Isomalt - Safe - A sugar replacement made from beets

Hydrogenated isomaltitol - Safe - see Ethyl Maltitol above

Isomaltitol Maltitol - Safe - see Ethyl Maltitol above

Maltol - Safe - A synthetic, gluten-free flavoring agent, similar to Maltitol

Malt Sugar - Another name for maltose, a safe ingredient

I took a long time to compose this...

Edited by psawyer
Karen and I were both composing at the same time
2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was diagnosed with malt, whole grain and egg allergies about 5 months ago. I have no wheat allergy. I have suffered from most of the same "tummy" troubles as you for several years.  I have found that gluten free does Not mean malt free. Malt is hidden in foods under several names. my experience has been that the more processed a food is, the more ingredients it has and usually malt. i stick to fresh made foods, lots of fruit and veggies. I understand your frustration, it seems like malt shows up in places where it doesn't  need to be.

below is a list of names for malt. I hope it helps you

 

 

 

Malt

Malted barley (or corn, etc)

Malt Flavoring

Malt Extract

Malt Vinegar

Maltodextrin

Maltose

Malt Syrup

Ethyl Maltitol

Isomalt

Hydrogenated isomaltitol

Isomaltitol Maltitol

Maltol

Malt Sugar

 

 

That's interesting, Dollee.  If I'm understanding you correctly, you're allergy is based on the malting process in which enzymes develop the starches into sugars no matter what the source material is. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still learning about all the different hidden meanings in reading food labels. So I don't have any more information to add, except if you try something (because your not sure, and think it's OK) and you have a reaction, you'll have an answer.

 

I suspect I have either Celiac or gluten sensitivity. I've been gluten free for a week and it's been going GREAT. I made a mistake though and ate a Kellog Rice Crispie treat today though and I didn't see "wheat" listed, I missed the "malt flavoring". I got a terrible attack. It took hours to get over it. So now I know, hard lesson, but well learned.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,358
    • Total Posts
      920,531
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Here's another thing.  Feeling deprived?  Order two of the same item.  I was hungry by the time dinner arrived! 
    • The doctors just made me feel like I was crazy because they did not have a clue of what was wrong with me. I did a stool test (positive) and I did a genes test (positive for two gluten sensitive genes, one in each chromosome).  Blood test are not so foolproof, if you read the comments/experiences in such topic you will see the problems. Biopsy can give a false negative if taken from an undamaged area. If you have medical problems that go away once on a gluten free diet then gluten is the problem. The medical establishment profit from managing your medical problems and big pharma makes money by pushing pills so we need to be careful because they won't benefit if a gluten-free diet solve your problems. Since I started a Gluten free diet I have been free of the following: (all related to Celiac)  Irregularity, Intestinal noise, Irregular stool, Tooth enamel defects, Rash in upper arms, Abdominal swelling, depression, fatigue, irritability, lactose intolerance, 
      loss of memory, dandruff, uncontrollable bladder, suicidal thoughts, unable to sleep, Canker sores/ Mouth ulcers, high blood pressure, and probably others that I did not realize. I was at the end of my rope, thanks to Google and the people that are able to talk about this I was able to get my life back. I am passionate about this because I know how bad its can get. 
    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)   Oh, I checked your ship.  You must eat in the diningroom if you have special dietary needs.
    • French Celiac / Coeliac Gluten Free Restaurant Card <strong>What is ... What to know about celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and gluten-free diets. View the full article
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined