No popular authors found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter

Categories

No categories found.







Ads by Google:


Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!



SHARE THIS PAGE:
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Creamy Vegan Lavender Spinach Soup (gluten-free)

This is a wonderful soup for a cold Winter's day, enjoy it with your favorite gluten-free crackers!

Serves 4

Ads by Google:

Creamy Vegan Lavender Spinach Soup (gluten-free)Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp. Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Spread
  • 1 large sweet white onion, diced
  • 2 cups fresh baby spinach
  • 2 large zucchini, diced
  • 2 tsp. fresh mint, finely chopped
  • 1/3 tsp. orange zest
  • 1/2 cup quinoa, cooked
  • 4 cups green tea, brewed
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 ripe avocado, peeled, cored and diced
  • 1/8 tsp. curry powder
  • 1/8 tsp. dried lavender
  • 12 macadamia nuts, crushed

Directions:

  1. In a large saucepan over medium-high heat, melt butter.  Add onion, spinach and zucchini; cook until onions are translucent, approximately 5 minutes.  Add mint, orange zest and quinoa; cook for another minute.
  2. Add green tea; reduce heat to medium.  Cover and cook for 20 minutes or until quinoa is tender.  Add sea salt, pepper, avocado, curry powder and dried lavender.
  3. Add spinach and green tea mixture with macadamia nuts in a food processor.  Puree until smooth; serve immediately.
  4. Enjoy!

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).












Related Articles



Comments




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Yes, you can eat bananas but only on Sunday. Kidding. Peter has it right. Most fruits, veggies and meats are naturally gluten-free. The problem for celiacs are grains including wheat, rye, barley, and oats (only some celiacs react to oats). Any food though can be contaminated with thos...

Bananas are naturally gluten-free. Fruits do not contain gluten, nor do vegetables. Gluten is found in grain, and you won't likely find that in the produce department. Enjoy, and welcome aboard.

I'm new to this site. Had one test come back + and just had another one done yesterday. Just wondering are Celiac able to eat bananas.

?Less than 7 percent of Americans have celiac disease or another condition that causes gluten sensitivity, which can lead to severe digestive issues,? said ... If gluten-free foods are made with rice flour, as many are, research shows people consuming them may ingest worrisome amounts of arsenic ...

That this not the same thing at all! It?s a rinse in the laundry. Even if it didn?t rinse all the way out, you aren?t trailing flour around the house. There is no reason for people to over react and make life harder. Most of us don?t want to live like that! If this sort of thing w...