This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Hi. Newbie Here! Wondering If I Have Celiac.

nucci

nucci Newbie

Hi everyone. I am 31 years old 10 months post partum and have been suffering from a range of symptoms since about 5 months post partum. Previous to my son being born I suffered a miscarriage and I also lost a twin in my recent pregnancy. I have hypothyroidism (Hashimotos), diagnosed about 10 years ago. My mother has celiac, diagnosed about 2 and a half years ago. She recommended that I get tested and I had the immunoglobulin (sp?) tests. Doctor told me I was negative and I felt well at the time (2 years ago) so I did not go further. I began doing some research the other evening and found this message board. It was then that I began to think that maybe I do have celiac.

I have suffered from mild depression most of fmy life. I developed PPD after my son was born. At about 5 months pp, I contacted my ob because I was having those familiar low thyroid symptoms: aches, fatigue, bloating. I was SURE that my blood test would reveal that I needed more synthroid. My thyroid hormones were fine. I couldn't believe it. I chalked it up to exhaustion.

I feel that every day gets worse and worse. I went to a wedding last night and barely made it through the night. I looked into Enterolab and am going to get tested. At first I thought that I would wait for the test resluts before I began the diet, but I am in so much pain that I am hoping the diet will start to heal me. Here are my symptoms:

deep aches and pains in my boes and stiffness and pain in all my joints

pins and needles/tingling in my hands when I wake up