This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cross Contamination

LuvMoosic4life

LuvMoosic4life Collaborator

I know this issue as probably been posted a million times, but I just wonder if I am sometimes becoming obbsessive with it??? I am a college student, poor, so I am unable to buy new cookware, toasters, ect,ect. I threw out my toaster I had and kept the toaster oven. I'm living with other people right now for the summer, my brother and occasionally my mom, who both consume LOTS of gluten stuff.

Here's what i did:

I took a couple of pots, cleaned them very good and put them through the dishwasher. I keep them in a seperate cupboard that isnt being used and use them only for myself and clean them with a clean sponge everytime I use them. I dont use a collander to drain my pasta, i just use the lid of the pot- cant take chances-

toaster oven: So ovbiosly this would be CC, but what i do is wrap whatever I'm cooking in double tin foil before putting it in on top of the tray (which I also cleaned and take out when finished. I always wash my hands before eating and after touching the outside of the tin foil. If I put a gluten-free bagel on top of tin foil in the toaster oven that also cooks gluten stuff it will this be ok? its not touching anything else in the toaster...I havent had a problem yet

I also have a cupboard and part of the fridge that only I use.