This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Recovery Tips Please?!

GFH33

GFH33 Newbie

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on here, but I've come to this website countless times for advice and support. Thank you for your help then and now. I'm posting today because I'm desperate for your help.

Next week I will hit my 6 month mark for being gluten-free after being diagnosed with celiac disease in April of 2011. I've been completely gluten-free and have noticed some improvements, but still suffering on a daily basis. Is this normal?

Every morning I wake up with an upset stomach followed by several bowel movements. I'm still tired and lack the energy I used to have before getting sick. Throughout the day I deal with a bloated feeling accompanied by loud, gurgling and popping stomach noises that can be heard by everyone around me. This is extremely embarrassing and has caused social anxiety for me because I get scared to be in quiet places with other people. The stomach noises are almost constant and happen daily whether or not I eat. Once I eat it seems to get worse, but it happens when I don't eat as well. What can I do to reduce the stomach noises and need for the bathroom?

My doctor told me I would probably take 6 months to a year to fully recover. Considering my health right now I'm guessing I'll take longer than 6 months, but I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong or if this is normal for a celiac to recover. I would be grateful for others to share tips (i.e.; things to do/not to do to improve my health), personal experiences, timelines, etc.

Thank you!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):