Jump to content
  • Sign Up
MitziG

Peanut Butter M&m's...sooo Sick!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Yeah, I don't know what it is. I had been having chocolate (but real chocolate.. cocoa powder, or vegan dark chocolate). It's possible it was the "milk" chocolate issue (however, I'd been having diary without troubles either). It's just so weird but man, 6 days later, and I'm still in pain. If I could turn back time!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mars makes M&M's & here is a link to their allergen policy:

https://www.mms.com/us/legal/allergen.html

 

This is the most up to date ingredient list I can find online as i do not have any peanut butter M&M's on hand to actually read the label.

 

Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Milkfat, Lactose, Peanuts, Soy Lecithin, Salt, Artificial Flavors), Peanut Butter (Partially Defatted Peanuts), Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Less than 2% - Cornstarch, Dextrose, Natural Flavor, Salt, Corn Syrup, Dextrin, Coloring (Includes Red 40 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Blue 1, Red 40, Blue2), Propyl Gallate to Maintain Freshness, Gum Acacia. ALLERGY INFORMATION: May contain almonds. 

 

There are a heck of a lot of ingredients in there. Maybe it's the Propyl Gallate, Gum Acacia, maybe almond contamination -- maybe you've become sensitive to almonds, maybe soy, maybe any of those food colorings. I'm saying I wouldn't be too quick to say they are cc'd with gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OMG! This happened to me too! Couldn't figure out what could be bothering me since these are listed as gluten free but more than one day now they are the only common factor. Someone for sure should let them know. 

Also to the person who commented about reese eggs. Hersheys says that any of the specialty ones aren't gluten free. just the originals. 

I eat regular reeses all the time and never have a problem. For those that make the argument that it is peanut butter, or chocolate, or milk. 

Edited by GlutenIntolerantinMO

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 3/9/2015 at 2:59 PM, Natalie319 said:

I find this so interesting.

I'm gluten-intolerant. I'm not so sensitive that cross-contamination bothers me. For instance, I can eat fries if they're in the same oil as something else. It won't upset me. But if I eat something with actual gluten, it will.

I ate peanut butter m&ms and I got a bad migraine that night (one of the things that happens to me) and I've had a major stomachache for two days. I haven't had this kind of pain in probably a year. So I know that it can't just be a small cross-contamination issue making me this sick.

 

There must be something in peanut butter M&Ms that we are also sensitive too, or the company is just oblivious to their ingredients! It's odd that so many of us would get sick off of them.

I have had the exact same issue.  I have not had a migraine for over a year, but tonight I ate some peanut butter m&ms and right away I started having vision flashes, and sure enough, I got a migraine.  Were you ever able to figure out what ingredient caused this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...