This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Family Of Celiacs In Denial

Olive Oil

Olive Oil Newbie

Hello! This is my first time posting.

I have been gluten free since January of this year.  I just had my endoscopy results from November read for the first time by a doctor.  I am convinced my former doctor pretended to read my biopsy results. Anyways my new PCP said my biopsy and results on the diet should be considered a diagnosis. I also participated in 23andme and my genes seem to back that up.  So I am going to consider that case closed and myself a Celiac.  

The real annoying thing is several of my family members seem to have Celiac as well but won't get tested or accept it as a possibility.  My family has developed this idea that you should have digestive issues.  "It's just the way it is."     

My mother has sjogren's syndrome.  All of my siblings seem to have problems that sound like celiac disease.  When I saw my father last, he spent 30 minutes in the bathroom vomiting (my sister told me this was a nightly occurrence).