Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Info On Kroger Distilled White Vinegar
0

4 posts in this topic

Hi!

I have a feeling that this post is going to open a gluten-free can of worms, but here it goes. :unsure:

I emailed Kroger about their Distilled White Vinegar. The dietician left a voicemail and said that at least 90% of the grain used is corn. However, the remaining 10% can be wheat or other grains. After final distillation, the vinegar is gluten-free and even certified gluten-free by a Celiac Disease Association. The dietician did say that 10% of the population (I assume the celiac population) does react to the vinegar. In that case, she highly recommends using apple cider vinegar for recipes.

First of all, thank you Kroger for responding so quickly. :)

Secondly, has anyone heard this before? This would explain alot of my sensitivities.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Thank you for posting that. This is not at all a surprise to me. One member here is very sensitive to vinegar and alcohol as well. The CSA has deemed distilled vinegar to be gluten free, although as indicated in your response, some Celiacs ARE very sensitive.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yea--I'm thinking along the same lines as Lisa.

It's a good response. There are some people who will still react to the vinegar despite it being certified gluten-free. We're all a bit different, and apple cider vinegar is a good substitute if you do react.

I don't have problems with distilled vinegar used in some processed foods, but at home I choose to use the apple cider vinegar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for posting that. I am one who reacts very strongly to distlilled gluten grains and alcohols. The dietian is correct, many of us will not have a problem but for some of us it is an issue. The only way I know of to tell if you react or not is to challenge the item when you know everything else you are eating that week is safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0