Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Natural Flavors Vs. Natural Flavorings?
0

10 posts in this topic

On May 1, 2008, my blood test came back with a highly positive reading of 271 for the gluten antibodies. I am having a biopsy on Monday. I have thrown every kind of suspect food item out my house. Or so I think. However, so many of the labels say natural flavors, or natural flavorings. Are these safe for us? Please help. I'm really afraid that with how positive my test came back I'm going to have to be EXTREMELY careful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I sure hope you have not been gluten free since May 1st as your biopsy might come up negative as your villi might have healed to a point where the biopsy will not pick up damage.

The villi begin healing as soon as you cut gluten out of your diet and some people heal VERY quickly (within weeks). So if you are gluten free and have been for more than a few weeks, dont be surprised if the biopsy comes back negative and you do not get a Dx of Celiac.

But with your blood YOU ARE Celiac. So try not to be lulled into a sense of security based on the biopsy. If you continue to eat gluten you will be damaging yourself and setting yourself up for auto-immune, cancer, etc.

***Now to answer your question. I avoid both of these things because I am sensitive to MSG and both of these contain it. MSG comes from seaweed, so they can still call it "natural". I personally do not buy any product that does not list everything out individually.

I WOULD NOT buy this product:

Ingredients: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, modified palm oil, spices and natural flavoring.

But I WOULD buy this one:

Ingrediets: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, palm oil, thyme, parsley, rosemary and sea salt.

***Manufacturers now know that we look for "hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated" so they use "modified" to fool us and since the Govt allows some trans fats and they can still claim zero trans fats, this is how they get around it and trick us into buying their crap. If the oil has been modified in anyway they have to claim that. They just dont have to tell you "how" it was modified.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten can hide in natural flavorings, but many mainstream companies have policies of disclosing any gluten in their ingredients. If the product is not from a company that discloses gluten and it does not say gluten free, then I contact the company before I let my son eat it. When you do call companies, ask if the have a gluten labeling policy. It's best if they have a policy for disclosing gluten, so we don't have to rely on lists that can change. Also ask who their parent company is, as they will likely have the same policy. For example if you call La Choy and speak to them about their soy sauce, you could possibly miss that the parent company Con Agra discloses gluten in ALL of their MANY products.

These companies disclose gluten (it won't hide in natural flavorings, spices, etc.):

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I sure hope you have not been gluten free since May 1st as your biopsy might come up negative as your villi might have healed to a point where the biopsy will not pick up damage.

The villi begin healing as soon as you cut gluten out of your diet and some people heal VERY quickly (within weeks). So if you are gluten free and have been for more than a few weeks, dont be surprised if the biopsy comes back negative and you do not get a Dx of Celiac.

But with your blood YOU ARE Celiac. So try not to be lulled into a sense of security based on the biopsy. If you continue to eat gluten you will be damaging yourself and setting yourself up for auto-immune, cancer, etc.

***Now to answer your question. I avoid both of these things because I am sensitive to MSG and both of these contain it. MSG comes from seaweed, so they can still call it "natural". I personally do not buy any product that does not list everything out individually.

I WOULD NOT buy this product:

Ingredients: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, modified palm oil, spices and natural flavoring.

But I WOULD buy this one:

Ingrediets: Rice flour, tapioca flour, xanthum gum, palm oil, thyme, parsley, rosemary and sea salt.

***Manufacturers now know that we look for "hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated" so they use "modified" to fool us and since the Govt allows some trans fats and they can still claim zero trans fats, this is how they get around it and trick us into buying their crap. If the oil has been modified in anyway they have to claim that. They just dont have to tell you "how" it was modified.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thank you for all the information. No I have not been gluten free since May 1st, I will officially gluten free tomorrow. I am lucky enough to have found this web site, and knew that I could heal within the time in between my blood test and biopsy. It has given me time to get ready mentally also. Because although I know most of the foods I have been eating are making me sick, I am very fond of them. So now I am ready.

I had the same reaction to ingredients that are generically listed as "spices". I threw all of those away just to be safe. Thankfully my husband is really supportive and is even given up his bread for his beloved sandwiches. :)

Again thank you for all the information.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gluten can hide in natural flavorings, but many mainstream companies have policies of disclosing any gluten in their ingredients. If the product is not from a company that discloses gluten and it does not say gluten free, then I contact the company before I let my son eat it. When you do call companies, ask if the have a gluten labeling policy. It's best if they have a policy for disclosing gluten, so we don't have to rely on lists that can change. Also ask who their parent company is, as they will likely have the same policy. For example if you call La Choy and speak to them about their soy sauce, you could possibly miss that the parent company Con Agra discloses gluten in ALL of their MANY products.

These companies disclose gluten (it won't hide in natural flavorings, spices, etc.):

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gluten can hide in natural flavorings, but many mainstream companies have policies of disclosing any gluten in their ingredients. If the product is not from a company that discloses gluten and it does not say gluten free, then I contact the company before I let my son eat it. When you do call companies, ask if the have a gluten labeling policy. It's best if they have a policy for disclosing gluten, so we don't have to rely on lists that can change. Also ask who their parent company is, as they will likely have the same policy. For example if you call La Choy and speak to them about their soy sauce, you could possibly miss that the parent company Con Agra discloses gluten in ALL of their MANY products.

These companies disclose gluten (it won't hide in natural flavorings, spices, etc.):

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Some flavorings can contain gluten, so it is best to verify by looking on the company website and/or contacting them by phone or email.

In case you haven't yet seen this, here's a link to some lists of safe and unsafe ingredients:

http://www.celiac.com/categories/Safe-Glut...3B-Ingredients/

Thank you so much for taking the time to give me this info. I don't know what I would have done with out this site to find people that give such great support.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
.....I had the same reaction to ingredients that are generically listed as "spices". I threw all of those away just to be safe. Thankfully my husband is really supportive and is even given up his bread for his beloved sandwiches......

If you haven't been gluten-free until tomorrow, how do you know you react to "spices"? Any possible gluten contained in spice ingredients (which I wouldn't worry about anyway since wheat is not a spice) would be infinitesimally small compared to the major gluten you eat before going gluten-free.

Why does your husband have to go on a gluten-free diet? He doesn't have Celiac Disease. I make my wife sandwiches; hasn't made me sick.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,344
    • Total Posts
      920,486
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! Thankyou!!    
    • Here's what the Klondike Bar makers say on the FAQ page of their website (August 2016): Are your products gluten free? Nope. They are not. We have not validated for gluten free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
    • I tried the iodine test but couldn't leave it on very long because it itched too much. I left it on maybe 30 minutes lol. Did anyone try it and have the same response??
    • Had my scope today. Dr said my esophagus is damaged and stomach inflamed. Waiting on biopsy results. Taking protonic and flagyl and he said to go ahead and try cutting gluten out to see if that helps. Thanks for the feedback everyone! 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,414
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Vic40
    Joined