This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Coming Off My Anti Depressants

Skittles

Skittles Enthusiast

Hello, I havent written in here in a little while but I really need somewhere to vent. I feel like no one understands what i'm going through. I went to my doctor about 5 years years ago with an eating disorder and other problems such as no energy and no drive to do anything. I needed some help as I was a university student and stopped attending classes. My doctor put me on an anti depressant, citalopram (Celexa) 40 mg. I have only been diagnosed with celiac this past April. After being diagnosed I now know why I was experiencing all of these symptoms. I have wanted to go off my anti depressants for a couple of years now but I just found it difficult to do so. Finally this past February I decided I was going to stop them. I was not in any rush so I slowly decreased my doses and finally finished them about 2 weeks ago. I was doing very well while decreasing my doses. It wasn't until about the last week before coming off that I found myself to be emotional. But about a week after coming off them completely I find that I am extremely erritable! And so cranky! and if one thing goes wrong (even something that would seem so little to someone else) I cant handle it at all. I can't cope at all. I get terrible mood swings. Living with my boyfriend, I just take it out on him, which I hate and don't want to do.