Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Dandelion

Easter Dinner

I got a free ham from Omaha Steaks that I wanted to make as part of Easter dinner but I am not sure if it's gluten free and would appreciate any advice. The ham was cured with: Water, Salt, Brown Sugar, Cane Sugar, Sodium Phosphate, Sodium Erythorbate, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Sodium Nitrite, Dextrose. Is this ok? My second question is - does anyone know of a gluten free graham cracker pie crust? I always make one of those jello pies for Easter, but don't know what to do this year.

Thanks for any help you can give me. :)

Beth

Gluten free since January 2007.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

The ingredients in the ham sound fine. Just sugar and preservatives. I am new to gluten-free cooking, but for graham cracker crusts I plan to make gluten-free graham crackers and smash them. Sounds like a lot a work, so I'll probably make lots and store the crumbs in an air tight container. There's a recipe in one of my cookbooks, but I haven't tried it yet. If you try it, please let me know how it turns out!

3/4 cup margarine or butter

1/4 cup honey

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp xanthan gum

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup light bean flour (Garfava, full fat soy, or garbanzo)

1 cup tapioca flour

1 cup potato starch flour

1/4 cup sugar (optional)

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (optional)

In a large bowl beat together margarine/butter, honey, and brown sugar. Add xanthan gum, salt, cinnamon, baking powder, and vanilla. Beat to combine.

Add the flours, 1/2 cup at a time, beating after each addition. If dough gets to tough, add water 1 tsp at a time, until dough is creamy, yet managable.

Lightly oil cookie sheet. Scoop dough 1 tsp at a time onto the cookie sheet and spread until it is 1/4 to 1/8 inch thick.