Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Shwem

Are Chronic Headaches A Symptom Of Celiac?

I just got my test results back and they were positive for celiac so i guess i have a lot to get used to.. but i have been having these chronic headaches for a couple weeks now and i was wondering if maybe that might be a symtom of celiac. please let me know.. i am very new to this.

Thanks

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I used to get a headache just about every day and thought it was sinuses, tension, or stress but when I stopped eating gluten they went away. I never even expected them to, I was trying to fix gastro symptoms, curing the headaches was a HUGE bonus.

Yes, daily headaches were a symptom for me. Prior to that, I rarely got hedaches.

Mine were mainly in the back of my head at the base of my skull--sometimes the pain would wake me up in the morning (when it was at it's worst).

I will still get this type of headache when glutened.

Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

i THINK MY HEADACHES WERE FROM BEING ANEMIC AS MY IRON WAS VERY LOW. nOT SURE AS i STARTED IV IRON INFUSIONS AT THE SAME TIME AS I CHANGED MY DIET. I AM SURE THEY HAVE CHECKED YOUR HEMOBLOBIN BUT JUST AN IDEA

BARB

when I was at my sickest (only a few months, I was lucky) I got migraines once a week and milder headaches a few times a week

Gluten Free since 10/07

Mildly Lactose Intolerant, slight intestinal symptoms after eating milk products, but easily corrected with lactase enzyme

Endometriosis- DX'd 5/07

Gluten Antibodies- "negative"...don't know exact numbers, am highly suspicious...

DXed celiac 12-19-07 via genetics/elimination diet- DQ2 allele