Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
krohde73

"Seasoning" & "Seasoning Mixes"

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hello everyone! I'm new to the Gluten Free thing. I'm 38 and have recently been diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Last year I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia as well and was told that going Gluten Free, Dairy Free and steering clear of nightshade vegetables and plants would help greatly. So until about 5 weeks ago I had been as gluten free as possible. 5 weeks ago it became necessary to be 100% gluten free due to my latest diagnosis.

But anyway my question lies with spices and seasonings. I typically purchase my spices fresh or from a specialty store so I know that I'm getting quality items. I used to be a Tastefully Simple junkie. But I've noticed as I've been packing things to move that all of my Tastefully Simple seasonings "may contain" or "contain" wheat. I am so bummed!!!

I am still learning my sensitivity to possible cross contamination and very trace amounts of gluten in my food that I may come in contact with in inadvertently.

Does anyone use the Tastefully Simple seasonings and have little to no problems when consuming them? Or do you think that would be an absolute "no no" for a Celiac?

I'm still confused as to what I shouldn't have and as I'm getting ready to move I'm going to be loosing my mentor who is also a Celiac and won't have her to be able to ask.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi & welcome to the board!biggrin.gif We will be happy to be your mentors now. There's a whole bunch of us!

I would never touch anything that states "may contain" or "contain" wheat. Throw them in the trash!

Spices in & of themselves are gluten free but when you get into the "mixes" & "blends" you had better watch it. Personally, I stick with McCormick & get each individual spice. If it needs mixing then I just add the ones I need.

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If they say contain wheat, they contain wheat. Don't eat. May contain wheat is probably a warning that they make items that contain wheat and there's some possibility of contamination. You'd have to check with them about their procedures. I looked at a couple of their mixes online, and while it warns it's manufactured in a facility that has wheat, it's something that I'd probably use. It's a personal thing.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the Forum! :)

I, personally, do not use anything that says "may contain" wheat. If there's any trace wheat in there, chances are, I'm going to suffer the consequences :rolleyes: and I cannot take that risk. I've been sick long enough. I think of that as a "no-no"

Certainly, you should NEVER use anything that says "contains wheat". That's a HUGE, flashing red light, trumpet-blaring NO! NO! :lol:

Richard is right in that some people have no problem using things that come from factories that also produce wheat products, but it is an individual choice.

I look at food choices this way: Why take any risks?

Use fresh (if you can) first.

or use McCormick single spices and herbs.

Mix your own blends if you want something like a herbs de provence or Italian medley.

Oh, I did speak with someone at Tony Chachere's creole seasoning (on behalf of a friend who is gluten-free and likes their spice blends) and they told me their stuff is gluten-free.

Best wishes to you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the OP never mentioned corn, but for those of us with corn intolerance, even something as simple as garlic powder or onion powder are not safe. They use corn starch to keep them from clumpong up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the OP never mentioned corn, but for those of us with corn intolerance, even something as simple as garlic powder or onion powder are not safe. They use corn starch to keep them from clumpong up.

Are you sure ALL companies do this?? :blink:

This is the first I ever heard of that.

McCormick's are pure spices and herbs, as far as I know.

But if you know otherwise, please tell us which ones. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use McCormicks onion powder and garlic powder, and they do not contain an anti-clumping agent. It is just dehydrated onion or garlic.

In an ingredient list, "spices" can not be used to hide any grain ingredient. That covers the gluten sources, and corn too.

"Seasonings" - different ball game there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry. I read it on one of the corn allergy sites. THIS site though, seems to have more accurate information than any of the corn sites.

I wish I had known sooner - I gave all of my spices away...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry. I read it on one of the corn allergy sites. THIS site though, seems to have more accurate information than any of the corn sites.

I wish I had known sooner - I gave all of my spices away...

That's ok. Spices get old and lose their flavor anyway. You're better off with new, fresh stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I order my spices from Penzeys -- have used them for years and was happy that all their spices and seasonings are gluten-free. They told me the only things they sell that contain gluten are their soup bases which are made by another company.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I personally will not knowingly buy anything that may contain wheat since I have 2 kids to worry about on top of my husband and I. For our spices we buy McCormick or Tones and make our own seasoning blends for those spices.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×