This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need Advice From The Seasoned gluten-free Folks

pixespirit

pixespirit Rookie

Hola,

I've been on a gluten-free diet since January---the day I was diagnosed. It took 4 months for my yucky symptoms to go away. I still get contaminated from time to time when I'm out to lunch---Symptoms are severe bloating and lethargy. I am a full time professional, mother, wife, and graduate student. I took a medical leave of absence for a year because after 2 years of working (what felt like 3 full time jobs), I felt that I really needed more time to get my health back in order. I've become a great cook--but I still come home exhausted every day to the point of needing to rest.

I thought I read somewhere that the healthier you get (with becoming gluten-free) the MORE sensitive you become. Is this true? For instance, I have patches on my face from sun exposure (which I've never had in my life). It takes for ever for scrapes and bruises to heal. When preparing green chilies for the grill last night, I started coughing from the vapors and even after washing my hands with soap, I rubbed my nose and cheeks which burned for two hours there after from the green Chile vapors. Seriously? I would love some feedback on this. I don't need any more sensitivities in my life.