Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

gilligan

Gluten Free Kitchen In The Making

My husband decided it would be easier and safer for me if he went "gluten free" with me.  So far, he says he has enjoyed everything I/we have prepared.  I know I have to toss wood and rubber utensils and the toaster.  What about plastic storage containers, cast iron skillets, freezer containers, and mixing bowls.  It is necessary to get rid of those, also?  I know I can recondition my cast iron skillets if its necessary.  I'm very new to this and trying hard to do it right!

I would scrub up the plastic containers and use them. We are almost going to do the same here. I am scrubbing up everything .. I am using our wooden spoons, I scrubbed them very good!! I am using our plastic bowls, scrubbing them up very good. I am using everything I did before just really really scrubbed them up like they had the plaque ... I have not had a problem. There is still Gluten in my house. I will cook the rest of it up and  feed it to hubbs , I will replace it with Gluten free stuff. I am using the same Cast Iron Skillets I had before I have never re done them. I just use them for my Gluten Free stuff now. I have not had a problem. 

Here are some good tips:

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/theglutenfreediet/tp/GlutenFreeKitchenItems.htm

This second link also contains other links about a gluten free kitchen or sharing one with gluten eaters.

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/theglutenfreediet/u/TreatmentPath.htm

I would strongly recommend putting your cast iron in the clean cycle of your oven and then re-seasoning them.  I bought a bunch of new Gladware or ZipLock containers and tossed my old tupperware.  I took the advice on this forum and Jane Anderson's recommendations on about.com.