This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

1 year of hell...Celiac?

SillyWilly

SillyWilly Newbie

Hello all, newbie here... I've gone through hell this year physically.  It all started a little over a year ago with stressful triggers like starting my masters program and taking on leadership roles at work and not sleeping because of our beautiful newborn son. But after my third stomach bug, that one had me crying on the toilet at midnight three nights in a row while thinking I was gonna die, seriously, worst stomach pains in my 34 years of being alive. 10 months of loose and yellowish stool, 3 ER trips, 10 doctor visits, 30 lbs. weight loss, and my doctor finally says he thinks it could be Celiac just last week. 

I'm 3 days gluten free and still experiencing undigested food in stool. But the peripheral neuropathy, headaches, and rashes are gone... The one thing that scares me the most is low blood sugar after my first meal (6:30 a.m.) even after I've stopped eating oats and started eating strawberries, beef or chicken or eggs, glass of OJ, multivitamin, 4 apple slices...blood sugar in 60's non-diabetic. I then eat the whole apple and a banana while drinking more OJ to get glucose within normal range. 

Does anybody else get hypoglycemia post-prandial (after meal) from Celiac? Almost like nutrition isn't being absorbed.

p.s. GI doc meeting June 27th to get the diagnosis ball rolling with possible Celiac. I'm sick and tired of being sick and tired ?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master

Welcome to the forum!