Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

blooming

Kitchen Gear Advice Needed

So I'm pretty new to being gluten free and am trying to figure out how far to go with this. The rest of my family does not have a problem with gluten. I am now positive I do.

I'm not sure what to do about dishes and gluten foods. I was wondering what others do. Do you buy all new dishes for entire family and does everyone go gluten free? Do you have seperate dishes(such as plates), pots or do you share? Any advice is appreciated because although I'm pretty careful we're still using the same kitchen gear (other then the toaster). Oh, and what about grills is it okay to have you're food grilled on the same grill as a grill with say marinaded chicken?

Then of course there is food like jelly, peanut butter, regular butter etc that we share. I'm just not sure how to get it all in order. And what's overboard or just being safe.

I appreciate any advice.

Thanks.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Welcome!

I am very lucky, it is just my husband and me and our kitchen is gluten free.

I think the general feeling is that as long as the dishes are cleaned well, then they should be OK.

Now, I threw out the toaster and the mixer and the wooden spoons and my wooden cutting boards. My calphalon cookware is not non-stick, so it is fine and I don't react to it. I did get new plastic containers, but we do this every couple of weeks anyway (he leaves them at work and they get moldy and we won't clean them if they are moldy)