This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How To Use Frozen Bread

1974girl

1974girl Enthusiast

Ok, I know this is the dumbest question but I am only on day 2 of gluten free for my kids. I have all this frozen bread (Udis). I have never used frozen bread before. Can I thaw it out quick in the microwave or do I have to literally lay it out for a while? I don't need the whole loaf only a piece or two at a time. I keep reading to keep the bread in the refridgerator or freezer so I am not sure how to do this.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

missmellie Newbie

Ok, I know this is the dumbest question but I am only on day 2 of gluten free for my kids. I have all this frozen bread (Udis). I have never used frozen bread before. Can I thaw it out quick in the microwave or do I have to literally lay it out for a while? I don't need the whole loaf only a piece or two at a time. I keep reading to keep the bread in the refridgerator or freezer so I am not sure how to do this.

If you have frozen, already cooked, sliced bread, just remove the slices you need and thaw it on the counter, or in the gluten-free toaster, or microwave. If you're making a sandwich that won't be eaten for a while, don't bother to thaw it. It can thaw in the lunch box, or wherever. You might run into trouble separating the slices while they are frozen. Sometimes you need to break off a bigger "hunk" that what you actually need at the moment.

We all have to start learning someplace. :)

Darn210 Enthusiast