Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
GFreeMO

Vinegar

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Does vinegar make any other super sensitives sick? Ketchup really gets me. I think that the vinegar is from corn and I react to corn as badly as gluten.

Pickles and mustard make me sick too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does vinegar make any other super sensitives sick? Ketchup really gets me. I think that the vinegar is from corn and I react to corn as badly as gluten.

Pickles and mustard make me sick too.

I get sick from vinegar and it is the gluten or whatever traces of the grains in it. The reaction is milder than that to grain distilled alcohol.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this may not apply to every vinegar but it looks like this common white vinegar is made from corn not wheat. So that may be your corn problem. You got me wondering what it was made from. :)

Saw this on the Heinz site:

What Makes Heinz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Crazy how corn is EVERYWHERE. I bought Heinz new HFCS free ketchup with real sugar. Too bad the vinegar is corn. No soda and now no ketchup..boy this is gonna be fun. :(:blink:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Crazy how corn is EVERYWHERE. I bought Heinz new HFCS free ketchup with real sugar. Too bad the vinegar is corn. No soda and now no ketchup..boy this is gonna be fun. :(:blink:

I have BBQ made with apple cider vinegar. Think the Heinz is made with the white? Likely, huh? You could make ketchup. I've seen recipes and some restauraunts say they have homemade ketchup.

I can't really speak to the science of vinegar to know if the parts of the corn are left in the vinegar. But, if a food bothers you, you shouldn't eat it. That I do know!

here's a recipe. It has apple vinegar and sugar. No corn anywhere in the area!

http://www.thehungrymouse.com/2011/05/03/homemade-ketchup/

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does vinegar make any other super sensitives sick? Ketchup really gets me. I think that the vinegar is from corn and I react to corn as badly as gluten.

Pickles and mustard make me sick too.

It makes me sick unless I make it myself.

The information I read about the production of vinegar indicated that microbes are added after the distillation process. Their composition is stated to be gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It makes me sick unless I make it myself.

The information I read about the production of vinegar indicated that microbes are added after the distillation process. Their composition is stated to be gluten free.

So...I guess you're saying that vinegar makes you ill, but it's not gluten related? :huh:

BTW - how do you make you own vinegar?..from a girl who makes cakes from a box.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×