Rate this topic

I'm new to the gluten free diet and struggling to find ice creams I enjoy that are gluten free.

Any suggestions???

I was looking for some ice cream recently, and had a struggle to find one that didn't have corn syrup! Ben & Jerry's to the rescue! I got some B&J's vanilla heath bar ice cream, even though there's a couple items I usually avoid (soy, carageenan) it's really good. It doesn't specifically say it's gluten-free, but I didn't have any bad reactions to it.

To the OP, Jordan,

Corn syrup is gluten free. Don't let that post worry you. Most ice creams are gluten free , read the ingredients. Obviously ones with Oreos or Kit Kats are not gluten-free. Look out for malt or barley malt, too.

Ice cream should not be a struggle at all. As kareng said, you're almost universally OK as long as you avoid the obvious stuff -- cookies, cake and so forth. A very few ice creams do have barley malt, but I've always found it listed.

richard

I don't have any issues with my usual brands, the big one being Ben & Jerry's. Their website (if I remember correctly) says that while they don't have a list of gluten free flavors they will clearly list allergens on the labels. I haven't had any reactions to it yet. I do specifically remember though that they said ingredients will change occasionally so read every label, every time. (Which we should be doing anyway.)

I DO have a problem with corn as well as gluten and soy. Some Ben and Jerry's works for me, particularly pistashio, now that I can eat those delightful things again. I also eat Hagen Daz. The chocolate seems to give me trouble, but I can eat their vanilla. I also absolutely LOVE Starbucks plain coffee ice cream. (Most coffe ice creams taste like coffe syrup. Starbucks tastes like a really good cup of coffee.) And lately, my very favorite is Blue Bunny All Natural Vanilla. It has the most velvety texture! SOOOOOOO GOOOOOD!!!