Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

Why to be careful with Lotions, makeup, shampoos etc.

• Please log in to reply

50 replies to this topic

#1 kalo

kalo

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 08 June 2004 - 07:34 AM

So I have a question. I keep reading that you have to be careful with makeup, sun screen etc. etc. Why is this? Is it just to avoid DH and if you don't have a problem with it you don't need to worry? I'm still learning all this. Hugs, Carol B
Hugs, Carol B Enterolab diagnosed gluten sensitive and casein allergic June 04

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 08 June 2004 - 08:03 AM

Have you ever used sunblock on your face, and when licking your lips, gotta a touch of a nasty taste from it? Have you ever used lotion on your hands, then picked up some carrots (or other finger food) to eat? Have you ever had the wind whip hair into your mouth?

Those are the reasons I avoid gluten in non-food items. I certainly don't plan for that sort of thing, but I just don't want to bother with the risk.
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#3 jaimek

jaimek

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts

Posted 08 June 2004 - 11:43 AM

Carol,