Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Healthy Choice Soup


  • Please log in to reply

No replies to this topic

#1 MelindaLee

 
MelindaLee

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
 

Posted 11 January 2011 - 12:52 PM

I noticed some Tomato Basil Soup from Healthy Choice the other day which didn't seem to have gluten ingredients. I contacted Healthy Choice and here is the responce I received.

"Thank you for your email concerning our Healthy Choice® Soup, a product of ConAgra Foods.

Unfortunately, we are not able to guarantee that our products ingredients are gluten-free, since the source of an ingredient may change from time to time. However, we can assist you by affirming that a product has been formulated without commonly known gluten-containing ingredients. We understand how difficult it can be finding foods that meet the requirements of a restricted diet, and we continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.

Since wheat is one of our top allergens, if it is used in the product, it would be listed in the Contains statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities.

If any ingredient in the product includes rye, barley or oats, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. This also holds true for labels that include Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors or Spices. Wheat, oat, barley or rye would be called out following these items in the ingredient list.

Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. We suggest that you speak to your physician to determine if you need to avoid distilled products derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats, as there are differing opinions between experts. You should avoid malted vinegar if you have gluten sensitivities.

We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on each package. Products are oftentimes reformulated and the ingredients may change. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, oat, barley, or rye, these ingredients would be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient.

Thanks again for your feedback. We're listening!

Sincerely,
Lesley
Consumer Affairs
Ref: 053161344A"
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: