#1 sagrill

sagrill

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 November 2012 - 08:13 PM

Hey everyone!

Sorry I'm new to everything here so I'm looking for some advice for you more seasoned pros.

About 10 months ago I went to the Dominican on a service trip and ended up getting a severe stomach flu or cholera. Since then, I haven't felt normal. Symptoms started with stomach churning and bloating all the time, most often at night or after I ate. It kind of feels like when you drink a lot of water and you can feel it sloshing around-- but it happens to me all the time. It also is SUPER loud. I also was experiencing constipation. So I went to gastroenterology and they did a whole bunch of blood tests (including celiac) and all came back negative and normal. Then I got an endoscopy-- also normal. They told me I had post-infectious IBS, and that I just had to wait it out.

So after months of waiting and still feeling sick I went back to the doctor. We did more tests (thyroid, food allergy) and all came back normal. My constipation had gotten worse at this point and I was still experience the churning/bloating all the time. Again they told me to wait.

After 10 months I decided to get a second opinion. The doctor mentioned gluten sensitivity but said the topic was very controversial and there was no way to test for it. He also explained that my chronic headaches (since I was 14) and skin eczema (specifically on my scalp) could also be symptoms of gluten sensitivity. Unfortunately he said he didn't know enough about the subject to tell me any more.

So after doing my own research I decided to try going gluten free on my own. The first two days I felt pretty good, the churning eased off a bit and my bathroom experiences weren't so bad. Day four however hit me hard. The churning was so bad it made me nauseous and I was so tired I couldn't do anything all day. Day 5 started with significant stomach churning/bloating, more constipation, and a migraine.