Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi,

I've been gluten-free for about a year and would like to try drinking some white wine. I'm not sure whether there are some additives I should know about. Is all wine gluten-free? Can you suggest some gluten-free brands?

Thank you,

Jen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest BERNESES

I don't know of any wines that contain gluten but if any did I might guess that it was those that had an added flavor like peach or berry. Gget a good quality bottle and enjoy a glass! Organics are great- we have a winery native to our area that makes great wines!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Some people have problems with wine, but it is not gluten. I think it is the sufites? You might wan't to try an organic wine. They do not contain sulfites.

Enjoy!

Hez

I thought grapes & wine contained natural sulfites-- remember that from another thread. Anyone know?

Leah

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

in the beginning of my gluten-free life, i stuck with sutter home & gallo wines. i have come to learn from several different sources that all white wine is gluten free. my favorites (for at home are mondavi and vendage). but it's quite nice to go out and order a drink without hundreds of questions and special concessions to be made. i simply ask for a white wine and have had no problems. for crazier nights - i go with bacardi "o" and 7-up. but mostly stick with wine due to having less of a hangover! enjoy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow, I'm shocked about Port. I'm going to have to check on this. My boyfriend and I have had several varieties on various occasions and I haven't had a problem yet. I guess I'll have to be more vigilant in calling first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did some research and found out that wines wouldn't "contain" gluten, but might be filtered through grains to eliminate sediment (for white wines). Some are filtered through coal, some through grains, some through screens, but not metal, because that changes the wines aging process. The cheaper ones use grain, but even that is rare now. That might explain why SOME people get sick SOME of the time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Jen, Some wines do have gluten in them, althought if you get their phone number off the bottle and call they can usually inform you. I have been glutenfree for bout 5 years and have found some really good wine. All Barefoot wines are gluten-free.I know ladybug is gluten-free but have never been able to find it.Bonterra is an excellent gluten-free wine both red and white.These wines are not expensive so if your looking for the pricier ones cant help ya. Good luck.

DeAnn

Hi,

I've been gluten-free for about a year and would like to try drinking some white wine. I'm not sure whether there are some additives I should know about. Is all wine gluten-free? Can you suggest some gluten-free brands?

Thank you,

Jen

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you look at the labelling forum, you will find a discussion of this. There are two ways allergens can get into wine. There are fining agents that take sediment out. This can be a form of clay, egg, casein, or some part of a fish. This is why some wines are considered vegan and some aren't. Some say they have reacted to fining agents before. I haven't noticed anything myself ... but then, any reaction I might have been blaming on something else :huh:

I haven't heard of grain as a fining system or anything special about port, or white wine versus red wine. I'm not an expert, though. I just read one article.

The way I've read that gluten MIGHT get into wine is if it is kept in barrels using a wheat-based glue. I haven't seen anyone say they reacted to this, though.

The FDA has a proposal out now to require labeling of such allergens. The vintners are opposing it. They say no one has been proven to react to these things or even if the stuff exists in the final product.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Momof2!! said:

Does anyone know if Gallo family vineyards moscato gluten free my daughter brought over a bottle and idk if I should drink it 

I would drink it. I can’t imagine why it wouldn’t be gluten-free?  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am pretty sure Gallo uses stainless steel to contain their white wine like most wineries.   It is cheaper for sure.  Might be different for specialty boutique wineries, but even then, I have never been glutened by wine.  

It is safe to drink wine!  It is gluten free.  😊. If you do react, you might have an intolerance to alcohol (hard to digest when your gut is damaged), have yeast/fermentation issues, tannin issues, etc.  But you will not get a gluten exposure.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...