This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Honeyville Blanched Almond Flour - Safe? Plus Add'l Question About Other Safe gluten-free Foods

anyana

anyana Apprentice

Hi everyone! I am very newly diagnosed with celiac, and I have been reading and reading all I can about my new lifestyle.  I am an avid baker, so I'm already trying to learn gluten free baking.

My main question, which leads to a broader question, concerns Honeyville Blanched Almond Flour.  I bought a 3 lb bag at Costco, and it's clearly marked "Gluten Free" - but then the label also says "Packaged on the same equipment that processes peanut, dairy, eggs, wheat, and soybean products."  I'm confused, because I thought ANYTHING with the "processed in a facility that processes wheat" was off limits.  Is this product safe? 

My broader question is, I had read that Kirkland (Costco) nuts should be avoided because they too have this label, but is that actually the case?  As a celiac, must I avoid anything with this label? How can it be called gluten-free but have that label?  So many questions!

Thanks in advance!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

cyclinglady Grand Master