Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi everyone,

I bought some Westbrae Naturals Miso (http://www.westbrae.com/products/miso/mbrm.php) when I was travelling because I was craving some miso. Anyway, I figured bcasue it was Hains Celestial it would be okay, because I thought that they note everything.

This company has a line of items that ARE labelled as gluten-free (like Imagine soups). Westbrae Naturals isn't a part of that. I called the company and she basically gave me the "we aren't sure of our suppliers" spiel. Normally I would never buy the item based on this, but I did already buy it because I was away (and it cost $8 so I don't want to toss it or give it away yet!)

I had also emailed the company before calling because it was a weekend. This (below) is what they wrote (note that the link they provide for their gluten-free items does not include the miso).

Looking at the ingredients of the miso, it doesn't include natural flavors. What would you do? Has anyone tried this before? I don't want to take a risk if I don't have to, but I do know I run a tight ship with my celiac.

-----

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Westbrae Miso Red (4X8) (K) (Wb). We strive to maintain the highest quality products and your satisfaction is very important to us.

We consider gluten to be in the following, barley, bulgur, couscous, durum, graham flour, kamut, malt , rye, semolina, spelt, triticale and any other types of wheat. We do not consider oat products to be gluten free due to the fact that studies are needed to determine the long- term safety of oat consumption. The issue of cross contamination with oat and wheat remains a concern in North America.

Consumer health and safety is our number one concern. We do not have lists of products that are specifically considered to be gluten free. Reading the label is the best way to check for the presence of ingredients which contain gluten. If gluten is a major ingredient, it will be specified in the ingredient list. For consumers concerned about the presence of trace amounts of gluten, we suggest avoiding products that include natural flavors or spices.

Hain Celestial Group products that make a gluten-free claim will carry the triangular Gluten-Free symbol, be labeled gluten-free, or specify Gluten Free certification by GFCO. To learn more about the wide variety of gluten free foods we offer please visit www.glutenfreechoices.com. We hope you find the information, recipes and articles to be a useful resource.

Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling.

We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation.

Thank you for your continued support. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-434-4246, Monday through Friday from 7AM - 5PM Mountain Time.

Sigrid

Consumer Relations Representative

----

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The starter culture for miso can be grown on barley and when it is that barley is not considered an ingredient since it is later separated from the part that is put into the miso product. If you go to South River Miso Co.'s website they have a great explanation with photos of the miso making process. I know some disagree with me, but that part of the process and labeling issue with regards to barley is why I don't eat comercially made miso unless I can confirm it is made with kome koji, meaning the starter culture is grown on rice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Miss's Mom summed it up. With miso you have to know how it was made. Im working in JApan right now and last night asked to see the package of miso -- something not done here but once i explained why the staf and chef at a small restaurant became interested in knowing more. It was kome koji or rice starter and made with daizo ( soy beans) instead of barley. A lot of red miso is made from barley. If you have a japanese market in your town then you cna almost always find at least 1 type of miso you can have.

Hi everyone,

I bought some Westbrae Naturals Miso (http://www.westbrae....s/miso/mbrm.php) when I was travelling because I was craving some miso. Anyway, I figured bcasue it was Hains Celestial it would be okay, because I thought that they note everything.

This company has a line of items that ARE labelled as gluten-free (like Imagine soups). Westbrae Naturals isn't a part of that. I called the company and she basically gave me the "we aren't sure of our suppliers" spiel. Normally I would never buy the item based on this, but I did already buy it because I was away (and it cost $8 so I don't want to toss it or give it away yet!)

I had also emailed the company before calling because it was a weekend. This (below) is what they wrote (note that the link they provide for their gluten-free items does not include the miso).

Looking at the ingredients of the miso, it doesn't include natural flavors. What would you do? Has anyone tried this before? I don't want to take a risk if I don't have to, but I do know I run a tight ship with my celiac.

-----

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Westbrae Miso Red (4X8) (K) (Wb). We strive to maintain the highest quality products and your satisfaction is very important to us.

We consider gluten to be in the following, barley, bulgur, couscous, durum, graham flour, kamut, malt , rye, semolina, spelt, triticale and any other types of wheat. We do not consider oat products to be gluten free due to the fact that studies are needed to determine the long- term safety of oat consumption. The issue of cross contamination with oat and wheat remains a concern in North America.

Consumer health and safety is our number one concern. We do not have lists of products that are specifically considered to be gluten free. Reading the label is the best way to check for the presence of ingredients which contain gluten. If gluten is a major ingredient, it will be specified in the ingredient list. For consumers concerned about the presence of trace amounts of gluten, we suggest avoiding products that include natural flavors or spices.

Hain Celestial Group products that make a gluten-free claim will carry the triangular Gluten-Free symbol, be labeled gluten-free, or specify Gluten Free certification by GFCO. To learn more about the wide variety of gluten free foods we offer please visit www.glutenfreechoices.com. We hope you find the information, recipes and articles to be a useful resource.

Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling.

We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation.

Thank you for your continued support. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-434-4246, Monday through Friday from 7AM - 5PM Mountain Time.

Sigrid

Consumer Relations Representative

----

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Miss's Mom summed it up. With miso you have to know how it was made. Im working in JApan right now and last night asked to see the package of miso -- something not done here but once i explained why the staf and chef at a small restaurant became interested in knowing more. It was kome koji or rice starter and made with daizo ( soy beans) instead of barley. A lot of red miso is made from barley. If you have a japanese market in your town then you cna almost always find at least 1 type of miso you can have.

How do I find this out for this one? I tried it anyway and am not 100% sure how I felt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Contact the mfr. and ask what grains are innoculated with the starter culture and what grains are used in the bed that the starter culture is grown on. Leave the word gluten out of it. You will know by what grains they use, you know which grains contain gluten. Look up info. on how miso is made and then you can make an informed decision whether or not you feel it is safe, if it is grown on gluten containing grains, if you feel that it is possible that even if those grains are not included as an ingredient in the final product that they are removed thoroughly enough to make the miso gluten-free to your satisfaction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sometimes on imported miso the english label will cover the japanese label which often gives much more detailed info. You could try to find someone to read it for you or post a picture and either Missys mom, or I or someone else should be able to tell what the starter was

How do I find this out for this one? I tried it anyway and am not 100% sure how I felt.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • March 24, 2019 Until March 27, 2019
      0  
      NEW ORLEANS GOURMET GLUTEN-FREE mini GETAWAY    March 24 ~ 27, 2019   We have arranged a fun and Gluten-free food filled mini in the city known for it's food and fun.  We have arranged to eat many of the famous dishes that aren't usually Gluten-free at a few of the World Renown restaurants.   Staying at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon Street in the center of the French Quarter, you'll be able to enjoy the ambiance of the city at all hours.   Our itinerary will include a Luxury Coach tour of the city and surrounding area - Admission to The National World War II Museum, including the Tom Hanks" 4D film "Beyond All Boundaries" - an exciting Airboat ride and tour through the Bayou.      This it the 3rd time we have visited New Orleans and it has always been well attended, so join us even if you've been there before.  Check out our website for the complete itinerary and cost.    Due to contractual obligations we must have 20 participants by October 31, 2018 to make this a go.      If you have any questions just give us a call at 410-939-3218.  Bob & Ruth info@bobandruths.com (410) 939-3218
    • March 27, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • March 30, 2019 Until March 31, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
Interesting about your husband's experience in the hospital, CyclingLady.  The one thing that I REALLY do not understand, from reading so many posts of many other people both here and elsewhere on the internet, is this apparent almost criminal indifference, kneejerk denial and/or outright hostility towards the very POSSIBILITY of a patient having Celiac Disease among so many in the medical industry.  I have not experienced it myself, as explained above, but it seems that having to fight with mul
  • Blog Entries

  • ×
    ×
    • Create New...