This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Does It Ever Go Away?

Munzie

Munzie Rookie

I'm new to this and am wondering, does Celiac ever go away? I've had Fibromyalgia for 17 years now and was on countless meds, which I have all quit beacause none of them help and I was tired of subjecting my body to chemicals. Now I have this! The problems with my stomach started years ago already, but doctors only told me it was IBS. From searching and talking to others with IBS, I know now that I have a Gluten intolerance (since I've watched my diet, the symptoms have gotten better) and the stomach cramps have gotten worse and worse. I feel really stupid when these cramps set on, cause I feel like I'm no good to anyone -most of all my partner- kind of like getting on their nerves (?).  The symptoms started years ago, with a feeling like my intestines were actually knotting and I coldn't move, until they did sort of a 'plop'......I could actually feel this.....and then it felt like a charly horse in my gut. Then came the diahrrea and then a couple of years ago the cramps which now -if I eat Gluten- get so bad, that I feel I'm going to die of pain, which can last up to three hours.