KC Masterpiece is NOT gluten free. It contains Modified Food Starch which is a an ingredient that may contain gluten and the according to the FDA rules a company does not have to list that a gluten containing grain is included in modified food starch. The rule is: If it contains modified food starch and it is not tested and labeled gluten free it is assumed it contains gluten.
Others on here have emailed the company and they responded that:
1. There may be trace amounts of gluten in their sauce.
2. It is prepared on the same lines as gluten containing products they also make
Once again, a newbie has misunderstood the original letter from the company. The original letter says they will label all of the glutens if they are present. If the MFS had gluten, they would have labelled it. Also, this is a US product and products in other contries may have different ingredients or laws.
The current website that Sylvia linked to says that that is still the case:
"Do KC Masterpiece® products contain gluten?
Most of our products do not contain gluten. Products and ingredients made from grains containing gluten—such as wheat, rye and barley—will be clearly listed in the ingredient statement on the package label."
Its fine for you to have a rule that you won't eat MFS or MSG or turnips. It does not make that the rule for all Celiacs in the US.