8 replies to this topic

#1 kristenloeh

kristenloeh

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 140 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 06:58 PM

I have been sick for about a week. Started getting worse and ended up in the hospital today. I have been diagnosed with viral meningitis. This is my first time being "sick" after being diagnosed and all my old comfort foods when I would get sick before being diagnosed Celiac were full of gluten. SO! What are your favorite comfort foods when you're sick? (gluten free of course)

Diagnosed Celiac 04.2012
Gluten-Free 04.2012

Diagnosed Pituitary Prolactinoma 12.2012

Low Cortisol/Possible Addison's Disease 02.2013

Maybe one day I will feel "normal" again. <3

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 shadowicewolf

shadowicewolf

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,735 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:05 PM

I generally make some homemade chicken soup with carrots and onions.

Boil chicken
shread chicken
add back to pot
add baby carrots and onions
cook till tender

season to taste

Yes, this probably sounds bland but it works when your sick :3

I do the same with beef as well, but it gets pan seared first, kinda like how you do a pot roast.

#3 jaynekellimusic

jaynekellimusic

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:39 PM

The most delicious ice cream for a celiac is Coconut Milk Cookie Dough made by Purely Decadent!

#4 ncdave

ncdave

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 232 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:16 AM

If you can tolerate sugar,Sounds like you need a bag of enjoy life mega chunks. Chocolate cures everything !!! Hope you feel better soon.
gluten free 12/11
dairy free 2/12
soy free 10/12
corn free 10/12
nightshade free 10/12

#5 kittty

kittty

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 235 posts

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:56 AM