Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Comfort Foods.....

9 posts in this topic

I have been sick for about a week. Started getting worse and ended up in the hospital today. I have been diagnosed with viral meningitis. This is my first time being "sick" after being diagnosed and all my old comfort foods when I would get sick before being diagnosed Celiac were full of gluten. SO! What are your favorite comfort foods when you're sick? (gluten free of course)

Ads by Google:

I generally make some homemade chicken soup with carrots and onions.

Boil chicken

shread chicken

add back to pot

add baby carrots and onions

cook till tender

season to taste

Yes, this probably sounds bland but it works when your sick :3

I do the same with beef as well, but it gets pan seared first, kinda like how you do a pot roast.

The most delicious ice cream for a celiac is Coconut Milk Cookie Dough made by Purely Decadent!

If you can tolerate sugar,Sounds like you need a bag of enjoy life mega chunks. Chocolate cures everything !!! Hope you feel better soon.

Grilled cheese sandwiches and mac and cheese are still my favorite comfort foods - I just go with the gluten free versions now.

I second the soup idea--sounds perfect for you. For an easier version right now, if you have to do it yourself, simmer a couple boneless chicken breasts in Pacific Chicken Broth. You can add thinly sliced carrots, celery, etc if you want (frozen even).

The best "noodle" for soup as far as I'm concerned, is Tinkyada Fettuccine broken into pieces and added to soups about 10 minutes before serving.