Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have 4 of these sitting around but i'm afraid to eat them because they're "packaged"..

only 3 ingredients....

I wish they'd be safe to eat since they're 200 calories each.. and I need easy to eat extra calories from somewhere

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Lara Bars have been considered to be gluten-free for a very long time now, and should be safe, especially if they say "gluten-free" on their label. On their home page they say: "... you can feel good about eating with many gluten free, dairy free & vegan options to choose from."

https://www.larabar.com/


Scott Adams

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Founder Celiac.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Plastic in Larabars

The current problem of plastic in Larabars is not a gluten-free issue per se. But these bars are a go to snack food for many in the celiac disease community. These bars were my breakfast each and every day for years. I first came across plastic in my Larabar in 2015. Plastic showed up again in 2016. Needless to say, I stopped eating these bars. I will never eat another one. If General Mills is this sloppy with plastic what else are they sloppy with?

Statement from General Mills

Yesterday, I reached out to General Mills for comment. Their statement is posted below with permission.

“Thank you for reaching out on this topic.  The pureed dates we use to make Larabars comes to us in a thin blue plastic liner.  On rare occasions, a small piece of this flexible liner may be torn off in the manufacturing process and finds its way into the bar when we mix our ingredients together. This has been a stubborn issue to solve, and we have tried several solutions. Since we last discussed this issue with you, we have changed the liners that our pureed date supplier uses, resulting in a dramatic reduction in this issue. The bar you sent to us used the old liner. We sincerely apologize for this issue and will work with any consumer who contacts us to replace their Larabar.  While FDA regulations do not consider this issue a safety hazard, we take it very seriously and are continuing to monitor the issue closely.”

Note: It is the case that FDA considers HARD plastic a safety hazard. It is unclear how the agency views softer pieces of plastic.

Plastic in Larabars: If you want this to stop then make some noise | (glutenfreewatchdog.org)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
27 minutes ago, trents said:

Plastic increases the fiber content.

hahahahahaaa - i was thinking that!  also, plastic is gluten free lololz

honestly, i don't know how people eat larabars - they're so gross.  when i was first dx'd, we went to the county fair (with allllllllll the delicious gluten foods - there is nothing to eat at a fair lolz) and i brought a larabar for me because i knew i couldn't eat anything there.  last larabar i ever ate, super cardboardy yuckiness while i watched my family eat funnel cakes and sausage n peppa sammiches.  the next year we went i brought my own sammich and funnel cake.  put that larabar in the trash and don't look back.  


arlene

misdiagnosed for 25 years!
just as i was getting my affairs in order to die of malnutrition...
gluten free 7/2010
blood test negative
celiac confirmed by endoscopy 9/2010

 

only YOU can prevent forest fires - smokey t. bear

 

have a nice day :)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This pandemic might turn everything into larabars as far as tasting food goes.

The thing I struggle with in regards to protein/energy bars is that many of them include a large amount of inulin to make them high fiber. Boy, does inulin give me the toots!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some of the Cliff bars used to have barley in them years ago.  I don't know if they still do though.


Proverbs 25:16 "Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it."

Job 30:27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.

Thyroid cyst and nodules, Lactose / casein intolerant. Diet positive, gene test pos, symptoms confirmed by Dr-head. My current bad list is: gluten, dairy, sulfites, coffee (the devil's brew), tea, Bug's Bunnies carrots, garbanzo beans of pain, soy- no joy, terrible turnips, tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, eggplant, celery, strawberries, pistachios, and hard work. Have a good day! 🙂 Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
5 5