Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

abdab

Whey Protein Gluten Problem

Recommended Posts

If you're looking for a safe gluten-free whey protein to drink try EAS. They are one of the very few products on the market that are completely gluten-free. I have personally checked this out for a client who has celiac disease.

Another safe protein - a gainer style protein shake that is completely gluten free is Ultimate Nutrition's Muscle Juice. All flavours are safe for celiac patients and people whom prefer a gluten-free healthy lifestyle.

All the best,

Elaine and Peter

I realize this post is 2 years old, so I'm assuming Ultimate Nutrition's Muscle Juice probably changed their formula. According to their product information listing on a dealer's site, this product contains the peptide bonded glutamine, and would therefore be suspect (quote and website source below). Does anyone use this product and have up to date info on whether or not it's gluten-free? Seems like a good product if it is.

Source: http://www6.netrition.com/ultimate_nutrition_muscle_juice_revolution_2600.html

"....In addition to the precursors to glutamine present in this protein, you get 1000 mg of glutamine per serving which includes the breakthrough L-Alanyl-L-Glutamine. This powerful dipeptide may protect against muscle degradation and provides fuel for exercise to help you go the distance."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For those who can't or don't want to consume dairy, there are pea protein powders on the market. For example, NOW Foods makes a pure pea protein powder, with nothing else added at all. It actually has more L-Glutamine than the whey powders I compared it too. It does have a legume smell, but so far doesn't seem to foul up the things I've put it in.

I'm not convinced that L-Glutamine works for everyone. I actually did try it, but stopped taking it because my gut let me know it wasn't happy with it. Although at the time I may have still been getting CC from something. I still have the bottle, so maybe I'll try it again. You can be sure I'll post about the results if there's anything to report.


A spherical meteorite 10 km in diameter traveling at 20 km/s has the kinetic energy equal to the calories in 550,000,000,000,000,000 Twinkies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you're looking for a safe gluten-free whey protein to drink try EAS. They are one of the very few products on the market that are completely gluten-free. I have personally checked this out for a client who has celiac disease.

Another safe protein - a gainer style protein shake that is completely gluten free is Ultimate Nutrition's Muscle Juice. All flavours are safe for celiac patients and people whom prefer a gluten-free healthy lifestyle.

All the best,

Elaine and Peter

EAS has Oats in it (they claim to be certified gluten free) but it tore me up every-time, I remember the top of my brain feeling like moosh and getting cramped up. I had to stop taking this in college because it was essentially kryptonite. :( If you're an athlete beware.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is useful to update this information as a user beware; however, this is an old post and the poster is probably no longer around.


Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973

Lactose free 1990

(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's

Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004

Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007

Soy free March 2008

Nightshade free Feb 2009

Citric acid free June 2009

Potato starch free July 2009

(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009

Legume free March 2010

Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I realize this post is 2 years old, so I'm assuming Ultimate Nutrition's Muscle Juice probably changed their formula. According to their product information listing on a dealer's site, this product contains the peptide bonded glutamine, and would therefore be suspect (quote and website source below). Does anyone use this product and have up to date info on whether or not it's gluten-free? Seems like a good product if it is.

Source: http://www6.netrition.com/ultimate_nutrition_muscle_juice_revolution_2600.html

"....In addition to the precursors to glutamine present in this protein, you get 1000 mg of glutamine per serving which includes the breakthrough L-Alanyl-L-Glutamine. This powerful dipeptide may protect against muscle degradation and provides fuel for exercise to help you go the distance."

Even if there is l-alanyl and l- Glycin in there, it doesnt mean that this aminos r gained from wheat. It also can be gained from whey, as my research was right.

I asked the manufacturer about gluten in there weight gainers and they claimed - even if it seemed to be an automated mail - their gainers (w/o cookies) r gluten free.

Im still scared, but i rly want such weight gainer to get some weight/muscles...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow. I will have to find out more about this because my boyfriend has been taking this for quite awhile now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think there is some confusion between glutamine and gluten. It is a common mistake. There is no suggestion on the website or nutritional labeling that the product contains any sort of gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can also add bioplex to that list.

For the people looking for more choices in gluten free whey protein powder, I found this certain "International Protein: Amino charged API". Their website says

"No Gluten

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm a bit late to this discussion but I am currently using Prolab N-Large 3. It seems to work well for me. It does contain soy derivatives (I believe the maltodextrin) but causes no reaction for me. An added bonus is that it's sold in 10 lb tubs. (Tubs come in handy for gardening when the powder is gone! It also tastes good.

I had hit a critical point where I absolutely had to up my protein and caloric intake.

Meanwhile, too many protein powders/drinks contain Creatine and I prefer to avoid that. This doesn't have it. Creatine is what leads to what body builders refer to as "protein farts".


137 IQ

Nurse for 20 years, abdomino/thoracic, cardiac, ICU, CCU, ER, neuro/neurosurgery, hospice, infectious disease.

Certified chef, auto/diesel/turbine mechanic, freelance writer.

Gluten free since 2006.

Hobbies-blogging, cooking, photography, gardening (giant crops frequently), developing gardening methods for arid environments, experimenting with alternative electrical generation methods, solar design.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bumping this thread up because I believe a recent glutening may have happened as a result of a new protein powder I was trying, but trying to piece together knowledge from this thread to see if that would be something possible.

 

The brand is Whole Foods "100% Grass Fed Whey Protein Chocolate Flavor". These are the ingredients:

 

"Whey protien concentrate, cocoa powder**, natural chocolate flavor, natural vanilla flavor, xanthan gum, stevia extract, lo han guo fruit extract, whey protein isolate.

 

**Fair trade certified.

 

Contains milk ingredients. Produced in a facility that processes tree nuts, eggs,and soy."

 

 

So, because it's not the top quality of protein (it wasn't that expensive) there's no breakdown of what the proteins are made up of. I was naiive and assumed that whey would be gluten free...then read this thread. I checked Whole Foods' gluten free product list and it's NOT on there. Obviously I should have checked BEFORE but I thought I was safe.

 

I had this stuff 3 days in a row and definitely felt "glutened" but I'm not sure if it's possibly from this or something else (went grocery shopping and decided to get gluten-free oats as well, not sure if it was the powder or the oats). Still figuring out how sensitive I am, a year and a half after dx... any chance they could have whey peptides or anything like that in there without having to label it?

 

THANKS!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Bumping this thread up because I believe a recent glutening may have happened as a result of a new protein powder I was trying, but trying to piece together knowledge from this thread to see if that would be something possible.

 

The brand is Whole Foods "100% Grass Fed Whey Protein Chocolate Flavor". These are the ingredients:

 

"Whey protien concentrate, cocoa powder**, natural chocolate flavor, natural vanilla flavor, xanthan gum, stevia extract, lo han guo fruit extract, whey protein isolate.

 

**Fair trade certified.

 

Contains milk ingredients. Produced in a facility that processes tree nuts, eggs,and soy."

 

 

So, because it's not the top quality of protein (it wasn't that expensive) there's no breakdown of what the proteins are made up of. I was naiive and assumed that whey would be gluten free...then read this thread. I checked Whole Foods' gluten free product list and it's NOT on there. Obviously I should have checked BEFORE but I thought I was safe.

 

I had this stuff 3 days in a row and definitely felt "glutened" but I'm not sure if it's possibly from this or something else (went grocery shopping and decided to get gluten-free oats as well, not sure if it was the powder or the oats). Still figuring out how sensitive I am, a year and a half after dx... any chance they could have whey peptides or anything like that in there without having to label it?

 

THANKS!

 

 

They have labelled that they contain whey - but whey is milk not gluten.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They have labelled that they contain whey - but whey is milk not gluten.

Yes Kareng---however the rest of the posts on this thread are about how some whey is bound with certain peptides and may not be gluten-free after all. So I'm wondering about this as I definitely have glutening symptoms..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes Kareng---however the rest of the posts on this thread are about how some whey is bound with certain peptides and may not be gluten-free after all. So I'm wondering about this as I definitely have glutening symptoms..

 

 

If you are talking about glutamate or glutamine - those are not gluten.

 

Bottom line - if you think a product or food makes you feel bad, no matter what the reason - don't eat it!


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites